We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Shop House

Old Shop House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Shop House
Ranked #10 of 16 North Uist B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A lovely B&B in a quiet area. Very pleasant, welcoming owners (and their pets). A clean bright room with everything we needed. A good breakfast. I would highly recommend this to others. We would be pleased to re-visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were welcomed warmly by the proprietor who knows the area well and has good local knowledge. The location is easy to find although not close to any restaurants - to be fair unless you are staying in Loch Maddy or at a Guest House serving evening meals, an evening meal is going to be a drive away anyway on North Uist.

We stayed for one night, the room was flexible in that it has a double and a single bed but it was therefore quite crowded, the bathroom was not as clean as might be hoped and there was a slight odour of cat or dog in the room masked by pot pourri or similar.

The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful with good choices including yoghurt and fruit.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A lovely b&b. We stayed here one night while travelling through the Western Isles. A lovely welcome when we arrived. Clean rooms, with comfy beds & both were ensuite. Great breakfast & close to the beach. I would definitely recommend this, can't fault it at all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friesland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Although the B&B is located in a rather remote area I enjoyed my stay. Decent breakfast and very friendly owners. If you travel by public transport, like myself, the location has it's limitations when one has to organize an evening meal for instance but when there weren't any buses available anymore the landlady was kind enough to collect us from the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroueReade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Shop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Shop House

Property: Old Shop House
Address: Bayhead, HS6 5DS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Old Shop House North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing