We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and great hosts”
Review of Casa Palmira

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Polcanto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Palmira
Ranked #1 of 1 Polcanto B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at Casa Palmira and I must say it was a lovely place. Cosy, comfortable rooms and living room, we could just laze around and relax. the garden outside was also lovely for relaxing in. We didn't see much of Stefano, but his wife Assunta is most gracious and helpful. It's a pity we didn't know she could have given us cooking lessons because we smelt one dinner she cooked and it smelt delicious! But we got very useful recommendations on visiting Fiesole and a restaurant down the road which served excellent pasta (do note though that it's very dark especially at night and you need to ask for a torch).
It will be extremely useful to have a car to get around the area.
the only one little gripe i have is that the towels were not changed daily and because the weather was so cold, the towels could not dry. but other than this, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Casa Palmira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 122 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I selected Casa Palmira as the first of four accommodations during a two week trip through Tuscany and Umbria, using it as a base primarily for three days in Florence as we wished to experience the countryside as opposed to staying right in the city. The accommodation is located approximately 20 km outside of Florence and about 8 km from the town of Fiesole. The lovely home of Assunta and Stefano is warm and cozy and they were the most gracious of hosts; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The surrounding hills are very beautiful.

We did find it difficult on the first day to actually find Casa Palmira as the signs and directions were confusing. Once we become more accustomed to the roads and the driving, it was much easier. Travelers should be aware, when traveling by car, that the roads in the area are winding and narrow. Of course it depends with one's comfort level with driving in a strange country, but we were always careful to return from Florence before it became completely dark (which was around 9 pm in early May). Access to Florence was efficient--drive to Fiesole, park (this part was a bit of a challenge but we simple did as the Italians seemed to do and parked in patches of grass when the public lots were full, hoping that our car would still be there at the end of the day--it always was), and take a 15 minute public transit into Florence. There were several guests who did not have a car and Stefano was most accommodating in providing rides to Fiesole. There is also a bus that stops right outside the road that goes directly to Florence, although the scheduling is a bit more erratic than the efficient bus which leaves from Fiesole. Fiesole itself is a charming town with terrific views of Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Situated in a country setting, this B&B is a perfect home away from home. Assunta and Stefano are the most gracious hosts. The home is clean and charming with a welcoming ambiance. It is a short distance from Florence and it is helpful to have a car for excursions. We would gladly chose Casa Palmira again if we are fortunate enough to return to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelerCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I went to casa Palmira in June 2008 actuallly, did not get time to write this review and penning down my experience now.

Even though my trip was 2 years back, its was very memorable and hence a review after so long. Casa palmira is a large old stuyle Italian house and we stayed in the cottage behind the house.. think it was house no 7.

The place was very well equipped with a kitcheneete, a lving room,two loo's, beautiful bbedroom and very nicely done loo's. The house has a lovely garden that is accessible though we did noot use iit much as we were out in florence most part of the day.

Assunta is a lovelly person, she makes the best omlette;s in the world with sage leaves from her garden. Think one of the best i have ever eaten [same goes for most food in Italy tho :-) ].

Behind the hoouse there is a walking track that is pretty and its very green and beutiful. The restaurants shut early so if you are a late eater, i suggest u stack up and cook in the kitchnette.

We were even adventurous enuf to go alll the way to cinque terre by train from florence while we were at polcanto. You could try that, tho Assunta was quite surprised at our enthusiasm.

You will not regret a stay in Casa palmira, infact you may land up visiting again and again,

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjata2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at Casa Palmira for two nights in August, and loved the rural charm of the place. The garden is lovely, gorgeous flowers and a romantic area for a glass or wine outdoors. Assunta and Stefano were very welcoming - Stefano collected us from the SMN train station in Florence which was a great help. We felt we would have gained more from their knowledge if we spoke a better level of Italian, and this was a bit of a drawback. Stefano lent us some bikes to cycle to Fiesole, and easy 10km cycle. The restaurant up the road was delicious (10 min walk), and we enjoyed eating the wild blackberries on the way home. Charming place! I would return to Casa Palmira.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanno99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Casa Palmira is first of all respectful - if you want to get the company of the owners, you may, if you prefer to keep your privacy, you're most welcome too!
Friendly atmosphere. Astunda is very helpful, knowing how to guide tourists in her beautiful region. Very professional.
The rooms are clean, pleasant.
Breakfast is great - only good food, including the unforgettable scrambled eggs! You can take it outside, with a nice view on the garden. You feel at home.
Maybe a bit too close to the road, but honestly, this never prevented us from sleeping at night, or from enjoying the quietness of the surroundings.
Convenient both for heading to Fiezole and Firenzze, and for walking in the countryside.
Perfect, in other words.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorizont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Casa Palmira is beautiful. We stayed 4 nights in rural Tuscany.
The room was beyond belief. The bed, furniture, artwork, wooden floor were incredible.
The living area downstairs was amazing, extremely comfortable with ambience, charm and a sense of history.
The location is rural and the local bus from Florence dropped us at the door of Casa Palmira. Assunta assisted with museum tickets and bookings, bus tickets and advice.
They assisted us in experiencing all that the local area had to offer.
The breakfasts were perfect for us. We had a beautiful Tuscan meal one night.
Assunta and Stefano treated us as special guests. Casa Palmira is a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye12NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polcanto
3.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio al Sole
7.2 mi away
B&B Le Due Volpi
B&B Le Due Volpi
#3 of 6 in Vicchio
86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Di Campolungo Agriturismo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palmira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palmira

Address: Via Faentina 4 Localita | Polcanto, 50030 Polcanto, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Polcanto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polcanto
Price Range: $96 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Palmira Hotel Polcanto
Casa Palmira Italy/Polcanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing