We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch service! Just outside Florence”
Review of Villa La Massa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa La Massa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Notch service! Just outside Florence”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this property on the recommendation of a friend who stayed here for his honeymoon. Wow. The property is amazingly beautiful, the rooms were large and elegant with breathtaking "Tuscany-like" views of the river and grounds. The service was out of this world. Tamara at the front desk was so helpful in helping us book a driver and Tuscan wine excursion! My only complaint is that I come from humble roots, so I felt a bit out of place (too informal) for the service we were given. Let me be clear, the staff NEVER made me feel that way, they made me feel like a was a millionaire... it was just so much more than I'm use to. We appreciated being able to stay away from the buzz of the city, and loved the property itself, but it is definitely not within walking distance of Florence, so we would take the free shuttle they provided into town. The only negative was that the shuttle stopped at 7:30pm, which was too early for us to be ready to return 'home' since we wanted to have dinner and sight-see more in Florence.
Breakfast outside on the patio was so beautiful and delicious! We hear that the restaurant there is top-notch, however we didn't get to eat dinner there due to our interest in seeing as much of Florence as possible.
I would love to stay here again, especially if my trip was designed more around relaxing and being in a "Tuscan" scene... but if you are wanting to tackle Florence and get the most out of the city, it might be a bit far away. We took cabs back to the property each night and it was roughly 25-30 euro to do so from Ponte Vecchio so that gets pricey.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view of the Arno river, and they were able to accommodate us. We also bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenWDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    30
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
140
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

our second stop on our honeymoon.
A wonderful collection of three properties, the main house, and 2 villas. we stayed in one of the small houses and it was very quiet, with a nice balcony overlooking the river arna. the staff were very attentive and friendly.
carmine kept our drinks flowing, and the manager was very helpful after we had to move rooms due to a problem with the electrics, he went so over the top to make us happy. the new room was even better than our original, so we weren't complaining!
all the staff were fantastic from dinner recommendations, bars to go to.

they offer a free shuttle service into Florence as well which is very helpful.

the only down side is the surrounding area is very quiet, no shops, bars or restaurants to walk to. but if you have a car this isn't a problem. we drove to greve in chianti, and up into the hills where there are lots of small restaurants serving great local food and wine.

we left with some complementary jams and prosecco!

Room Tip: lake view is best, or ask for a room in the smaller villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel sets the standard for top class hotels, Giancarlo and his team provide the best of experiences. Everything was just so, we were spoiled as our room was upgraded to a junior suite for the week that we were there.
Breakfast was wonderful with a table on the terrace by the River Arno, as well as the buffet hot food could be ordered from the Kitchen everything from omelettes to pancakes and waffles.
If you stayed by the pool sun beds were arranged for you, cold water brought for you, complimentary mint tea.
Little gifts left in your room, a bottle of wine, biscotti, jams on departure.
A shuttle bus took you to Florence on the hour.
Dinner in the evening was in the very intimate restaurant with service at the usual high standard.
The room was made up each day to a perfect standard with minute attention to detail, on returning to the hotel after a day out we looked forward to seeing our pristine room.
It doesn't get any better than this. It's expensive sure, but if you want to treat yourself and de stress this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We stopped in the pink building opposite the main building which I have read is recommended but our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is the best of both worlds - surrounded by Tuscan hills, but 15 minutes from the heart of Florence. The property is spectacular, and our room on the 2nd floor overlooked the pool and the Arno. The bed was so comfortable and there is something about throwing open the shutters, letting the spring air in, and listening to the birds chirp - a perfect experience. The food is very good as well - if you go in the spring, get the stuffed zucchini flowers with shaved white truffles - it is amazing! The staff is so friendly and exteremely helpful in getting reservations, cabs, tours, etc. As I wrote in the guest book - I would move in if I could!

Room Tip: A higher floor overlooking the Arno, spring is a great season to experience it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I have lost count of the numbers of times we have stayed here and every time it's fantastic. Giancarlo Rizzi and his team seem to surpass themselves time and time again. Whether it is the subtle changes each year to improve the ambience, newly decorated rooms or improved menus it's hard to define but the whole team, from Tamara & Lousia front of house to Silvano & Carmine in the bar and outside restaurant or Lucca & Vitor in the main restaurant to name just a few it's perfect. The venue and location is stunning, the views of the Arno cannot be surpassed, the rooms are tastefully furnished, spacious and sleep comes easy in the comfortable beds. The food is freshly cooked, pasta, truffle and porcini are some some of the delights and the choice of local wines add to the experience. Enjoy a cocktail on the terrace with canapés before dining alfresco and all that you can hear is the delights of the countryside. When your ready the free shuttle into Florence allows you to sample the Baroque architecture and more local delicacies. My latest trip just added to my desire to return again as soon as possible. This is a true 5 star plus hotel and part of the leading hotels of the world so you do pay for the experience but it's worth every single penny and long may it last.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villar Perosa, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hotel is located on the hills surrounding Florence , in a wonderful huge park . Peaceful and located on the river Arno , an old villa with nice rooms , excellent restaurant , careful service .
A shuttle takes the guests to Florence every hour , but one can spend time just walking in the park .

Room Tip: All the rooms are very quiet and silent , the junior suites have a plus .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a world class elegant 37 room high end grand European hotel. I much prefer to its famous Lake Como sister. If you want this type of discrete service combined with an informality that is helped by the fabulous grounds - stay here. It beats the 4 Seasons hands down. A great hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jolly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candeli
Villa Cora
#7 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
#10 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Il Salviatino
#94 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Massa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Massa

Property: Villa La Massa
Address: Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Candeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Massa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Villa d'Este Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Massa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Massa Owned By Villa d`Este Hotel Candeli
Hotel La Massa
La Massa Hotel
Villa La Massa Province Of Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing