We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers”
Review of City Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alaminos City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Hotel
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Where to start.. The Bar very nice good prices good selection..The Breakfast..excellent..The Location not bad at all. The Rooms...Below Basic. we had 3 x so called delux rooms????..our brother got moved 3 times..Ants..Shower not working..crap room. So it was cheap but NOT cheerfull, if i was a back packer I would say Yes! BUT if you want something above very very very poor basic, try somewhere else. This place has potential..but needs gutting...

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaznPatScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

City hotel is 10-15 mins trike ride from the Victory Liner terminal in Alaminos. They have basic rooms that can service 2-4pax per room. We reserved their family room good for 4pax and got it for P1,600. One double bed and 1 double deck bed. CR is not as clean as we would have liked but ok. Water pressure is enough, there's a small CRT TV, aircon is cold. Toiletries and towels were provided. If you're arriving at dawn, advise them so they can wait for you. They also have a bar that mostly caters to foreigners. And its also near CSI (terminal of mini-bus to bolinao).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlim34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel looks like an old style motel and the rooms are average but clean. The staff were particularly helpful and obliging. I had a stomach bug and the manager sent one of the staff into town to buy me medicine. The restaurant serves excellent food and the bar has a comfortable live in feel. Good experience with nice people

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a good destination for expats as there are European food and beers available. Great if you want a drink with friends. The pub does have a friendly feel. The staff were friendly.

However, I booked the hotel having seen the previous reviews and left disappointed. It feels more like a motel. Yes, ok, it is cheap. 1400php per night. But for that price I have stayed in much better accommodation in the Philippines. The amenities are there, but they are about as basic as they come.

The mattress seems to be waterproofed. It feels like you're sleeping on a rubber gym mat. No heat can escape from it so it makes for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

The door didn't close properly as it didn't fit it's frame properly. The aircon struggled to cool the room at all. My pillowcase was stained. When we entered the room there was a dead cockroach on the floor. Ok it's a tropical country but it still was not a welcome sight.

The bathroom was very basic, the shower head would not stay on it's frame so you had to hold it. The bathroom was also entirely populated by mosquitoes, which appeared to be rising up from the drain.

We were very tired from travelling up from Subic and decided to have dinner in the pub. It's true, the pub does have a cozy feel and would be nice to socialize with friends. The food was ok. However, the fly screens were holding the flies in, not keeping them out. Literally dozens of flies. It didn't fill me with confidence knowing that my food was being prepared nearby.

Clearly, other people have stayed here and have enjoyed it. We weren't able to meet the owners during our stay. However, from my own experience, it did not live up to expectations at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WillRichens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is nice, simple, and comfy. It has great location since it's near Alaminos town proper and Lucap (the town where the harbor going to Hundred Islands is located). Overnight stay costs P1400 which is indeed affordable and reasonable for a hotel. They even provide toiletries, towels, cable tv, queen sized bed, two soft pillows, small table, and chairs. Staffs are friendly, accommodating, and cheerful. We will surely go back here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for a night at City Inn after watching the Youtube video of the place. We found it an ideal base four our tour of Hundred Islands and Bolinao
The aircon room was comfortable and the Corner Pub is a hang out for expats and locals alike where we enjoyed an evening. The food is well prepared and our breakfast was included in the room tariff. The owner hails from Norway and he and his wife are very helpful providing local information on the nearby attractions
Overall great value for money

Room Tip: Air con rooms are basic but comfortable. There is a secure gated car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trencherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Even though it's rainy season my stay in City Hotel, Alaminos has been a remakable and memorable time. I found the perfect shelter in their very cozy pub called "Corner Pub"
The place is very popular both among the locals and the foreigners living in and around Alaminos, making it a great place to meet people from all over. They have free internet acess in the bar,inspiering me to write this reviw on them.
The staff are very friendly and proffesional making the stay here very pleasent.

Hundred Islands is just a 10 min.drive with a tricycle and other attractions like the light house of Bolinao, umbrella rock beach and others are within an hour drive, making it perfect for day excurcions. And when you come back at night you're very happy to see the "Corner Pub" again as it's the only place to get some proper food around here, unless you prefer Jollibee or Mac Donalds.
As I alrady mentioned I was not to lucky with the weather this time but I will definately come back to Alaminos City and there is no doubt that the City Hotel and Corner Pub will be the number one choice for overnight stay and leisure. The friendly staff really make the difference.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Brazos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alaminos City hotels
0 mi away
Monte Rio Gardens Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Casa del Camba Hotel
Casa del Camba Hotel
#1 of 9 in Alaminos City
26 reviews
0 mi away
Northwood Hotel
Northwood Hotel
#5 of 20 in Alaminos City
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nautilus Islands View Lodge
Nautilus Islands View Lodge
#1 of 20 in Alaminos City
25 reviews
0 mi away
Island Tropic Hotel & Restaurant
Island Tropic Hotel & Restaurant
#2 of 9 in Alaminos City
83 reviews
0 mi away
Treasure Isle Guesthouse
Treasure Isle Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Alaminos City
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Sadsaran street | Poblacion, Alaminos City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Pangasinan Province > Alaminos City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alaminos City
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
City Hotel Philippines/Alaminos City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing