We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars hotel...10 star location”
Review of Villa La Massa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa La Massa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Villa La Massa in July 2013. It is a 5 star hotel, which at about 500 euros is more than we generally spend. However, the Villa provides a 5 start experience at a 10 star location so is worth a splurge for the following reasons.
First, is the location. It is about a 20 minute van ride [complimentary and hourly] to Florence. The setting is idyllic, the scenery is like a movie setting or work of art. Hugging the Arno, with view of vineyards and the countryside, it provides a restful contrast to the crowed Florence museums, streets and shops. The VIlla has its own gardens and olive grove with a trail for walking or jogging. There is a refreshing pool and well appointed fitness center. The restaurant terrace overhanging the Arno is a perfect setting for breakfast or a romantice dinner. The breakfast buffet, included in the room rate, was ample, varied, and delicious. Dinner was a gourmet experience, however, expensive.
Second, the rooms and service were first class. The double room in the main building was spacious, weill appointed and comfortable. The air conditioning was quient and efficient. The bathroom was gorgeous; I usually take showers, but enjoyed luxuriating the tub after a long day of walking. There is a shower in the tub. The bed was firm and provided a great night's sleep. THe service was gracious, friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our luxury stay at Villa La Massa. For the service, quality of the rooms and facilites and scenic and convenient location, is hotel is a value.

Room Tip: Double room in main building was perfect as to size, views and over all luxury and comfort. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013



We arrived at Villa La Massa to be wowed by its amazing location on the banks of the river Arno and its immaculate gardens. The hotel has more the feel of being in ones own private villa with excellent service. The restaurant terrace is the perfect spot for dinner while watching a family of otters in the water below. Dinner is expensive but worth it for the service and location. Buffet breakfast has all one could expect. The linen sheets changed each day are pure luxury

All of this perfect experience was marred 4 days after we left. My credit card was unexpectedly blocked. On phoning Visa it became clear that the hotel had taken the full cost of our stay (over €9,500) from my account but on each day we were there they had been pre-authorising some €2,000 per day without telling us. They however have a system that does not release these pre-authorisations for many days (up to 15) so they were holding some €8,600 blocking all my credit card limit. To make matters worse when I phoned to try and resolve the position the reception staff were less than helpful and needed multiple calls to get them to "make an exception and release the pre-authorisations manually". The manager's comments were equally unhelpful saying "every hotel in the world does this". Well in our experience most other hotels of this standing release the credit pre-authorisations when the bill is settled. Even Visa were surprised by the hotel's approach!

This was an unfortunate end to what was otherwise a perfect stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mildred2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo R, Direttore at Villa La Massa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Villa La Massa and for the generous comment regarding our location and the service.

We acknowledge your judgement concerning the credit card issue and we appreciate your valued time to inform us about this matter.

Please note that the pre authorisation amount is required at check in time and covers the room charge and the incidentals.
Upon check out this sum is automatically released by our computer.

After carefully investigating this matter, we realized that due to a system failure the authorised amount was not released and we now apologize for this inconvenience.

In spite of the above we do hope that you will retain nice memories of your sejour and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on the shores of the Arno River in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Giancarlo Rizzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was the perfect break. Four nights of perfection alongside the Arno. The hotel is a few kilometres to the east of Florence and it provides an hourly bus service into the city. The hotel itself has extensive grounds to walk in and to enjoy the swimming pool. The staff are faultless and very fluent in English. The breakfast offered a wide range of dishes. We were pampered by being able to have a table overlooking the Arno from a terrace and watching the coypu swimming. The wine selection was widespread and the range of dishes offered for Dinner was mouth-watering. The bedroom was enormously comfortable and the fresh linen sheets daily meant that sleep came easily. The proximity to Florence made for a perfect break. We shall be back next year.

Room Tip: We had room 49 which we were told was the only bedroom with a view of the Duomo. Worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerbckhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Am writing this at 0.44 on our last night at Villa La Massa. What a wonderful time we have had. Total relaxation in absolute luxury. Don't come here if you are counting the pennies. Come here if you want to get away from everything; enjoy fantastic food; amazing service; friendly staff; and be able to come back to tranquility after the joys of Florence. Our three children, 18, 16 and 10 think this is the best hotel they have stayed in (and they have tried some good ones - Babington House, the Savoy, Ritz etc). This is a special place. It isn't cheap, but if you can forget the prices you will have a wonderful time. Thank you Silvano, our extremely friendly waiter, who made our stay so special.

Room Tip: In the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

There are no words to even begin describing our stay at Villa la Massa. We travelled as a family of 7, including a nearly 2 year old and my 70+ year old grandparents, and each and every one of us felt like royalty for the duration our stay. We booked a Junior Top Suite and the beautiful Parco Suite, which consists of two beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms, a living room and private access to a gorgeous little park area on the banks of the Arno River. I can easily say that we have never set foot in a more beautiful hotel or setting; every single fiber of Villa la Massa is truly pure luxury. It isn't often that you find a setting such as this that is perfect for everyone, but with it's beauty, location, winding pathways, and even a sweet little playground, it really is a dream destination for couples, families, groups, everyone!

As if the beautiful accommodations weren't enough, the staff went out of their way on a regular basis to insure a memorable stay. They arranged everything for us and nothing could've been more perfect. They sent a driver pick us (and our many, many bags) up at our hotel in Rome, arranged a wonderful walking tour of Florence, prepared a car rental for driving from one beautiful Tuscan village to another, and finally a driver to take us to the airport in Pisa, via the Leaning Tower, of course. Breakfasts on the banks of the River were perfect every morning, as was the dinner we enjoyed on the night of our arrival. We even had a midnight hot chocolate and cookie party in our suite, which is one of those memories that will last forever.

I could continue to go on and on about how much we loved Villa la Massa, but there just aren't words. It was simply "molto bella"!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ*HL*S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 5 night stay at Villa La Massa. We took the train in from Rome, easily secured a taxi, and had a lively ride to the property from a local cab driver with lots of personality. When we arrived we were greeted by the hotel staff and ushered to the front desk to register. During our check-in several staff members greeted and welcomed us. Once all of the paperwork was completed, we were given a brief tour of the property, shown to our room, and given an overview of the amenities.

We stayed in a lovely suite with the living room and bedroom separated by a short corridor with the two rooms that constitute the bathroom. The room had large windows, a canopy bed and lots of details to make the room feel homey. I also liked that they provide actual keys to the rooms – this also made it feel homey.

Once we unpacked we chose to take the next departing shuttle into Florence. Be aware that the shuttles GENERALLY leave from the hotel and the meeting point in Florence on time (but be prepared for an occasional wait). Nonetheless, we found the shuttle to be convenient except for two things: 1) there is a two hour break in the middle of the day and, 2) if you choose to take the last shuttle into town for dinner, you must schedule an early dinner or occupy yourself in Florence for a bit before your reservation. Also, it could be expensive to take a taxi back to the property every evening since those fares can run anywhere from 25-30 euros.

Since we arrived in the middle of the week, the hotel was particularly quiet…my husband commented that it was like having the entire property to ourselves. Over the weekend, when more guests began to arrive, it still felt like a quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of Florence. Although there did not seem to be a dedicated concierge, all of the staff seemed able to accommodate your requests. We were planning a trip to one museum but we did not make reservations (which I strongly advise while you are in Italy). The evening before we wanted to visit the museum, I called downstairs and the person who respond said he would leave a message for one of his colleagues to secure a reservation for us. Although he said he was going to have the tickets to the museum delivered to us for an additional 15 euros, the hotel staff was able to secure a reservation for the time we requested and we were able to pick up our tickets at the museum site. This process enabled us to avoid the long line that was forming for the patrons without tickets.

During our stay we had breakfast a few times on the property. The breakfast buffet is well stocked with anything that one may desire and; if what you want is not on display, someone is available to order and/or provide your request for you. We also had a delectable dinner in the restaurant the evening before we left. I was surprised that there were not many favorable reviews about the restaurant because it really did provide a fine dining experience. I would be remiss if I did not acknowledge the fabulous gentlemen who worked in the bar during our stay. They were so warm and accommodating. One bartender greeted us by saying, “Let me welcome you to your home!” The service was attentive and personal without being overbearing and intrusive.

Finally, during our visit we both used the gym that had sufficient cardio and strength stations to accommodate most workouts. Neither of us shared the gym with more than one other hotel guest (if any at all). Unfortunately, the weather was cool, dreary, and rainy during our stay, so we were not able to enjoy the outdoor space or the pool.

Overall, Villa La Massa is a great place to stay if you want a peaceful, relaxing escape while having access to all that Florence has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NativeNewYorker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely. Beautifully maintained and clean you couldn't expect anything more or better. A lovely place to come to.
Bedding felt crisp - my goodness I think they changed it every day. There was welcoming Fruit and a bottle of (quite good) Chianti on the dresser in our room Very nice. A couple of small niggles with water pressure but the staff is very attentive and this was dealt with right away. Internet wi fi strength is very variable...but hey ho- we were on holiday and the emails can wait. Pity about the weather when we were there. Not the hotel's fault but I had looked forward to lounging by the pool sipping my martinis...not to be. Rain and quite chilly. There was no heating available for the bedroom since they had turned it off 'for the summer' ha ha. But there was some heating for the bathroom. I think the weather was better in London whilst we were in Italy! My big negative for anyone coming to this hotel from the UK is the cost of services. We didn't take dinner in the hotel. maybe I'm an old meanie- but I reckoned that at more than 200 Euros (+20% service) or more a night for dinner for two I just couldn't enjoy it. Its ok if you will spend that without thinking twice, but I'm a Scotsman and the £ is almost on par with the Euro at the airport 1.06! We did find a restaurant not too far away which was nothing like the same standard -but nothing like the price either, and the food was perfectly good. We ate there twice. (See my review separately on Trattoria Donnini.) Neither did I indulge in any of their Spa services which seem to me priced for people who have a good deal more money than sense. Like 90 Euros for a manicure. 160 Euros for a massage. What!
These things apart, the staff are delightful- especially Luisa on front desk but also all her colleagues that I asked for help or guidance. Breakfast is a really superb buffet- nothing to complain about there, and the service is impeccable and friendly. There is an excellent shuttle bus service into and back from Florence. If you do stay in town after the shuttle goes off its about 35 Euros to get back the 3- 4 miles out of town to where the hotel is situated.
Don't get me wrong. This is a first class hotel. Maybe the fault is with me at being so cost sensitive on everyday items...OK for the American visitors as the USD is relatively strong to the Euro at the moment.

Room Tip: Basic 'deluxe double rooms' are not all that large. I think most rooms have nice outlook exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candeli
4.3 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#4 of 410 in Florence
1,046 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
891 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#28 of 410 in Florence
1,143 reviews
21.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belmond Villa San Michele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Massa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Massa

Address: Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Candeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Price Range: $418 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Massa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Villa d'Este Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa La Massa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Massa Owned By Villa d`Este Hotel Candeli
Hotel La Massa
La Massa Hotel
Villa La Massa Province Of Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing