We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Trattoria Donnini

Trattoria Donnini
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a great meal here, the atmosphere was excellent, very Italian and full of locals which I love. I had the pork which tasted amazing, all in all a very good evening, reasonably priced with good menu choice and great ambience. We will certainly be going back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    118
    47
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a place of which memories are made”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic!
Where to begin?
The attention from owner, from the owner's wife, the food, the wine, the service, the atmosphere; all superb!
On our most recent trip to Italy, this was one of the most memorable meals.
Just put yourself in the hands of the owner, and slowly enjoy a beautiful experience.
This opinion comes from a person who has had more than just a few great culinary experiences in my life.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good find!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We dined as a family of two adults and 2 kids aged 3 and 5 years. Recommended by our VillaSestini proprietor.

We arrived 5 mins before dinner service but the older gentleman showed us a table nevertheless. We had a choice of outdoor garden setting or indoors. Since the evening was gradually becoming chilly we opted for a table inside. As we were early, we were the only table there which we were gratefu lespecially dining with 2 active toddlers.

Menu choices were compact, offering the restaurant specialties. There were at least 5 different choices of home made pasta. Girls ordered the ragu pasta,which was cooked al dente, and amains split into 2 plates for the girls. It was tasty,I couldn't help sneaking Ina mouthful!

My hubby and I shared an octopus carpaccio starter, again they obliged by splitting the dish into 2, which is welcoming since its quite a fine dining setting. Octopus was fresh and tender.

For mains I had the rabbit stew while hubby had the grilled sea bass. Both cooked to perfection with the nice plating. Never had a rabbit stew so fresh and tasty with an onion gratin on the side. We also had the home made (old recipe it claimed) apple cake for dessert - yum.

For drinks, hubby had the Casa Rosso 500ml and I had the Casa prosseco 500ml. Perfect accompaniment to a delightful meal. Will definitely return if we ran out of new restaurants to try.

You won't be disappointed. We paid Euro89 for our meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephLung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veszprém, Veszprem, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, perfect servise”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

nice place, excellent food, good wine, try the stakes, and the pastas!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A treat!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We drove twenty minutes from the place we were staying to find this restaurant upon a suggestion of a friend and it was really worth the ride.

The ambiance is lovely, a place out of time run by a lovely family.

Nothing fancy, no nouvelle, reinvented or revisited cuisine, rather good old recipes, top quality ingredients and a lot of history behind it all.

We really enjoyed our meal and the service. The steak, the best we've had in a very long time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Donnini also viewed

Bagno a Ripoli, Province of Florence
Bagno a Ripoli, Province of Florence
 
Bagno a Ripoli, Province of Florence
Villamagna, Bagno a Ripoli
 

Been to Trattoria Donnini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing