We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting !”
Review of Villa La Massa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa La Massa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

An absolutely splendid 5 star hotel. The location is marvellous, with the river Arno just next to the property. Florence is a 15 minutes bus drive away (service provided by the hotel every hour). The breakfast buffet impressed us and is of very high quality, as well as the service, which is truly amazing. The whole experience is of rather unique standard and the price doesn't seem overdone. We surely would like to return in the future.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Bella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Massa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 297 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our 5th stay at Villa la Massa. It never disappoints us. We try to stay in the main house with a river view as these rooms are beautiful. Service is always personal and seamless. Dining Rooney is pleasant, attentive and with wonderful food. I like it a little earlier in the year when we can eat outside. The bus into town is convenient, though I wish it ran later. The only disappointment was that they closed this year part way through our stay. We moved to Villa San Michele which we did not like anywhere as much as Villa la Massa. We hope to go back again some day

Room Tip: We like the view over the river
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcneil771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Extremely attentive staff. Delicious food. Breath-taking views. Really convenient shuttle into town. Don't look anywhere else - just stay here. It's worth every penny.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel didn't disappoint being the sister to villa d'este which is the best
All rooms are large and exquisite lay furnished
We got a large bowl of fruit on arrival and 2 pots of marmalade on departure
Giancarlo the manager was very friendly and took the time to introduce himself and chat
The reception staff were all charming

The hotel itself us 4 miles outside florence and they have an hourly bus service
Sitting by the lake sipping cocktail after a busy day sightseeing or shopping is heaven

Room Tip: All as good as each other Worth getting a suite
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger31148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely property is on the Arno a few miles outside the center of Florence. They have a shuttle in to to Florence which is really convenient. The property is in a scenic spot but yet close to everything.
The dining staff is delightful. Excellent breakfast each morning in a glorious setting. We stayed in the building that was right on the river and not the main building which housed some lovely suites.

A must when going to Florence.

Room Tip: A junior suite in the building by the river.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wanted to say a special thank you to Tara and all the staff at Villa La Massa for making our honeymoon stay the most romantic ever.
Villa La Massa is a perfect quiet retreat for all who want to get away from it all. Waking up to the Tuscan countryside and being beside the River Arno was really quite something
The food at the Verrochio restaurant within Villa La Massa was just devine and we highly recommend the Florentina steak. It just melted in your mouth. Vito gave us some interesting facts about Chianti at our wine tasting experience in the cellars which was just great.
Then the pierre de resistance is the shuttle bus that tos and fros at regular intervals from the hotel to Florence and is only a 20 minute ride and you are there in the thick of it. Lots of Trattorias in the nooks and crannies and piazza’s to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by. Capucinno at Gillet in Piazza Republic is a must and one of the oldest coffee shops in Italy!
We are definitely going to plan another trip to Villa La Massa for our first anniversary!

Room Tip: Myself and Audrey stayed in the Presidential suite at Villa la Massa and were taken by the views and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having had a less than pleasant experience at our last hotel, moving on to Villa Massa was the perfect remedy. The staff, the location by the river and the quiet professionalism of the place makes everything very relaxing. We had a lovely room right beside the river. The food was excellent (but not cheap by any means!) and I was sad when our stay came to an end. Angelo in the bar is a delight and the restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. We shall return!

Room Tip: Our room was 54 and was lovely
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candeli
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
825 reviews
Il Salviatino
#91 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Cora
#5 of 411 in Florence
954 reviews
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#101 of 411 in Florence
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Massa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Massa

Address: Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Candeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Price Range: $412 - $1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Massa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Villa d'Este Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Massa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Massa Owned By Villa d`Este Hotel Candeli
Hotel La Massa
La Massa Hotel
Villa La Massa Province Of Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing