We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to rest after a tiring Ilocos tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cathys Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pagudpud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathys Homestay
Ranked #8 of 34 Pagudpud B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to rest after a tiring Ilocos tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for a night, right after touring Ilocos Norte. Place is clean and quiet, room has no tv and towels/toiletries, but air conditioning works perfectly and bed is good enough. You have to walk a few minutes though to find restaurants and the beach itself, but it's not a hassle at all. Best to take a walk early in the morning for the fresh air and sunrise.

Ate Cathy was also nice to us, and cooked the breakfast herself (which was good home cooked meal).

Overall, this is a good place if you're just looking for a comfortable sleep after an exhausting day. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary120309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

When we travel we always look for places that are safe and accomodation is clean. This place was good in that aspect. It was clean and the room was big. We were 4 people travelling and we basically had 3 big beds to share. Miss Cathy was kind enough to let us use her kitchen for pretty much anything we wanted. Free breakfast was included, nothing much to write about but great for the price. I liked this place because it was a no hassle deal. We got the run of the place and we could come and go as we pleased. She also helped us get the tours via the local tricycles.

It was about a 5 minute walk to the beach though but that was fine. You can also eat at the other resorts in the sourrounding area. No biggie. If you're looking for a clean, safe, barkada type of environment, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights.

Locations wise, the beachfront is no good for swimming. You'll have to walk to the other resorts' beachfront to have a good dip.

We stayed in a room with 3 beds and 1 T&B. Nothing fancy with the room, no TV at all.

Free use of her kitchen and kitchenware. Just bring your own food and cook to your heart's content.

The place is good enough for resting and nothing more. If you want a more relaxed ambiance, you might want to look for other places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badroilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malabon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in manang cathy's homestay last nov. 22-23, 2012.

1. the room
- it's just a big room with three beds and a bathroom
- room is clean
- three beds are good enough for 7-8 persons
- No TV
- airconditioner works fine but it's too high. you need to stand on a chair to turn it on/off
- no towels, toilettries; only tissue
- no water heater
- there is a shower but it's not working. you need to use the pail and dipper to bathe which is just ok
- there is a potable water dispenser outside the room near manang cathy's house. it's free

2. the location
- area is clean
- beach front is rocky but nice beach area is just 3-min walk away
- they don't have their own resto but you can just go to nearby resorts like apo idon and evangeline beach resort that have their own resto (3-5 min. walk)
- you can see the bangui windmills from cathy's homestay

the owner, manang cathy
- She's accomodating but I think she's not an honest person. when we checked out, she billed me 2k for the room. When I first inquired, she said it's 1,500 per night. I told her that I can show her her text message about the room rate but she said it's just fine and received my 1500 payment. I don't feel like she just forgot about the correct room rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rozanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagudpud
33.0 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
28.6 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
29.8 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#2 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
#3 of 34 in Pagudpud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.9 mi away
Casa Consuelo
Casa Consuelo
#1 of 16 in Pagudpud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kingfisher Resort
Kingfisher Resort
#2 of 34 in Pagudpud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathys Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathys Homestay

Property: Cathys Homestay
Address: Saud Beach, Pagudpud, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Pagudpud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Pagudpud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing