We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat from our busy lives!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Creagan Ruadh

Creagan Ruadh Hougharry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Creagan Ruadh Hougharry
Lounge Upstairs Double Bedroom with Sea View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Creagan Ruadh Hougharry
Lounge
Upstairs Double Bedroom with Sea View
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Sunset
Beach
Beach
Sunset
View from back door to the North
Upper floor twin bedded room
Upper floor twin bedded room
View from rear of the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
North Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jane A s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat from our busy lives!”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, beach on our doorstep, watched an otter fishing, awesome! The house was comfortable and very well equipped, could not have wished for better. Our ferry was cancelled on our day of departure but the owner very kindly let us stay for another day. We would love to visit again some time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizJenner
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creagan Ruadh - an absolute gem!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was the most lovely cottage with the rocks and beach as your garden and the most magnificent view to St Kilda. All amenities were there and Gordon the owner was very accommodating and just lovely. We will definitely be back here, a great base to stunning beaches of Traigh Iar and Hosta Machair, and Beneray is an absolute must visit.

Thank you so very much, we'll see you soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDSAY P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishermans Dream”
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

House is well situated with views to St Kilda. Accommodation was ideal with drying room and spacious kitchen and dining room. Rooms al comfortable. Excellent trout loch fishing close by and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to respond. Glad you enjoyed your stay and trust you managed a good catch when out fishing. Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thanks for the positive feedback - glad you enjoyed the holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah T
1 review
“Comfortable House in superb position”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A warm, comfortable house that provided everything we needed. The location is superb . Being interested in wildlife, we were particularly excited to see Sea eagles, otters and St Kilda from the kitchen window!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was a very well equipped house
The aspect onto the Atlantic Ocean could not be bettered
Easy access to the Uists Benbecula and Barra
We were able to see the plane arriving at Barra airport ie the beach!!
Very relaxing - sorry to leave
Peace and tranquility in abundance

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“From the Caribbean to North Uist”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We choose this destination to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary, the location of the cottage, far exceeded our expectations (see pics) sunset's, sandy beaches and great weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Close to the sea!
Liked least: Only one bathroom, situated downstairs at the far end of the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing