We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B we have stayed in.”
Review of The Rowan Tree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rowan Tree
Ranked #6 of 13 North Uist B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The double room in this new house was beautifully decorated & tastefully furnished. The breakfasts were superb with lots of choice. We thought that because Solas is isolated we may have problems with evening meals but not when the hosts are happy to present lovely meals at very reasonable prices. Linda & Alistair are certain to to do very well in their new venture.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent one night here and had a big, comfortable upstairs room. The place was clean and tidy. We'd booked in for an evening meal which was simple (spaghetti bol) but well prepared. Linda looked after us well. We slept soundly and followed up with a great breakfast. The place is terrific value. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dbossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A very warm welcome and an excellent bedroom made this a very enjoyable place in which to stay. The room and bathroom would not be out of place in a 4* hotel and the chocolate on top of the towels was a further friendly touch. A wide selection of DVD's is available in the hallway and guests can view these in their room if they so choose, DVD players being in place.

North Uist offers a number of magnificent beaches and whilst the sea could not be said to be Mediterranean in temperature a walk along the beach followed by a paddle is very invigorating.

Whilst Sollas is perhaps a little isolated, nowhere in Uist is that far from anywhere else so that fact should not be a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had a nice stay here,with very comfortable room and a good sized ensuite,It is a good base for touring from with magnificent beaches nearby,although it is reasonably isolated,it is quiet which is a nice change.We had an evening meal here,which was a bit of a let down,Spaghetti Bol,in an area where the seafood is superb,but that was the only fault.
Mal& Celia Collins, Victoria Australia

Room Tip: excellent & Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Can't fault this B and B - clean, pleasant owners and good breakfasts. You do need to be aware though that it is quite an isolated place and half an hour from nearest pub although I understand that they do do evening meals on request.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheffieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Overnight stop on our island hopping holiday. Out of 6 overnighters, most comfortable bedroom, fantastic bathroom and wonderful evening meal eaten in room with fabulous views watching lambs playing and hens going about their business. Linda was very welcoming and the great food continued with a hearty breakfast (the kippers were great) allserved on immaculate white linen (as was the evening meal). The house is only 20 mins from ferry terminal at Berneay and a perfect spot to break your journey.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were only booked in for one night but weather made us decide to stay for two! Welcome offered by host was very friendly, warm and sunny! Room was well appointed and very comfortable. The lounge area on the landing available for guest use was lovely with a bookcase and table full of local guides, books and information - plus an array of DVDs available for guest use.
The evening meal booked was very good - of a good standard. We watched on as the owners attempted to round up their chickens for the night but the birds were having none of it - much hilarity and enjoyment had - not sure the chickens agree though!!
Slept very well in the very comfortable bed - really did not want to get up!! Breakfast was lovely - the owner provides a good spread including local kippers and home-produced eggs - with the best coloured yolks I have ever seen! The coffee machine has more buttons than your average computer and provides proper, fresh ground coffee to taste - excellent! You will be invited to help yourself as we suspect that the owners do not fully understand the full variety of brews available!! But this adds to the charm and enjoyment of the Rowan Tree.
Highly recommended and would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earpy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rowan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowan Tree

Address: 4b Middlequarter | Sollas, HS6 5BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Rowan Tree North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing