We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, informal and great breakfast”
Review of Redburn House

Redburn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redburn House
Ranked #11 of 13 North Uist B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, informal and great breakfast”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed one night at Redburn House en route to the ferry last summer. We were very comfortable in the twin room at the back of the house, which I remember had a really good shower. As the only guests we had a lovely time in the morning with the super big kitchen all to ourselves and we really appreciated the variety and quality of the 'help yourself' breakfast. Just what we like in the rnorning.

We did panic a bit when we arrived, couldn't get a mobile phone signal to call the house manager and found the nearby public one out of order. However, we went over to Carn Dearg where the receptionist kindly let me borrow her landline to make the call. Perhaps worth alerting guests to this issue and suggesting where a call can be made from?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBunny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I cannot say enough about Redburn, the service was second to none, and they really went the extra mile, literally as the owner gave us a lift to and back to a restaurant 5 miles away!! The room had a beautiful seaview and was clean and well equipped. The DIY breakfast had a huge selection and the come when you like was perfect for our needs, will def be back and can't recommend highly enough. To top it all the weather was good and the whole island beautiful.

Room Tip: seaview double was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wescotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the Studio annexe for 4 nights. We found the previous (2010) reviews misleading. Agree about the 'absent' manager and needing a mobile phone signal tocontact her as mentioned in general reviews about the B&B facility. Again, our experience differed from recent users of the B&B facility. We found the Studio grubby and uncomfortable. No CD/DVD as advertised and the WiFi connection was fragile to say the least. We chose the Studio because we wanted self-catering, however, the kitchen needed a thorough clean and de-grease, previous guests had obviously had fry-ups, etc. However, whoever cleans the place overlooks the cooker and its surrounds. Also it doesn't seem that the mattress was replaced!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Pen3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I took a group to N.uist for 3 days. Having stayed here before I knew the ground floor layout would be ideal for my group of 5. 3 in rooms to themselves and myself and friend sharing a twin room. We had the run of the ground floor including kitchen where we came and went as we pleased, sorting our own continental breakfasts from prepared rations in the fridge. Being on a birding trip with pre breakfast birding, the flexibility of the breakfast suited us. The rooms were all good sized and clean although the bathroom in my room was very narrow with a shelf above the basin making shaving/ washing difficult. However the shower was refreshingly powerful.

The only major downside here depends on who occupies the first floor self catering accommodation above. During our stay a group of men came back late, noisly from the pub then playing music and talking until 4am- our group were up at 5am. In summary great location, good flexible accommodation/ breakfast but others renting the other rooms/ properties on site can spoil your stay however I'll be back for a 5th stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_GoneBirding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in May and had 3 rooms - lovely location with good views of the bay at the front. Rooms are very clean and we enjoyed the continental style of breakfast as a break from a fully cooked breakfast in the other B&Bs we stayed in. Only criticism is we had booked 2 rooms with double bed and single (twin for 2 people) however single bed was a camping bed which were not very comfortable so we found it easier to sleep on the floor. Double beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I always try to stay here on my trips to the Island- so handy for the ferry, the pub, and the shop, and has a bus stop practically outside. The views across the bay to Skye are beautiful.
I like the clean and comfortable rooms and always get a great night’s sleep. There is a definite 'home-from home' atmosphere in the warm and homely breakfasting room, where the help-yourself breakfast can be as small or as large as you like : I find it a welcome break from the usual full Scottish fry- up.
The pay phone in the front hall is also handy for the times when there’s no mobile signal!
Maggie the manager is very welcoming and helpful, and as Redburn House is more like a small hotel than a private B&B you don’t get that 'creeping about in someone else's house' feeling when staying there, I would definitely recommend it for the less cosseted and more independent traveler!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Lovely, warm, clean rooms and welcoming owner BUT breakfast left overnight in the fridge was not appealing. I feel that Redburn House charges hotel prices for a bed & breakfast service. Unfortunately also had quite noisy stag party in flat above.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
24.5 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
24.9 mi away
Tullochard House
Tullochard House
#3 of 10 in Dunvegan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redburn House

Property: Redburn House
Address: Lochmaddy, HS6 5AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redburn House is ideally and centrally located in Lochmaddy. There are 4 letting e/s bedrooms, 3 with double beds and 1 with twin beds. Additional comfortable single sized folding beds are available and can be added in two of the double rooms at an additional cost of £10/£20 per night (under 12 /over 12) The quoted cost is for 1 night B&B in a double room. Single occupation of any room is available at 62.5% of the double rooom rate. Redburn House also provides self-catering accommodation in the Studio ( sleeps 1-2-3), The Boathouse cottage (sleeps 1-4 ) , The Sunrise Apartment (sleeps 1- 12 in 5 bedrooms) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redburn House North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing