We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we like in a cottage and location...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Loch Portain House

Livingroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Livingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Livingroom
Uist wildlife
MV Hebrides at Lochmaddy
Neolithic site at Udal, North Uist
MV Hebrides leaving Lochmaddy in gorgeous May weather
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan26
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we like in a cottage and location - thank you!”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved our stay in this well equipped, clean and comfortable cottage. The views were stunning - wildlife in the garden - safe cycling - peace - - loch views - near to local facilities in Lochmaddy. What more can I say - thank you!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Extraordi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views and peaceful”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loch portain is beautiful with excellent fishing and wildlife. Saw a golden eagle every day,and there were deer, owls, seals and plenty other wildlife.
The house is very comfortable with a lovely peat fire.

Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
826nicola
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved the wild and remote location and found the cottage to be really comfortable. The living/ dining area is particularly good with spectacular views and we loved the peat fire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mustanga
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting. Perfect holiday retreat.”
Reviewed December 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We normally stay elsewhere on the island but other members of the family had filled that option already. Staying at Loch Portain was a great experience for us and one that we would be very happy to repeat. Communication throughout was excellent. The house was well appointed for Uist and made a brilliant base. We were blessed with outstanding weather but whatever conditions the panorama from the main windows looking out over the Loch were simply marvellous. The house coped well with everything but as you should expect on Uist be willing to do without mobile and internet most of the time. Midges were out in force but to be expected with such great weather. We took our own Nespresso machine which added to the comfort factor but otherwise much fun was had by all including the shortest ever game of Cluedo. The drive from the main road is longer than you might think but you quickly get used to it and it brings its own joys with an outstanding display of heather when we were there and brilliant wildlife sightings along the way. Would happily recommend to all and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and cosiness
Liked least: Slight angle on some rooms.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views from the open plan living area.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike other than there is a long wait to book in May again!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing