We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Comforts”
Review of Pannzian Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pannzian Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pagudpud
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Basic Comforts”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Due to an unexpected break from my fieldwork duties last month, I was able to spend Christmas 2012 with my family and have come across the Panzzian Resort in Pagudpud while we were surfing the net for an alternative holiday destination after our reservation from 20-24 December 2012 at a Siquijor beach resort was imprudently cancelled by its management. As everything happens for a reason, this unfortunate incident has pleasantly allowed us to invite my in-laws in sharing the good side and the bad side of this most recent sojourn namely: the natural marvels of northern Philippines (good) and the long, exhausting road trip to this far region (bad) which I, admittedly, secretly relish.

We called up their booking office at 632 646 9020 last 14 December 2012 and Olive readily provided two rooms for our group, a duplex good for seven people including a “kayo” room for our family of three. It should be noted that the duplex is a whole lot better than the “kayo” room that has been provided for us since it delightfully comes with a picturesque sea view as compared to our room which was forlornly located under the restaurant and with a stony riff-raff wall for a view to boot. So you, definitely, would feel more of a vacation vibe if you could be assigned to either of their duplex units but the resort also has cottages and other rooms of varied sizes that you may want to consider which we, unfortunately, were unable to check out during our short stay at the Panzzian Resort.

Both rooms that were allocated to us are air conditioned with available hot showers but with no cable tv, refrigerator and the other amenities that a regular resort would offer since their angle is a back to the basic experience without all sorts of technological interference, albeit with climate control and hot water for personal comfort. There is also a power generator on standby but it seems that its effective coverage only reaches those rooms nearest to the sea as our “kayo” room was still left in total darkness in the early morning hours when there was a power outage during our last day at the resort. And to those individuals who would feel incomplete without the company of their laptops and mobile phones, please be forewarned that there is no Globe signal in this part of the country so it is Smart that reigns supreme.

We also found it convenient and less stressful to just avail of their full board and lodging arrangement which consisted of three meals plus an afternoon snack at PHP 1,500.00 daily per person for our group of ten and we likewise had requested for a morning snack at an additional daily cost of PHP 100.00 per person. Olive would be providing you with a detailed menu if you prefer this kind of arrangement but please be advised that the organic meals offered simply won’t be enough to individually satisfy a group of food gladiators like ours. However, the resort reasonably allows its guests to personally purchase seafood at the nearby wet market to adequately address this situation and its courteous staff would willingly cook it for you at a cost to supplement your menu thus ensuring that everyone is full and lumbering back to their rooms after each meal.

If this is not your preference then you can just directly order whatever is in their restaurant menu or go for the current fresh catch (fish) of the day. Available drinks include buko juice, various sodas, some fruit shakes, choco and coffee with free mineral water from the dispenser and you could also order fruits like bananas, mangoes and papayas (always on the house during our stay) with your meals. Marshmallows and cocktail hotdogs are likewise available at the restaurant that you could roast during the nightly bonfires by the sea that are thoughtfully provided free of charge by the resort.

We were able to visit the mountain spring (a 15 minute slippery / rocky trek not suitable for the elderly), Maira-ira beach (watch out for jellyfish if you swim in the beach fronting Hannah’s), Kabigan Falls (ask ate from the last stall if your guide can bring a jug of buko juice and whatever snack is available to the falls with you for refreshments), Kapuluan Vista (only two instructors were available in the middle of that afternoon so the surfing lesson was sadly inadequate but the five kids were all pumped up and still courageously enjoyed this activity) and of course, the Pannzian beach (not recommended for small children yet not surprisingly, the kids all had a blast just hurling themselves against the incoming strong maximum 4-foot waves).

Since the Adams’ activity (a day tour package inclusive of lunch with the indigenous tribes of Ilocos Norte which includes trekking / swimming to the falls plus a visit to their wineries / bugnay plantation) has been suspended at that time due to some road closure and construction, we decided on a trip to Laoag during the last full day of our vacation where we visited the Malacanang of the North, the Marcos Museum, the Paoay sand dunes (an exciting though short lived must activity at PHP 2,500.00 per jeep for a group of five which also includes sand boarding), the Paoay Church (please refrain from wishing for the lotto), the all terrain vehicle racetrack at Fort Ilocandia where my son flipped his atv and got his legs pinned by it though was thankfully unhurt as his ample stomach has effectively cushioned his fall (just one of the many amazing advantages of being near obese), the White Rock Formation in Kapurpurawan (looks smaller than I imagined it to be, maybe due to slow erosion) and the Burgos lighthouse (great views, perfect for photo ops).

On our way home the following morning, we visited the Burgos windmills (giant iconic structures that can be seen from way afar) where we bought some souvenirs, had a stopover at Batac where we sampled their much publicized empanadas and then had our lunch at Café Leona in Vigan before finally proceeding home. So all in all, it was again a successful short break from our daily grind that has not only positively energized us but has once more provided us with the essential drive to tirelessly endure the inescapable drudgery of work while awaiting for the next possible vacation destination.

Room Tip: get the duplex units
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tumble_weed2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Sometime December, me and my friends decided to take a road trip and headed far north - Pagudpod to celebrate an extended birthday celebration. On our way, we're already checking the net what resort to go to when we saw that Panziann holds The Number 1 spot in Trip Advisor amongst the listed hotels in Pagudpod, we then decided to stay there. The roads to the resort was really dark, not a single light post on any sides of the road. It was almost the time for the sun to rise when we reached the resort. We thought that the hotel personnel nor the guard on duty would not allow us to enter the vicinity and book for a room as we appeared like gate crashers. To our surprise, the guard on duty tried his best to contact the front desk officer who lives a few blocks away from the resort and spent time entertaining us at wee hours of the night. That's plus factor for us! One proof that they really know how to take care of their guests. The room that we took was inspired by a nipa hut with kapis windows. Very Native. We really didn't see the beauty of the entire place until the sun had risen. The place was so serene. Trees everywhere. A good view of both the mountains and the sea. The sand were not as fine as boracay but who cares about the sand if you will have an astounding view anywhere you look? By the time we had breakfast, the people served the food with smiles on their faces which made us feel that they will really take good care of us. The people were really warm and congenial. The food that they serve was really sumptuous specially their version of "kilawing tanigue" muy delicioso! One thing noticeable is that the dogs are as friendly as the hotel personnel. According to them, the dogs were trained to guard their guests which we were able to prove when we had a mini bonfire. The dog was with us until we decided to head back to our rooms to sleep because our next destination was down south, Vigan. The people of Pannzian treated us like royalties. They always ensure that we're having fun and that they're providing the best service and leaving us a great experience. A must place to stay in Pagudpod.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank markyreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It's quite a surprise that a fine resort like this exists at the far end of Pagudpud, waiting to be discovered.

It's not a 5 star hotel/resort. In fact, there's no cable TV, no pool, not even fancy amenities, but our experience was amazing. Owner of the resort encourages you to get out of the curve, simply enjoy the "art of doing nothing" but a vacation with nature. The resort's land property is huge, two rivers inside the resort, and a photographer's haven for picture addicts.

The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly. I like the ambiance, so relaxing. The owner/manager of the resort is nice! very accommodating. The food they serve is top notch! I like their Seaweed omelet and lemon grass tea the most.

I've been to places all over the country, Pannzian Beach Resort is definitely on my top 5 destination in terms of "stress free vacation".

I'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Duplex A and B is probably my personal choice just incase I'll go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelboxph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place has a beautiful, large beach; a river with falls nearby; and can arrange tours to tribal villages in the area.
The accomodation ranges from private cottages to dorms and even beach camping. The open-air restaurant is also very nice, serving local and international dishes.
It is also about 10km from the Blue Lagoon, easily reached by taking a bus that stops on the highway for you.
The owner, Bing Stark, is very knowledgable and helpful.
Very nice place.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages are unique; take a tour first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When we arrived at Fort Ilocandia on Saturday of Oct 27, 2012, immediately on sunday we rushed to book through agoda our hotel to Pagudpud and we found Pannzian Beach and Mountain Resort with some other choices of hotel accomodations. We choose to get this hotel because of its accessibility and much easier to find since it is located just along the hiway.

Going there as a first timer, it seems that we are going to nowhere because along the road, there were no houses, and we were traveling as if we were the only car going to the remotest tip of Ilocos, Norte, and kind a afraid already and we felt backing out already.

But when we found some vans and people were taking picture along the via duct and with the cave. We were positive that we are taking the right direction. When we reached our hotel booking and saw a little community and some houses along the hi-way, we get to become excited and some relief of nervous. Finally, we made it to get there and checked in to Pannzian Hotel.

The owners (group of siblings, Dr. Diony, Bing and Joseph) had a little kwentuhan with them and we get to know each other (nice people) and their stories are really very interesting how they started to have their resort in placed.

The food was affordable and delicious (very filipino with a little tastefull creation of Bing like the malunggay cookies, pansit sizzling and etc).

The rooms were great, clean and the surrounding was so big around like 40 hectares. According to Joseph they will add 16 more rooms to accomodate more guests. Joseph was so firendly, he brought us to mountain trekking to take a swim at the top of the mountain in the spring of hidden valley. He also showed as the nice flowing river which will connect in the beach and he prepared as bonfire during the night time. He also recommended some nicer places within their vicinity like the blue lagoon, agpulit falls, kapurpurawan rocks and some few more.

Dr. Diony was also friendly, and Bing as well. During our stay, abs-cbn was there taking some shoot of the place and was happy to get me as their guest shoot for the lemon grass tea tasting which will air on January of 2013.

Wonderful experience, place and excellent guest service showed by the ortega siblings. Thanks and we will surely be back soon with some friends

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed_Paras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwindale, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

i had the opportunity to stay at this resort in 1997 arriving there at 8 pm with a full moon beaming on the calm pasaleng bay - babuyan channel. i was getting worried that my wife booked us a place in the middle of nowhere. the national highway was dark and there was hardly any house along the way until we saw the road signage. we pulled into the resort just as a family of 6 also arrived from manila. we had great fun! the food, especially bagnet was my great culinary experience. the kids love the batis (spring) which was some 600 yeards across the resort towards the mountainside. they scheduled the guest so you had some exclusivity. the beach had very fine sand (not as powdery as boracay beaches though). the cabana's were fully furnished. the owners and staff were very friendly and hospitalble. i look forward to visiting this resort again on my next trip to northern luzon. i did stop by the other pagudpud resorts which were great yet because there are a dozen or more beside each other, i felt it was crowded unlike the panzian resort which was serene and very relaxing. at night it was fun to point out to my kids (3) the ships that were passing by and if the lights were from fishermen!

Room Tip: with only a few cabanas, it can never be crowded and gives you an opportunity to get to know other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

the place is quiet with clean and spacious rooms. it has a spring area, 15minutes walk for the young ones but not for the young once since it's in the mountain area. the beach is clean with good gray sands. you can also do some bonfire if you want to party in the beach area since it has lights during night time. the staff are accommodating and helpful. but the place has lots of mosquitoes and moths, maybe because it's already raining when we got there, and the place has many trees and plants around it. but for a budget traveler looking for a nice place to stay, this is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagudpud
47.8 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
34.7 mi away
Rivermount Hotel and Resort
31.9 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.7 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
490 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kingfisher Resort
Kingfisher Resort
#2 of 34 in Pagudpud
123 reviews
38.2 mi away
Fort Ilocandia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pannzian Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pannzian Beach

Property: Pannzian Beach
Address: Brgy. Pancian | Ilocos Norte, Pagudpud, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Pagudpud
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pagudpud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pannzian Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pannzian Beach is steeped in history, starting from the time the Spanish arrived in the Philippines up to today’s modern world. A lot has changed and, at the same time, a lot hasn’t.The area surrounding Pannzian Beach has been family owned for more or less two centuries. Passed down since the Spanish era, it eventually became a private getaway and slowly evolved into a business.Having been family owned for so long, one can expect a different kind of service. We don’t have resort managers, we have hosts and guides (including some of the family dogs) who make you feel at home while you’re visiting the northern tip of the country. In short, we treat you like family.Though the history of our place is not written, it is at least suggested. Much of our surroundings haven’t changed, save for some road renovations and power lines. Other than that, the location still remains the same since the 1800′s. It’s a place we call home and we want you to be a part of it.Pannzian Beach is right in the middle of Paselang Bay. Our beach may not be the best in the world — lacking the usual pristine waters (waves can get a bit “moody”) and coupled with coarse sand. Nevertheless, we are proud of our beach! It is something to be admired — it has been the source of livelihood for most of the local fishermen and its vastness gives you a sense of privacy coupled with an amazing view of the West Philippine Sea. On the other hand, our mountains also provides for many of the locals. Farms are a usual sight but that’s not all. Surrounding Pannzian are a number of springs and waterfalls aimed to providing a sense of adventure. Trek mountains, jump off waterfalls, and swim in clean rivers. At every turn, we try to give you the opportunity to connect with nature. That’s what we are is all about.Whenever you’re in Pannzian, we try to remove urban distractions. We invite you to observe and interact with nature. If you look closely, each rooms don’t have television sets (don’t worry there are plenty of other things to watch) or anything too fancy found in other high-end resorts. What we have are just enough to keep you comfortable — soft beds, a private bathroom and a hot shower. That’s it. In essence, we’re trying to promote a clean, stress-free, and healthy lifestyle.If you’ll notice the food, majority of what we serve are local delicacies with ingredients straight from our backyard. Most of it is organic. Fresh produce come from local farmers and our very own vegetable garden. And since we’re just off the beach, local fishermen provide us with fresh selections from their daily catch. Our food specialties lean towards local cuisine, reinvented dishes based on the community’s daily diet.A huge part of who we are comes from our community. Most of our staff come from the surrounding barangays. They’re the ones who cook your food, do the landscaping and act as tour guides, which is why we’d like for you to get to know them as well.At sunrise, willing guests can help out the fishermen reel in the day’s catch. Those who do help get paid with a portion of the haul. We also have presentations that showcase the culture of local tribes. The goal is to create sustainable tourism, providing them livelihood and giving them a sense of pride.These are the things we offer. These are the things we want you to take notice while you’re here. It is, after all, a vacation that you’re after so why not make it an exceptional one here in Pannzian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pannzian Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pannzian Beach And Mountain Hotel Pagudpud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing