We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Olmi Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Olmi Firenze
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights at villa olmi, the hotel is set in gorgeous surroundings with beautiful gardens and a very peaceful immaculately kept pool area. Staff were very friendly and polite, we mentioned it was our honeymoon and within 5 mins of being in our room they brought prosecco on ice and strawberries to our room. We had a standard room but were lucky to have one of the two rooms with a terrace overlooking the gardens and pool. Our room was lovely but Looking at pictures of the superior rooms I think we might treat ourselves if we came back!

Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice, we did eat lunch once at the hotel but would agree with many other reviews that based on this the food was very basic and overpriced, e.g. A chicken salad was literally lettuce, tomato and tiny dices of chicken with no dressing for about 10 euro, would expect more than this from the standard of the hotel. We didn't eat here in the evening as the menu was very pricey (the whole area is expensive but the hotel more so) and we were not expecting much after the lunch. We found a lovely little restaurant about 10 mins walk down the road via tripadvisor which we ate in twice (see review on osteria Brucia tegami). We also found trattoria la gargotta via tripadvisor, but had to get a taxi to this one as its about 2 miles away. La gargotta was excellent (see review) but be warned; taxi there cost us 14 euros and taxi back cost 20 euros, for 2 miles!!

In summary if you don't want to be in the centre of Florence villa olmi is a beautiful relaxing place to stay, we found it lovely to come back after the crowds of Florence to sit by the pool for a couple of hours!

Also see review on Tuscany bike tours which was excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    183
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
164
409
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Villa Olmi in March 2013, we visit Florence every year and normally base ourselves in the centre of the city but always spend a few days visiting other parts of the area. This year we decided to stay outside of the city and found this wonderful hotel in its own little oasis but close to the motorway network and with free parking. We did not want for anything, the staff were excellent from arrival to departure,we found the breakfast really good with plenty of choice both hot and cold, everything you could want and you only had to ask if you needed something more. We had the most amazing junior suite with a huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath well worth paying the extra as this room really had the wow factor, in fact the whole hotel did. We ate in the restaurant and found the food of a high quality, as you would expect in a five star hotel, we also had bar snacks which were excellent and reasonably priced.

The daily shuttle times in to Florence were perfectly adequate for our requirements but I do understand some people might want to stay longer. We did use a taxi one day, very easy to find in Florence, they are located near the duomo. Make sure you ask the driver before you set off for the cost we paid 16 euros very reasonable! It usually costs us 35 euros a day to park the car in Florence. Our whole experience at this hotel was just perfect and I doubt we will ever stay in the centre of Florence again as Villa Olmi has everything we need. I am looking forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Junior suite in the villa was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We staid at Villa Olmi the last 5 days in April and enjoyed it very much. The service was very good and the staff friendly and helpful in a personal and relaxed way. However, the restaurant was not 100 % up to the place's standards. The menu did not change.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious (superior rooms) absolutely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three nights at the Villa Olmi. The room was very nice with beautiful furnishings. The front of the hotel location was a bit noisy a couple of nights, with late arriving guests in a large bus. Most of the time, however, this setting was so welcoming and peaceful, especially after the hustle and bustle of Rome. Strolling the grounds after breakfast was a very nice way to start the day! We did have a car, but used the free shuttle bus to go into downtown Florence. The "south of the Arno" location was perfect for exploring Tuscany and the vineyards. We dined in the hotel restaurant one night, and were the only guests there. The food, wine and service were excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Villa Olmi, one of the few that really deserve five stars.
Very family- friendly and hospitable. Perfect service and perfect cleaning.
During my stay the TV-sets where small and outdated but I was promised new big HDTV screens where to arrive next week. The food at dinnertime is not something to consider really. They don´t have enough guests to keep up a top cuisine. They should focus on antipasti and good wines instead. Breakfast is very nice and meditative with the lovely orchard outside. Big green lawns for kids to play on. A small but nice gym. Plenty of art around the place. The disgusting copies of old masterpieces should be thrown in the bin though. After a full day in Firence, Lucca or Venice, it´s truly nice to return to Villa Olmi and relax. Lenny LePin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a whole week at the Villa Olmi and it was well worth it. A five star Hotel on the outskirts of Florence. Easy to reach off of the Highways. Peaceful and Quiet with wonderful views.

Great:
Price
Customer Service
Free Shuttle into Florence
Free Parking
Jacuzzi in Bath tub
Free Water daily
Turndown Service
Nice Bedding

Only item that wasn't Great:
Breakfast did not meet a five star level, more of a three star but it was included and free.
Our room was over the Breakfast area and so we had some noise.

We will surely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTOWNFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. This place is top notch on all levels. We arrived at reception and the very friendly staff checked us in and gave us advice on Florence and the shuttle bus. The hotel is amazingly beautiful, even when walking to the room you feel as if you are walking through a historic Tuscan palace with paintings and sculptures (originals) all around you. We had our luggage delivered to our room by a porter, and our room was something a bit special - very high ceiling and chandelier, big flatscreen TV, huge comfy bed, ultra-clean bathroom with jacuzzi, and good desk space. Noise problems, day or night, were non-existent. The breakfast was extremely delicious, a big choice of cereals, pastries, fruit, bread, cold meats and cooked options (scrambled egg for example). As you eat breakfast you have a view of the rolling Tuscan hills in front of you. Utterly fabulous! The shuttle bus into Florence is very convenient and the ride into the city is actually very scenic through little villages and right along the Arno river. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent (the waiter even gave us a free starter) although a little pricey.
Overall I give the Villa Olmi Resort 100% top marks and can heartily recommend it for any visit to Florence and/or Tuscany.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagno a Ripoli
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#22 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#15 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#51 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Together Florence Inn
#3 of 5 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Olmi Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olmi Firenze

Property: Villa Olmi Firenze
Address: Via degli Olmi 4-6 | Bagno a Ripoli, 50012, Bagno a Ripoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Bagno a Ripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bagno a Ripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Olmi Firenze 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Olmi Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Olmi Hotel Bagno a Ripoli
Villa Olmi Firenze Province Of Florence/Bagno a Ripoli, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing