We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Casale Fontibucci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casale Fontibucci
Ranked #6 of 18 Bagno a Ripoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon during our tour of Tuscany. Aurora was a wonderful hostess, giving us everything we needed and being wonderfully accessible without being invasive. Our room was beautiful, and we had a view of the Florentine lights at night. She gave wonderful recommendations for restaurants and tips for getting into Florence easily. The Casale is absolutely beautiful. The drive up is a little daunting, but we had a 4 speed rental Fiat and were able to do it easily in a very dry July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thanks for the review: I also remember you fondly and hope to see you in the future.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are a family with 2 mature dougthers and had a wonderful time. The place is a real gem. The dwellings are fantastic, beautifully decorated, with lots of room inside and a nice garden outside. Aurora was an extremely wonderful host.
The location is a bit tricky; you have to drive up (and down), a typical italian country (narrow) road. We really liked it. the views over Florence are unblievable. we made day trips to Florence, San-Gimignano and Chianti - Casale Fontibucci is right in the middle of everything, and only 15-20 min. from Florence (a car is a must).
We stayed for 5 days of our 2 week Italy-trip and it was by far the best place. Thank you Aurora for your hospitality and your beautiful Casale.
Khen

Room Tip: We stayed at the I Limone - excellent for a familly with mature children, on a b+b basis. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were really lucky to have found Aurora's watchtower in Case di San Romolo. It's a great place to visit Florence from as it is quiet and secluded on a hill side overlooking the city. We could see an incredible view of Florence from our bedroom window which was stunning throughout the day.

There is a lovely pool to cool off in and Aurora made us a delicious varying breakfast each day. She went out of her way to help us get tickets for the Uffizi and had a lot of local knowledge about the area. I would really recommend staying at Casale Fontibucci.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Many thanks
You are very kind. I also remember you fondly.
Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed 5 lovely days at Aurora's "Casale Fontibucci" in August on recommendation from our friends who stayed here in 2005.Best decision we have made. The accomodation and Aurora are 'out of the box' and exactly what you expect Italy/Tuscany to be.... all class. Its a little hard to find at first,but that adds to its charm. Thank you Aurora you deserve the best rating....10 out 10 from two grateful Australians.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brumarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thanks, I remember with great pleasure the days that you have spent @ Casale Fontibucci.Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We are a family with young children and had a marvelous time. The accommodations were fantastic and we had lots of room inside and out. Aurora was extremely accommodating and a wonderful cook and host. We also enjoyed the location, we made day trips to Florence, Sienna, Pisa, Bologna and Chianti and was right in the middle and only 15 minutes from Florence. We stayed for a week of our 3 week trip and it was our favorite place. Thank to Aurora for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gneargarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thanks, I too have wonderful memories of your stay Casale Fontibucci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Before going on an 18 day trans-Atlantic cruise, we decide to stay 6-7 days in Tuscany. Doing just a bit of research, we chose Casale Fontibucci in Bagno a Ripoli. We were pleasantly surprised on our arrival. The grounds were beautiful and Aurora, the owner, made us feel like we were awaited friends. She made herself very accessable, but allowed us the appropriate amount of privacy. The breakfasts were wonderful......especially the fig preserves, made by herself, from a large fig tree on the property.I must admit, we didn't know the roads up would be so narrow and high, but that became part of the everyday adventure! At the end of the day, we were glad to get back and culiminated the evening by going to the terrace, playing cards and enjoying the sunset over Florence with the two feline residents!!!! (cats sitting on the wall, overlooking Florence!) Aurora directed us to 222, where we could see local wineries, walled cities, the way to local banks, the co-op(!),directions to anywhere, a chestnut festival, and my favorite, a market, a few towns over, in Rosano, where we "built" our own antipasto, had a glass of wine, some bread...........heaven! It was unusually chilly for that time of year, but with extra blankets, wine and sunshine during the day, we did just fine! The history of the place itself is overwhelming and Aurora's friendship with an artist whose work I knew was the icing on the cake for me (I am an art lover)! We were able to take a little bit of Casale Fontibucci back with us.....2 jars of fig preserves that Aurora graciously gave us and we almost took back one of the cats! The day we were packing up to leave, my husband noticed 2 eyes staring out from the car, atop the luggage! The friendliest one of the 2 cats (she greeted us almost daily when we returned from our day), almost took the trip with us to Venice (where the ship was), but then had second thoughts and hopped out!!!! We would most assuredly recommend Casale Fontibucci for a wonderful Tuscany experience. We are only sad that by the time we started to know our way around, it was time to go!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krunch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

thanks your for the kind appreciations regarding your stay @ Casale Fontibucci
Even for me it was a pleasure to share with you ,the fruits of the garden,the landscape the cats and the Tuscan Sun
Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I travelled through Europe for nine fabulous weeks. Casale Fontibucci will stay in our minds as the best accommodation experience of that trip. What a truly magical place it was! This impressive and unique property is situated in a peaceful quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of the busy city, but still within a short driving distance from the nearest town. Perched high up on a hill overlooking Florence, the view from our bedroom window was like a picture postcard. Our room was thoughtfully fitted out with everything one can wish for. It was like a 'home away from home'. Lots of space, everything clean and fresh with comfortable beds, generous seating area plus little personal touches including books, magazines and local travel information. Then the breakfasts: each morning our breakfast table was set out with the most delicious tempting foods. Fresh produce from around the area and every day a different home made treat by our gracious hostess Aurora. The garden and swimming pool were immaculate and it was a pleasure to just sit there and chill out from too much sight seeing. Before we left, Aurora kindly shared her secret recipe of Italian ragu with me and we parted knowing that one day we will return. We can highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone wanting to experience Tuscany in style.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oretta, Proprietario at Casale Fontibucci, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Lot of thanks for the wonderful memories you have evoked.
Even for me it was a pleasure to share with you .... the Tuscan Sun.
Greetings from Casale Fontibucci
Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bagno a Ripoli hotels
3.9 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
848 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Poggio Baronti
B&B Poggio Baronti
#1 of 18 in Bagno a Ripoli
84 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Nobili B&B
Villa Nobili B&B
#5 of 18 in Bagno a Ripoli
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Relais Villa Il Sasso Historical Place
3.3 mi away
Residence Ristorante Golf Club Centanni
2.8 mi away
Borgo I Vicelli Country Relais
Borgo I Vicelli Country Relais
#1 of 17 in Bagno a Ripoli
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Fontibucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Fontibucci

Address: Via Fontibucci 5, 50012, Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range: $107 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Fontibucci was originally built as a watchtower in the Middle Ages, after which it is traditionally believed to have been home to Michelangelo's stonecutters. At present it is used for residential purposes by the owner, who has appointed a part of it to a B&B and holiday home. Casale Fontibucci has been featured, with numerous illustrations and an extensive description, in the book "The 70's House" edited by Wiley and Sons. The book describes the most important houses of the 70s; "Casale Fontibucci ... was, by repute, originally the home of Michelangelo's stonemason. The site of the house lies on a hill commanding a view down the valley of the Arno to Florence in the distance past the picturesque array of hilltop palazzi and villas in between". Casale Fontibucci is set amidst the rolling hills of Chianti Colli Fiorentini, more specifically in the area of Bagno a Ripoli. Surrounded by verdant countryside rich in spontaneous vegetation and orchards planted out with vines and olives, the Casale Fontibucci bed and breakfast offers not only the unspoilt natural beauties and characteristic peace of the gentle Tuscan landscape, but also all possible comforts to make your stay tranquil and enjoyable. Florence, just 15 kilometres away, is within easy reach by both public and private transport. Casale Fontibucci is also strategically placed for reaching the Firenze Sud motorway exit in just 20 minutes. All the major Tuscan art cities - Pisa, Volterra, Lucca, Siena and San Gimignano – and the entire Chianti area are within a radius of about one hour's car journey. The B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover the Tuscan traditions through food & wine tours or more traditional cultural excursions. An old Tuscan farmhouse, the building has been renovated in complete respect for the characteristic Tuscan style, featuring stone walls, open-beam ceilings and terracotta floors. The spacious grounds surrounding the B&B have a swimming-pool with the gentle contours of a small lake set amidst flowering shrubs, olives and cypress trees. Open from May to September, both the pool and the sun terrace, fully equipped with parasols and loungers, command breathtaking views over Florence. Beach towels are provided for guests' use. Aurora, the owner of Casale Fontibucci, has been personally managing the property since she retired in 2004. A lover and connoisseur of Florence and its culture, she can arrange for you tourist itineraries off the beaten track and manage your bookings for exhibitions and museumsThe Casale Fontibucci B&B is in an ideal position for guests to discover Tuscan traditions through the classic cultural excursions or food & wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casale Fontibucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Fontibucci Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing