We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday home in a stunning location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach just down from our house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The beach just down from our house
Sunset from our Lounge
St Kilda View Point
Lobster Pot
Garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LouiseW88...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best holiday home in a stunning location”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Thank you for a wonder stay in your immaculate and beautiful home (special thank you to your housekeeper, Alice). On arrival the house was lovely and warm and very welcoming with everything that you could wish for and more. A very well equipped kitchen; comfortable furniture and great bathrooms. We very much enjoyed the numerous stunning beaches around North Uist. We had glorious weather for our trip over to the Isle of Harris and even managed to get to see the magical Callanish stones on Lewis. One week wasn't really long enough to see all the sites, appreciate the array of wildlife; enjoy the walks and last but by no means least enjoy the tranquillity of Tranquil Sands. We would very much like to return. Thanks so much Mark & May.

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the the time to write it. I have passed on your comments to Alice as I know she works hard at keeping our house clean for all our guests. So glad that even though it was only March you still had good weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E258FQjon...
Evanton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in great location”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in this beautiful house for a week at the end of February, we were so lucky with the weather for the time of year, even managed to sit having lunch in the sunshine with the patio doors open on one day, not bad for the time of year. The house is in a great location, very peaceful with a beautiful beach just a short walk away. Great base for touring around the Uists and Benbecula, we were lucky with the amount of wildlife we saw from seals, geese, lapwings, although the pesky otters still managed to evade us. The interior of the house is really stylish, comfortable furniture and the shower is fantastic. The house is really warm, the nest thermostat makes controlling the temperature really easy, making it simple to get the house to the temperature you find comfortable. Mark was a great help in getting out booking organised at short notice and really helpful once we were in the house.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. We are so glad you had a great time and even had good weather to sit outside in February! I still havent seen the otters and yet a lot of guests have hopefully you will next time.
Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayleyt27...
Bawburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in fantastic location”
Reviewed December 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I really enjoyed my stay in this beautiful holiday home, it provided me with a comfortable sanctuary in which to write and draw! The house is perfect, with a great modern kitchen and a bath and shower to die for! Comfortable sofas and and a very comfortable bed. I couldn't have asked for more so thank you very much.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2016
We are so glad you had a relaxing time and that you enjoyed the facilties we offer. We would like to thank you for leaving the house spotlessly clean and for taking the time to write such a lovely honest review for us, it is very much appreciated and helps to give future guests a customers perspective.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulbunch
1 review
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Simply the best holiday accomodation we have ever had in the 20 years holidaying in Scotland. Everything you need and more for the perfect holiday. A real jewel in the crown of North Uist. There is not enough stars to give above, needless to say a definate 10 out of 10 for us. Our friends and colleagues have been very impressed that such luxury exists outside the mainland. We would recommend anyone to try the peace,quiet and luxury this property attains. Cant wait to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you for such a humbling review. It is so nice that we can have such lovely people like yourselves that have such a wonderful time in North Uist and appreciate our house and leave it spotlessy clean as if it was their own. THANK YOU
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Fantastic house in beautiful location”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second visit to Tranquil Sands and it is the best dog friendly house we have stayed in. It is beautifully furnished, well equipped and very clean. North Uist is lovely and the beaches are spectacular. The beach near the house is fantastic for walking and catching some great sunsets! I would highly recommend this house for a great holiday in a beautiful and peaceful setting. Highly recommended by our dog too!

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review we do try :-). You just cant beat the stunning sunsets wether it is from the beach or from the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous, comfortable holiday home in a great location.”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Tranquil sands gave us a superb base for our holiday on North Uist. It was clean, tidy and had everything you could wish for to make our holiday special.
North Uist itself was a great location. We saw lots of wild life, some from the windows of Tranquil Sands and loved the stunning beaches and turquoise sea. We would love to return.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments we are just so happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our house on North Uist and the fact that you managed to see so much wildlife, Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dotpendre...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home in a stunning location”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our third trip to Tranquil Sands which is a very special house on North Uist. We had one week of exceptional weather and the second week was fairly good most of the time and not a midge in sight. The house has been beautifully extended and is very relaxing. Roll on August 2017 when we will return.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are always grateful when guests like yourselves who take the time to write about their experiences staying in our house on our beautiful Island of North Uist It was also nice hear you didnt see a single midge!!! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing