We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pagudpud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saud Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pagudpud
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Really poor service, bland food and below average facilities.
The room smelled old and there were bits of sand on the bed sheets. It's obvious that the blanket and bed sheets they used are old because of the yellowish stains on the edges. The towels were flimsy and thin and frayed on the edges (as my nephew said, it's like drying yourself with toilet paper).

The food service was very slow and the food lacks flavor that will leave you full but unsatisfied.
We had to pre-order our food otherwise you have to wait 1 to 1 1/2 hours before they can serve the food. A lot of food items on their menu are unavailable. If you're looking for value for money, you won't find it here.

The staff were somewhat apologetic for the snail pace of their service, saying they are understaffed. I think they are untrained the management is obviously cutting cost.

When we settled our bill, we insisted on seeing all the order receipts and found that the orders were wrong. Good thing my mom checked her order slips and found that she'll be paying P480 for 2 cups of rice.

The redeeming factor: the beach front is really nice and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rechargeablejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice resort, staff very helpful and polite specifically Kuya Deo and Kuya July. Too pricy though for the kind of rooms they have. In our room, no hot water, had to go to the rooms of our family member who had overhead heaters. Aside from no hot water, we would even have no water at all. And also no towels! The management should give attention to these since the resort is generally nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel has a great lactation on the beach, and the staff is friendly.
The rooms are pricey, and simple.
Could need some more cleaning and need to be updated/renovated.
Stained bed cheats, and there were dead bugs in the room.
You simply pay for great location on the beach and not good standards of rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

December is winter in my hometown,so i decided to visit my longtime friends in Philippines (tropical country). They invited me to a road trip. We went to pagudpud. Located on the top of Luzon's map. Facing south Philippine sea. But if you are planning to go there by bus, you can go to cubao were lots of buses to choose from.fares depend on what type of bus you want to ride special, regular, with washroom, etc.

From Manila to pagudpud is 13 to 14 hrs of driving including a brief washroom break & eat for a lunch.

When we arrived at pagudpud we are tired and rest a bit after our lunch. It was 3pm when we woke up. Swim for while and discover the area. We found out that out side the resort there are lots of inhouse room accomodations...people who live there open thier houses for possible tourist accupant incase theres no available room in resorts or just wanted to have a cheaper accomodation to spend the night since pagudpud is far from city of laoag or vigan.and since buses are not every hours that you can just wait and hop in.

Pagudpud beach resorts are like a long cream colored sand (yes not whitesand) beach with different resorts to choose from cheapest to a bit pricey resort. Water on the beach have a strong current maybe because of its location (facing south Philippine sea). But I enjoyed my vacation so well that we manage to drink beers on the shore and eat grilled fish the next day. The beach is sleepy at night so dont expect a night life or any entertainment, its peaceful and a bottle of beer and chating with friends makes my vacation more enjoyable.

But i guess honestly speaking in my own opinion...its nice to visit places like this atleast once because the hours of driving spent is not worthy just to see the beaches.the beaches are nice but a bit sleepy so theres nothing to do there other than sleeping, swimming and eating.

But the trip going pagudpud is best and unforgetable if you drop by vigan and eat "sinanglaw-boiled beef cut into pcs" served on a small bowl 30php and "empanada" a wrap kind of food with vegetable and egg, sometimes with ground pork inside, bell tower, windmill farm, bat cave, and the rest of the places you can pass by before going pagudpud. Because if you go straight to pagudpud and pagudpud alone...its not worth the long hours or driving.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opium30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pro:
- good beach front
- clean room and bathroom
- accessible to main highway

Con:
- more expensive compared to other resorts (3,500 per night on low season)
- food in restaurant is expensive
- toiletries = small bar of soap and towels (no shampoo)
- they cut water off in the middle of the night!

Room Tip: only the family rooms and suites are beach front, all the rest have verandas that doesn't face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank manda31012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Saud Beach Resort has the best beach front in all of Saud. powdery white sand and usually calm and still waters. Its truly beautiful.

This is the best thing I can say about Saud Beach Resort. Their rooms are dated. They look old and not as clean as it should be. We rented the beach front room at a price and expected better. Was extremely disappointed. There was a jacuzzi bathtub that had seen better days.

The room was big and there is cable but you only get very few channels. The bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was very thin on top of a wooden bed frame. It will hurt your back if you have back problems.

The worst of the problem we encountered was there was no water in the bathroom shower and thats the only way to take a bath. The water to rinse of sand and sea water outside had stronger water pressure and even that was sporadic. Showering was a chore but you wont have any other choice.

Oh, also only drink bottled water in the resort. Its not filtered water and they wont warn you. Food is reasonable inside the resort but nothing special.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angeltaz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

front desk staff was great. very prompt, very polite and very helpful. very willing to accomodate the needs of their guest. i was pleasantly pleased with the room size. the room was perfect. our room was a 1 minute walk from saud beach.the resort is really lush, very lush tropical. overall, i couldn't have been more pleased with this resort. really beautiful, great escape from the real world. i would recommend casa victoria beach resort to anhyone looking to stay in beautiful casa victoria resort and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tin Tin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagudpud
28.6 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
261 reviews
74.7 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
512 reviews
44.8 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Pannzian Beach
Pannzian Beach
#1 of 4 in Pagudpud
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
#3 of 34 in Pagudpud
91 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kingfisher Resort
Kingfisher Resort
#2 of 34 in Pagudpud
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saud Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saud Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Saud Beach, Pagudpud, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Pagudpud
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pagudpud
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Saud Beach Resort And Hotel
Saud Beach Hotel Pagudpud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing