We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your own home on the Arno river near Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa La Massa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa La Massa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Certificate of Excellence
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than your own home on the Arno river near Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Where do I start? This is the BEST hotel I've ever stayed at. For the record I have stayed at the Villa de Este, Il San Pietro, St Regis, Mansion on Turtle Creek, Four Seasons, etc, etc. The grounds are beautiful with a tranquil view of the Arno river countryside. It is peaceful but yet close to all the action in Florence. The hotel staff is absolutely incredible. Tamara, the front office manager, was like my best friend by the time we left. Manuel, our waiter, was so kind and helpful! We never even had to carry our plates from the breakfast buffet to our table. The bed was soft and so comfy. The bathroom was split so the very nice tub & shower was split from the toilet area. The chambermaid arranged my belongings every day. The shampoos and bath salts were so soothing and wonderful. The food at the restaurant was fresh and gourmet. The restaurant was recently updated to have wonderful views of the river with lights on the patio for the evening. The price was really great. We got Champange upon arrival, breakfast every day and 2 dinners at the hotel restaurant (we stayed 4 nights) for approx $465 per night. The hotel shuttle bus took us back & forth to town and back to the hotel at regular intervals. We only missed it once and the taxi to the hotel from Florence was about $21 Euros. There is a travel agency in the row of shops by where the shuttle drops off & picks up so we went in there and the lady was very nice and called a taxi for us. We only had to wait a few minutes for it to arrive. I like the proximity of the Villa La Massa to Florence much better than the Villa San Michele which has a much, much longer shuttle ride into town. I've been to Florence before so we didn't want to do anything really cultural but we did go to the Ferragamo Museum. I thought it was interesting to see the shoe molds of stars like Lauren Bacall, Carmen Miranda, Madonna, etc. I came to Florence to shop!!! Tamara set us up with a private taxi and it took us to the outlet malls where we shopped and shopped and shopped! The only thing Villa La Massa could improve on is they didn't have one of those charger stations so I had to wait to charge my Kindle because I forgot my computer charger.

Room Tip: All the room are good. You may want to ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchintogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    28
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
139
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After a few years absence, my wife and I returned to Villa la Massa, and it seems that all has improved, that what was a very nice hotel has become a great one.
After certain difficulties in finding our way there, more roadsigns would have been appreciated, one is struck by the beauty of the main building, a large bright yellow 16th century Tuscan villa, amidst impeccably tended gardens.
The people who work there are all absolutely charming, welcoming, and very professional.
We were given a handsome junor suite in a seperate building, with glorious views of the river Arno, featuring a large balcony.
It was the ideal Tuscan retreat. Only drawback was a faulty televison set which was eventually changed the next day, and a very hard bed, a rather common thing in Italy, even at the FourSeasons in Florence. Very nice amenities and high quality bathroom products. Complimentary wifi was a bonus.

Dinner at their restaurant was delightful every evening, and of a very high standard both for the attentive service and their dishes for which they use local herbs from their own garden, which blends well with their excellent meats. A versatile pianist added to the sophisticated ambiance.

The next day we decided to take their shuttle to Florence, which happened to be full. So they called a taxi to take us there, and paid for the fare. This, and a few other examples was very representative of the willingness to please the guests staying at La Villa Massa.
It will be a pleasure to return there, on a future trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ourselves and our 16 year old son all loved our recent short stay at this very friendly 5 star hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and polite, the food was superb and the location exquisite. The hotel is not central but we loved the resultant peace and quiet, plus their shuttle bus gets you into the heart of the city in less than 15 minutes. The last shuttle bus back is at 7pm but taxis are plentiful and cost no more than 30 Euros. The breakfast buffet selection is very impressive and all the meals we had were very impressive. The swimming pool is small but extremely well maintained and there is no shortage of sun loungers and other seating all around the gardens. We didn't have time to try out the gym or other facilities, unfortunately. We would recommend the open-top bus tour of Florence which runs all day and into the evening in summer and was better than a theme park ride at times, but beware of the low hanging branches if you sit near the back of the bus as they tend to sweep upwards as the front of the bus passes underneath and then sweep downwards! (make sure you do the 2 hour tour as that takes you up to the town of Fiesole situated in the hills above Florence with fantastic views of the city below).

Room Tip: We were upgraded free of charge to a junior suite and our son was in a deluxe double, both of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngmeringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a fantastic place. The rooms were unbelievable, the service was top notch and the staff was so helpful. The kids loved spending time in the play area and the pool. It's costly, but a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussAndersonUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Being anywhere but England with the weather at the moment is a bonus being in the Villa La Massa in Florence is a double or triple bonus. A lovely hotel in a fantastic spot close enough to Florence to make it easy but secluded and serene. The food is great and the service way beyond expectation.A perfect spot to unwind and recharge with all the culture and retail benefits of Florence combined with this oasis makes it a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Villa La Massa. I wish we had longer. The hotel looks exactly like it does in the hotel photos. We had booked the least expensive room they had, but they upgraded us to a Junior Suite. The room was plenty big with a small walk in closet and a large marble bath. We had free Wifi, which you make thing is no big deal but we had just paid $25 a day for wifi in London. I agree with the reviews that the restaurant was expensive, but the service was amazing. Breakfast was wonderful, and it was included in the rate. The last day we ate breakfast, the maitre'd asked for our room number. When we told him he then greeted us by name. We had not even met him before. The view from the restaurant is stunning. There were several bad reviews of the pool. The hotel only has 37 rooms. How big does the pool need to be? We only saw 3 or 4 people in it anyway. Plus, you need to remember this is a Villa. Not a huge hotel. I though the pool was fine for the size hotel it is. The shuttle to Florence is 15- 20 min so if you want to be right in the middle of everything, this hotel is not for you. It drops you off at the Ponte Vecchio bridge and we walked everywhere. We stayed in Florence for dinner one night and took a cab back. It was about 12 euros.The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful in making some phone calls for us. If you find much to complain about at this hotel, you were looking for something to complain about before you came. Wish we had a day to just relax at the hotel and not leave. Would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at Villa La Massa. Having stayed several days you can see the cracks in this nice Hotel. The food was very nice but ridiculously priced for what is served. The bar drinks are also very expensive. The housekeeping is excellent. The swimming pool was too dirty and cold to use. The Manager always asks where you are going to eat if you have chosen to dine elsewhere, and the restaurant is nearly always empty which speaks for itself!! The other problem is that I was eaten alive by insects that come from the river, and it must be a nightmare to stay in this Hotel in the Summer when the insects are at their worse by the river.The front of house refused to show me a room rate for the hotel, she said that it changes from day to day!?. Very strange way of doing business.

Room Tip: Aroom overlooking the river, but do not open the window or you will be bitten by insects
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FITASC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiume, Direttore generale at Villa La Massa, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We acknowledge receipt of your comment regarding your stay at Villa la Massa and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are sorry and at the same time surprised in reading the review and we would like to reply on the few points which, in our view, need some further clarification:

While we are pleased to read your feedback about the excellent housekeeping service, we feel to underline that our food and beverages prices are in line with all the other Five Stars properties in the area. Furthermore, our Chef's cuisine is based on top quality products and fresh ingredients that change according to the flavours of the season and we constantly receive positive feedback from our regular and new clients. Regarding the swimming pool, we have to admit that, due to the cold weather we experienced during the first part of this season, presumably preceding your stay, the pool was not ready to be used with the right water temperature as in the normal warmer weather months when our guests can fully enjoy this facility. Also, considering that Villa la Massa is located in the Florence countryside, just fifteen minutes away from the city centre and right on the banks of the Arno river, happens that we have some small insects flying around the property, especially after heavy rains, but honestly we rarely receive comments on this matter which is due to the natural setting of our property. Finally, we believe there has been a misunderstanding regarding our room rates due to the fact that the hotel has of course official published rack rates, established at the beginning of every year and reported to the city centre council as per the Italian law, but also seasonal rates floating to the best available rates of the period required.

We thank you again for your precious feedback which retained all our attention. We sincerely hope to have another chance to welcoming you back in the near future in order to make you fully enjoy the uniqueness and magical atmosphere of our property.

Sincerely yours

Giancarlo Rizzi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candeli
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Four Seasons Hotel Firenze
Il Salviatino
#87 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Massa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Massa

Property: Villa La Massa
Address: Via della Massa 24, 50012 Candeli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Candeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Candeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa La Massa 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Villa d'Este Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa La Massa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Massa Owned By Villa d`Este Hotel Candeli
Hotel La Massa
La Massa Hotel
Villa La Massa Province Of Florence, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing