We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”
Review of City Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alaminos City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Hotel
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a good destination for expats as there are European food and beers available. Great if you want a drink with friends. The pub does have a friendly feel. The staff were friendly.

However, I booked the hotel having seen the previous reviews and left disappointed. It feels more like a motel. Yes, ok, it is cheap. 1400php per night. But for that price I have stayed in much better accommodation in the Philippines. The amenities are there, but they are about as basic as they come.

The mattress seems to be waterproofed. It feels like you're sleeping on a rubber gym mat. No heat can escape from it so it makes for a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

The door didn't close properly as it didn't fit it's frame properly. The aircon struggled to cool the room at all. My pillowcase was stained. When we entered the room there was a dead cockroach on the floor. Ok it's a tropical country but it still was not a welcome sight.

The bathroom was very basic, the shower head would not stay on it's frame so you had to hold it. The bathroom was also entirely populated by mosquitoes, which appeared to be rising up from the drain.

We were very tired from travelling up from Subic and decided to have dinner in the pub. It's true, the pub does have a cozy feel and would be nice to socialize with friends. The food was ok. However, the fly screens were holding the flies in, not keeping them out. Literally dozens of flies. It didn't fill me with confidence knowing that my food was being prepared nearby.

Clearly, other people have stayed here and have enjoyed it. We weren't able to meet the owners during our stay. However, from my own experience, it did not live up to expectations at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillRichens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tarlac
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is nice, simple, and comfy. It has great location since it's near Alaminos town proper and Lucap (the town where the harbor going to Hundred Islands is located). Overnight stay costs P1400 which is indeed affordable and reasonable for a hotel. They even provide toiletries, towels, cable tv, queen sized bed, two soft pillows, small table, and chairs. Staffs are friendly, accommodating, and cheerful. We will surely go back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Yana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for a night at City Inn after watching the Youtube video of the place. We found it an ideal base four our tour of Hundred Islands and Bolinao
The aircon room was comfortable and the Corner Pub is a hang out for expats and locals alike where we enjoyed an evening. The food is well prepared and our breakfast was included in the room tariff. The owner hails from Norway and he and his wife are very helpful providing local information on the nearby attractions
Overall great value for money

Room Tip: Air con rooms are basic but comfortable. There is a secure gated car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trencherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Even though it's rainy season my stay in City Hotel, Alaminos has been a remakable and memorable time. I found the perfect shelter in their very cozy pub called "Corner Pub"
The place is very popular both among the locals and the foreigners living in and around Alaminos, making it a great place to meet people from all over. They have free internet acess in the bar,inspiering me to write this reviw on them.
The staff are very friendly and proffesional making the stay here very pleasent.

Hundred Islands is just a 10 min.drive with a tricycle and other attractions like the light house of Bolinao, umbrella rock beach and others are within an hour drive, making it perfect for day excurcions. And when you come back at night you're very happy to see the "Corner Pub" again as it's the only place to get some proper food around here, unless you prefer Jollibee or Mac Donalds.
As I alrady mentioned I was not to lucky with the weather this time but I will definately come back to Alaminos City and there is no doubt that the City Hotel and Corner Pub will be the number one choice for overnight stay and leisure. The friendly staff really make the difference.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Brazos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alaminos City
0.0 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautilus Islands View Lodge
Nautilus Islands View Lodge
#1 of 12 in Alaminos City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treasure Isle Guesthouse
Treasure Isle Guesthouse
#4 of 8 in Alaminos City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Value Star Inn
Value Star Inn
#4 of 10 in Dagupan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Sadsaran street | Poblacion, Alaminos City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Pangasinan Province > Alaminos City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alaminos City
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
City Hotel Philippines/Alaminos City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing