We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good room but a little overpriced”
Review of Skarsnuten Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skarsnuten Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, good room but a little overpriced”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Skarsnuten is located at the best spot if you want a view (ask for it upon booking) and good for ski in-ski out. If you do not care about the afterski party down at the bottom of the ski slopes it is perfekt for alpine skiing. Access to cross country tracks did not seem that good.
We stayed in a deluxe room which was nice and clean, great comfortable bed, and large bathrom. A little minus for our shampoo being empty two days in a row, and not able to replace it when we asked. There was a fitness room with som weights and a few cardio machines that was OK, and free wi fi.
Since we decided to have dinner at the hotel both nights, we were a little dissapointed of the short a-la-carte menu. The main dishes varied in size, and one looked like a starter and was too small whilst the other looked like a main and was good. One night one of the starters were slightly frosen. We opted for the hotel dinner because of the drive down to town. We thought the dinner was a little overpriced when you pay for the room in addition. The service was so so, mostly young Swedish people working there, and service did not seem their top priority. It is a shame as this hotel has great potential but did not give us the WOW factor. Something was missing to really make us feel like wanting to come back here very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is on of a kind. Very good arcitecture and a beautyful view! A modern hotel with nice rooms, big bathroom and a good standard. Nice and clean everywhere. The only thing that drag down the points was the breakfast. Very simple! But I wil mention that this stay was not in the season. We celebrate a wedding this weekend early in june. This hotel must be amazing in the winter time since its location is in the middle of the downhill ski track. I guess the main income for the hotel in the summertime is weddings, anniversaries and similar celebrating parties.

The prices in the bar is, like the rest of Norway, high.. but then again its worth it with the view and the atmosphere. Good service.

I wil recomend the hotel, but in the wintertime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deGeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Modern Hotel with an interesting architecture located in the middle of Hemsedal sky area in Norway. We went there for the long week-end of Easter. The snow and the temperatures were ideal for skiing and we had a great time in the pistes. The hotel is average and quite small with an excellent view. We were expecting to have a relaxed and quiet week-end. Unfortunately there was a kind of festival that the hotel did not mention when we booked and the hotel was invaded every afternoon/ evening by groups of people that had as main objective to drink. All the common areas were occupied by these groups of very noisy people and after a couple of hours they were totally drunk. We assumed this would not be an issue as the main building where the bar and restaurant are located is separated from the building with the rooms. We were wrong, every night normally between 1.00am and 5.00am (even 6.00) the corridors and the rooms were full of noisy/ drunk people visiting each other and it was impossible to sleep. When we contacted the reception the answer was that they could not forbid people from celebrate in their rooms...Summarising we spent 3 days avoiding the hotel as much as we could (going out to dinner in a different place) and decided to return home one day earlier as we were exhausted. Obviously we will never return to this hotel and will strongly advice our friend to avoid it..!

Room Tip: If you want to go there it is important to ask for a room with a good view (not the parking view) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed her 3 nights i february. Rooms are good sized and clean. Staff is very friendly and very helpfull. (all swedish). Ski in/ Ski out is possible. The hotel has its own skilift. Afterski is a blast is your up for it! DJ and everything.Starts at 14.00 Stops at 19.00. The food is only avarage im affraid. Read som very good critics about the food in this place before i arrived.Had high expectations, but they must have changed the chef or something? Amazing veiw at breakfast watching the sun rize and drinking coffie. Parking just outside. The hotel has two buildings. If afterskiparty vil bother you, get a room in the other builing from the reseption. Only 5 meter walk, but worth it you want to take a nap instead after a long day skiing. All inn all a good place to spend your skiweekend, but a bit expensive.

Room Tip: The hotel has two buildings. If the afterskiparty vil bother you, get a room in the other builing fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationisgoodforU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent week here and had great time. Rooms were big enough for the family. Cleaning service was acurate. The masterpiece is the cousine, dinners were very delicious and multifarious. Would be good if hotel can offer some playzone for children and pool. On the other hand the staff was relaxed even if kids were a bit noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frozdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's this year. While expensive, it was a great experience. The hotels is located on a hilltop, overlooking Hemsedal and some of the slopes, with good views of the surrounding mountain tops. There is a lift that takes you from the slopes right to the hotel and you can put your skis in the basement. The rooms are relatively basic and follows a minimalist design, nice but not great, with some oddities, such as the box bed, which does not really add any value. Further, one would expect to get more in terms of toiletries and towels for this price. But that is the Scandinavian model. The food was generally very good, actually surprisingly good! Breakfast is alright too. Staff was courteous and helpful. I recommend this hotel for couples and smaller families who are not too budget conscious.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed at Skarsnuten Hotel for two nights in february while on a solo ski trip. This hotel was such a pleasant experience! The rooms are big, clean, warm, with big bathrooms, and wireless internet access included. The hotel is all very new and fresh. Its location only requires you to get on a 2 minute lift ride to get there after skiing, which is great compared to other hotels in Hemsedal.

The dinner menu in the restaurant is ok, while the breakfast was great. The bar/restaurant/lobby areas are very nice, and I could easily spend some time there just relaxing and watching TV.

All the staff I met impressed me with a sincere forthcoming attitude and lots of smiles!

I will certainly return, and I wont even consider the other hotels in Hemsedal (one of them I have tried before).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemsedal
4.3 mi away
Fossheim Hotel
Fossheim Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hemsedal
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skogstad Hotell
Skogstad Hotell
#5 of 5 in Hemsedal
73 reviews
23.9 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
389 reviews
16.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Hallingdal
25.0 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skarsnuten Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skarsnuten Hotel

Property: Skarsnuten Hotel
Address: Holdeskaret, Hemsedal 3561, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hemsedal Municipality > Hemsedal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hemsedal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skarsnuten Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skarsnuten Hotel, at 1000 m.s.l, has a magnificent view to mighty mountain Hemsedal. Skarsnuten is a design hotel, where nature plays a prominent part of the architecture. Large glass surfaces virtually let nature right into the buildings. Extensive use of glass, stone and slated stone in the lobby, bar and restaurant, plus modern steel constructions, contributes to the typical Scandivian touch of this quite new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Skarsnuten Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing