We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Olmi is elegant, warm and welcoming.”
Review of Villa Olmi Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Olmi Firenze
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was my third stay at Villa Olmi enroute to teaching for a month in a summer program in Firenze. Villa Olmi is out of the fray on the southern edge of the city in Bagno a Ripoli. A quick taxi ride takes you to the bustling (and hot) renaissance city. Turn the other direction and you're soon on the Chiantigiana-- the exquisite road thru Chianti country--- where nearly every view is like a painting of vinyards and olive groves. Villa Olmi not only welcomes you to elegant Italian style-- which it certainly has. The owner is an avid antiques collector. But it welcomes you with Tuscan warmth and hospitality. On the grounds there is a lovely pool-- which is wonderfully refreshing when the summer temperatures are sweltering. Of course you can easily go into town for museums, sightseeing, and shopping and restaurants. But there is also a lovely restaurant in the hotel--- and other more rustic locals nearby. By the time I had to learn to move into town for my work, I felt like a Medici!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olympicrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Dear Guest,
thank you for the comment you left on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that also this time, your stay at Villa Olmi Resort was perfect. We look forward for "the fourth time" ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 860 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

We loved staying at Villa Olmi. It has luxurious rooms and beautiful grounds. The location is close to both Florence and Tuscany, so perfect for day trips in either direction. Yet, it is a great place to relax after a hectic day of touring. We loved looking at all the art and antiques and walking around the grounds.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Booking this we got the sense that it was quite remote, perhaps in the rolling Tuscan hills above Florence. Once we got there we found out it was in a flat suburb of Florence close to the Autostrada. Apart from that it is a beautiful hotel and a good alternative to staying in the city. We enjoyed the pool area and having breakfast outside. The staff were helpful although their restaurant recommendation in Florence left a lot to be desired. One real complaint was the timing of the complimentary shuttle bus into Florence. The last one left the hotel left at 6pm - an hour or two later would have been much more useful.
The prices in the restaurant precluded us from trying it out - €15+ for antipasti and pasta and €30+ for secondi was completely out of whack with anything else we encountered in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ij_gallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We chose Villa Olmi because we needed to go to Florence for a wedding but didnt want to stay in Florence. The Villa Olmi was exactly that - five stars but only ten minutes into the city centre.

The resort was perfectly turned out, the rooms lovely, and the grounds immaculate. The pool was the best thing of all - a complete sun trap and always virtually empty. A telephone on the side allows you to phone for bar service which is a nice touch.

Unfortunately we found the staff thoroughly average, and this is the stickling point for me since at the top end i expect to be looked after and we were not....

The check in process was bizarrely complicated and lengthly. The restaurant/terrace offers a very average food service - a lack of choice (though what they have was good) and almost nothing at all if you turn up outside of 'hours' apart from a poorly made cheese toastie.

The service is very pleasant but just inattentive, my room minibar took 3 days for items to be replaced, my wife asked them to call a hairdresser the afternoon before the wedding but he turned up two hours late (and still charged nearly 100 euros - outrageous!!), we asked them to recommend restaurants in town and all of their recommendations were so bad we took one look and went elsewhere, and so forth.

So all in all, i came away satisfied but I wont return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lordgaino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The area around the Hotel is not the best you can find around Florence: very flat, nearly no views and in vicinity of river Arno (short distance from the famous Villa La Massa). This brand new five star hotel offer tranquillity and good hospitality, but reveals several negative situations. No valet service, formal but not friendly staff at front desk, long procedures for check in and check out, rooms (ours was in the new building) of average size but not so great, forniture new but not of great quality and not charming decoration or paintings. The television system did not work propperly and many functions were not available. Funny to find a kitchenette in a five star hotel bedroom where in fact you expect a bit of luxury and service. Restaurant was average and not pricey, but service was modest and not attentive. Breakfast was great: a wide buffet choice, attentive service on a beautiful terrace facing new gardens. They can improve: we hope to return at Villa Olmi and find better services.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mywayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Italy this summer and stayed in a number of hotels and villas and the Olmi was, by far, the nicest place we stayed. We stayed in a Junior Suite that was decorated beautifully with fine linens and a canopy bed. The rooms were very clean and up to date. While we did not eat dinner at the Villa, we did have breakfast which was wonderful.

The Villa is about a 10 - 15 minute ride outside of the city but they have a free shuttle into the city which will take you and pick you up. The first night there was a mix up and we were left in the city by the driver and had a really hard time getting a taxi. There are no pay phones and taxis cannot be "flagged down". You have to have a restaurant call for one. The driver swore he came to pick us up at the designated place and, with the tremendous crowds, it could have been an innocent mistake. The other nights went without a hitch.

The nicest thing by far about the Olmi is the staff. They could not have been nicer. They sent us a complementary wine and cheese tray after we were "left" in Florence and they were so friendly and accommodating the entire trip. I would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellamom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

I stayed at the Villa Olmi for 2 nights with a group of colleagues. The hotel is outside Florence, about a 15 mins bus ride. The hotel has shuttle buses that take you to the centre of Florence (to the Ponte Veccho bridge) but service is limited to the mornings and evenings (till 10.30am and from 6pm in evening). Trying to hail a taxi back to the hotel was an ordeal as some taxis would not pick us up as it was according to the taxi drivers "too far". Taxi to hotel was 20 euros from Florence.

We took part in the on site cookery school. This I would highly recommend as a group activity where we learnt to cook traditional Tuscan dishes.

The hotel was very quiet whilst we were there but it was out of the busy tourist season. Breakfast was served in the heated conservatory with a small but adequate choice. Service was always excellent: at the bar, reception, concierge, waiting and bar staff. The rooms were good but not much space. The bathroom was good. The towels were really soft and fluffy. There is a jacuzzi in the bathroom along with a bidet which I thought was a very nice extra. The jacuzzi was particularly nice after a long day in Florence. All rooms come with a safe and a plasma TV. The downside was that the walls are extremely thin which is not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. For both nights I was disturbed by snoring from next door and the the following morning with the TV and hair dryer on. The following night I heard next door packing (rustling of paper and plastic bags) and people talking. They were not shouting or talking loudly either. I felt as if the I was in the room rather than having a wall between us.

Overall, experience was good despite the thin walls.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno a Ripoli
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,143 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,671 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#21 of 410 in Florence
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#12 of 410 in Florence
614 reviews
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olmi Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olmi Firenze

Address: Via del Crocifisso 18 | Via Degli Olmi 4-6, 50012, Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range: $126 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Olmi Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Olmi Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Olmi Hotel Bagno a Ripoli
Villa Olmi Firenze Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing