We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great place to stay with good seafood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langass Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Langass Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A great place to stay with good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Langass Lodge is in a delightful rural location down it's own single track road, with access to moor and coastal walks. We had room 7 which is large and on the ground floor. Notable features were a large china teapot and mugs for tea making, a choice of a duvet, blanket or rug style cover for the bed (which also had a sheet) and a good shower.

The service was friendly but patchy. We had good fresh seafood for dinner with ample portions, vegetable were average quality. For breakfast don't miss the famous Stornoway black pudding, which was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 7 on the ground floor is designed to accommodate disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    84
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
40
211
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The room was fantastic along with most of the staff.
Food was great but the prices were skyhigh and if you dont order a starter with your dinner, you will leave the restaurant hungry. We ordered the beef which was cooked to near perfection but for £23 I expected more food than the amount that was delivered on my plate.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anja Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Uist, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Went for lunch on 15 July with my brother, sister and partner. We were given 2 menus and when I asked for another 2 I was told the receptionist was making an important call and couldn't print more. Menu was limited to 2 soups, 3 main cold dishes & only ice cream for dessert. Portions were small and prices were large (£9.45 for ploughmans lunch which consisted of 3 small pieces of cheese, very small portion of salmon, half slice terrine, 3 small slices of apple, small portion chutney). Food was average, my partner had salmon pate which tasted bland. I complained and was then confronted by the chef who told me it was good scottish food and if I wasn't satisfied not to come back. Before leaving friends passed our table and we were discussing our disappointing lunch when the chef re-entered the lounge and said we had no right to discuss our dissatisfaction with others..... I'm sure my complaint wasn't the first.. I've decided to take the chef's advice - I won't be back nor recommending the cuisine ..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alaistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uistIwasthere, Manager at Langass Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir
Please would you thank your kind Brother and Sister for the flowers and chocolates they gave to my staff yesterday, together with their apologies for your behaviour.

As advertised, we serve a freshly prepared "light Lunch" highlighting local seafood. I understand that this is not to your liking and gather from your comments that my staff will not have to endure such rudeness again.

Thank you
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Weird experience for me and my wife.
Room was spacious, comfy and nice.
Bathroom with a nice tub.
The hotel also have great foot paths close to the hotel which we used.
Breakfast was good, but not outstanding due to slow service from our waitress.
We reserved table both evenings we stayed here, and we were forgotten both days by the serving staff. The food was great, but you need a starter to get enough food.

All in all an odd experience, since we liked the hotel, its location and the food.
But we could have had it much better.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jcl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently spent a fantastic five nights here and what a brilliant find this place is. The sign outside says they specialise in sea food so we were expecting something a little special. The room was airy spacious and clean and the double glazing effectively kept out the howling wind The staff are really friendly and happy to point out the good walks and hidden places. the food was really excellent the kitchen team obviously take real pride in their constantly evolving menu. it is not an extensive menu but because it changes every night that is not a problem. we dined on lobster, smoked scallops salt cod and much more the fish was little short of fantastic. don't be put off if you're not into fish because the steak, venison and black faced lamb were truly sublime. even the breakfast was brilliant with the best scrambled egg my partner has ever had. the kitchen are the real stars of this lovely little place and deserve a mention particularly for our really special last night meal. I'm looking forward to my next visit

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visited Langass Lodge again last week having not been for a few months and I have to say it was spectacular as always.

The Chefs always keep the menu in a league of its own.

The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful.

One of my favourite places around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 375NoLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

this is a wonderful location, with great food, and accomodation in the newer part is excellent
if you fish, this is the place to stay for good advice and access to the best places
the homely atmosphere is charming although the drinks are a little expensive but this is the norm on the hebrides

Room Tip: book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtthuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hillstone Lodge
Hillstone Lodge
#1 of 3 in Colbost
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
23.7 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 8 in Glendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Langass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langass Lodge

Property: Langass Lodge
Address: Locheport, HS6 5HA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in North Uist
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Langass Hotel North Uist
Langass Lodge North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing