We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pagudpud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apo Idon Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 34 Pagudpud B&B and Inns
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is ideally located on the Pagudpud beach front and has the comforts and amenities of a decent vacation hotel. Nicely appointed with antique furniture, it gives the warmth of a home away from home. Food is decent although nothing spectacular. A good choice for a night or two in Ilocos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daCoach420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
28
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Apo Idon during the holy week (thu/fri) - it was a full house. The room we stayed in was very spacious, clean, good air conditioning, several towels. The hotel staffs were nice and helpful, smiles a lot, but we noticed that there is no one directing them - like a hotel manager or senior staff who can oversee and coordinate their actions. We expected that service would be slower than usual, but not what we experienced. We ordered room service breakfast for 5 pax and it came after 2 hours after several followups. We asked why and they mentioned that they were prioritizing people who are eating from the dining hall?!
During our first night, there was a power interruption and the generator kicked in. We were still lucky that even with backup power, our aircon was working without any problems. We were informed that for other guest rooms - their air conditioning units were not working while on backup generator.

Pros:

Room was large even for 5 adults.
Staffs were nice and very helpful.
Good location
Good hotel decoration/unique

Cons:
- Room service was very slow. True - you have to have lots of patience.
- Wish the pool was bigger and more suitable for kids. (the pool was small and 6 feet deep)
- Wi-fi was slow
- No hotel manager/supervisor in sight
- We stayed on the 3rd floor - water pressure was low.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khazzahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've stayed at several resorts in this area and this is easily the most comfortable. The location is great with a perfect spot on the beach. The rooms are magnificent, each one uniquely decorated with carvings and handmade lighting. Our room offered a beach view from the spacious deck. The staff were very well-mannered and attentive. The restaurant was very pleasant and the menu offered excellent Ilocano dishes as well as international. It was cooked and served well. If you want a premium resort in Pagudpud, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomFromTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is totally awesome! The scenery is breathtaking! The staff is so wonderful and very accommodating to all our whims. Kudos to Christian and "Bella". :) The room and bathroom are very clean. But we noticed that they are a bit understaffed. Maybe because we got there right after New Year and the other staff were still on holiday. :) The food...Ilocano cuisine that is, was cooked to perfection and it was truly delish! We will be back, Apo Idon! :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pssstpssstpssst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Great place to stay in Pagudpod. A few meters away from the beach, have their own small pool. Rooms a little pricey but good enough for the price.
As mentioned- " Bring a lot of PATIENCE". Resort is under-staff. For the cost we have paid, we expect a a good service. Good thing about it, their staff are always smiling.
Food served 1 hour after you order the food. A lot of improvements in terms of service can be made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Apo Idon for 3 days and 2 nights. We enjoyed our stay there, The staff are very accommodating, I think they did their best to make the guests feel welcome, considering the fact that 5 female personnels do the receiving, waitressing and cleaning. They always greet you with a smile no matter how busy they are, I think this compensates for the slow food service. You just have to pre-order to avoid delay. The rooms are very clean and cozy compared to the other front beach hotels. You may just have to request for linen change since they are under staff.

We will definitely go back there if we visit Pagudpud again and will recommend this place to friends.

p.s. You can oreder food from the adjacent restaurant, they also have good service. All I can say is...treat the staff with respect and they will give you an awesome service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Place : When i think of Pagudpud, i still think the area is remote. So reaching the area and the tall buildings blocking my view from the beach... i felt a little jab in my stomach that this is not what i expected.

My sister chose Apo Idon because that's the best place there is in the area for it's price. Well, judging from what I see around me, I have to agree.

The room costs 4000, two large beds with small ref, bathroom good enough.The cable tv is off and the wifi signal is intermitent. I think it's embarassing to offer a cable tv room only to tell your guests that you haven't paid the card yet. They left the tv with the message that the channel is not available.

Staff : the staff is always smiling and i guess sincerely wishes to serve us well, i just think they are not that equipped... and i don't know if they do not know how to delegate tasks.

Food : The food is good, we love what we ordered. Only, we should ordered at least an hour before we eat. I do not have the patience to wait for an hour for my breakfast especially when no one else is being served. So my sister was uncomfortable that i kept in standing up and follow up our orders and all the things we need to enjoy breakfast.

I'm only reviewing Apo Idon, the beach here is great, whatever resort you choose to stay... the long beachline is awesome for viewing, walks, and photo shoots... the water is clear, the sand is finer the closer you get to the water.

Room Tip: I think the room that costs 4000 is good enough. I don't mind that there's no free breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatKerbouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagudpud
32.7 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
44.5 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
28.3 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kingfisher Resort
Kingfisher Resort
#3 of 34 in Pagudpud
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa Consuelo
Casa Consuelo
#1 of 17 in Pagudpud
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
Casa Victoria Beach Resort
#2 of 34 in Pagudpud
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apo Idon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apo Idon Beach Hotel

Property: Apo Idon Beach Hotel
Address: Burayoc Pt., Saud White Beach Cove, Pagudpud, Luzon 2919, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Pagudpud
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Pagudpud
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing