We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Seven day Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rowan Tree

The Rowan Tree
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rowan Tree
Ranked #6 of 16 North Uist B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seven day Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first stay on the Outer Hebrides and our seven day stay at the Rowan Tree, looked after by Linda and Alistair, turned out to be a special time.
A large, spacious, well decorated, double room, with loads of storage space was our home for the week and the stunning views out of the window even included glimpses of St Kilda.
There is the usual problem of sound-proofing between bedrooms/en-suites but this is becoming the norm especially in more modern properties.
Breakfasts were good and included eggs from the hens found roaming the back garden but the real bonus, in an area where there are not too many places to obtain dinner, was Alistair's willingness to cook an evening meal.
These simple repasts may seem a little pricey until you factor in the cost of driving to a not so local eatery!
Tourist information was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble for Linda.
If you are heading for North Uist then give The Rowan Tree a try.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinandTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
49
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here on a cycle tour of the Outer Hebrides. Everything you could ask for - welcoming, comfortable with a wonderful evening meal. Stunning views from my window where I could also see the chickens providing my breakfast. The only thing Linda could not organise was the weather! I stayed mainly in hotels on my trip and this classy B&B was far superior to all of them. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A trip to the local co-op about half a mile away will let you buy wine to go with your evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights inThe RowanTree and had a great time. We were made to feel very welcome by Linda. Rooms were both of good size & ensuite. However, the twin room has amazing view over to the nearby beach. The advantage of this guest house is they offer dinner. Thoroughly recommend it - 2 courses for £14 incl tea & coffee. The food was of very high quality and home made. Linda does let you know what the dinner will be so gives you a opportunity to say if you do not like it etc. Breakfast is also of very high quality & lots of choice to suit everyone's taste.

We would recommend this b&b to anyone who is travelling to the Uists & would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The twinroom is the bigger of the rooms on the 1st floor with a fab view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theweeyin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A pleasant B+B with a friendly host who makes you feel most welcome.

Restaurants and eateries are few and far between on the island. We, therefore also booked an evening meal at the Rowan Tree. No choice offered ....it was Spagbol or starve with banoffie pie to follow.

I thought that the evening meal was a bit on the pricy side for what it was. There was nowhere else to have a meal. We could not be very choosy. They have a captive audience when it comes to Evening Meals

We had bedroom 2 which was spotlessly clean. It has good en suite facilities but no bath

Bedroom 2 was quite small but held the World Record for the number of draws. There were twenty draws in all. I did not have that amount of luggage with me. Come to think about it I don't have that many clothes at home.

Breakfast was well cooked and well presented. The breakfast was too much for me

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip through the Hebrides, and were made to feel very welcome, Our room was comfortable and clean, containing everything we required. The breakfasts supplied were excellent and the coffee machine a real wonder of the world. We took advantage of an evening meal one night and were pleased with it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We arrived at 8pm Sunday evening on our first visit to the Western Isles and Linda welcomed us in and provided us with an excellent meal. We only realised later how exceptional this was since almost everything is shut on a Sunday on the isles. We stayed three nights and found the ensuite bedroom comfortable, quiet and very well equipped. The location near to Lochmaddy is convenient being the ferry port and only town on North Uist. RSPB Balranald reserve is 20 minutes drive away and well worth a visit. The dining room, for breakfast and evening meal, looks out to the sea past the chickens that provide eggs for breakfast. We had a second evening meal which was also excellent and the owners are quite happy for you to bring wine to drink with the meal. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at The Rowan Tree twice in the autumn going to and fro from Barra and we couldn't have been more pleased . Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful, we had very restful nights and the food was great. We would particularly recommend the evening meals which are beautifully cooked and very reasonably priced beyond the fact that it's a long days march to the nearest restaurant ! You're not far from lovely beaches and the peace is well worth experiencing.
We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on Uist.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MacShimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rowan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Property: The Rowan Tree
Address: 4b Middlequarter | Sollas, HS6 5BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing