We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab uist” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bagh Alluin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagh Alluin
Ranked #1 of 15 North Uist B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab uist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a great time on our stay with Jac, who treats you more like a friend than a paying guest, a very pleasant man, with a lot of local knowledge.

It is a lovely bright house, with plenty of space, we had an upstairs room with 3 windows,each window pointed to a different compass point, it was fantastic panoramic views over the landscape , sea, and local wildlife.

A very friendly place to stay, and we would happily go back, for his excellent breakfast's.

Room Tip: The room downstairs, has equally fantastic views over the landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrydon1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
105
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Freising, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I travelled on my own and spent 8 days at Bagh Alluin. Jac was the perfect host, making it easy for me to feel welcome. His house is incredible with lots of light and space and so are his guestrooms, very spacious and pure without any clutter. I could easily have spent the whole 8 days, sitting in that comfy chair, watching the sheep, the landscape and the sun setting, but did of course not.
It was a great experience running 10 km on the beach or from Sollas back to Bagh Alluin for that matter, climbing Eaval and the views from the top were spectacular and watching the seals and being watched by them in return on the Monach Islands was an absolute fascinating experience.
Thank you Jac, for making the holiday one to remember. Doesn't matter if you are travelling on your own, as a couple or family, I can only recommend staying with Jac at Bagh Alluin!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lundin links
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were so fortunate to find this wonderful B&B with the help of the tourist office as Jac is not a member and oh what a find he is the most wonderful host and a very talented artist it took our breath away as we entered the house.A fabulous bedroom and en-suite with stunning views.In the morning we were served with a beautiful continental breakfast . We were sorry to leave but should we return it would be first on our list of B&B to stay in.Definately 5 *

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed with JAC at Bagh Alluin recently and it really was like visiting an old friend! In fact we came away after a couple of days convinced that we had known JAC for years and in the certain knowledge that we would see him again before too long! Right from the start of our visit, he made us so very welcome and we enjoyed every minute of it all.
Bagh Alluin is just such a different bed and breakfast experience! A wonderful bedroom with huge windows, looking out across the machair towards the sea, with sheep grazing right outside the window and some of JAC's very unique paintings on the walls! The bathroom was well appointed and the shower was just one of the best and simplest we have ever come across - with loads of hot water and large towels to wrap oneself in after a shower - brilliant!
JAC's house is absolutely unique and wonderful all at the same time, with wonderful views of the surrounding landscape on a 270 degrees basis, whilst displaying his incredible artwork all at the same time!
The nights are so quiet, there was no problem in sleeping and an early morning cup of tea, looking out over that view, was such a restful start to the day!
JAC's continental breakfasts were simply brilliant, with cereals, hot rolls, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, tomatoes, coffee, tea and toast - and chat! We enjoyed all of it - and JAC!
JAC is a very talented artist who has done a wide variety of things throughout his life and we enjoyed hearing about some of them. We were also delighted to meet his son CAJ who was just finishing university in Glasgow!
Bagh Alluin at 21 Baleshare was an excellent centre for exploring North Uist, while the island of Baleshare itself, is well worth further exploration - lots of little roads and quiet corners!
We just enjoyed it all - and JAC was very much responsible for that!
Thank you JAC, we will be back again in the future, nothing surer - and we are already looking forward to that next time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We are about to finish our cycling trip from Barra to Stornoway, catching the ferry to Ullapool tomorrow morning. We have had a wonderful time, the weather has been brilliant and the highlight of our trip has been our stay at Jac's place. Everybody visiting North Uist MUST simply stay with Jac. He is a fantastic host, you feel as if you are visiting an old friend. One night there simply was not enough and we are already planning to return next summer (June time Jac!). The house, location and Jac's beautiful art work add to the experience and we are not surprised he gets many repeat visits. Unlike a previous reviewer, we found it refreshing to have a continental breakfast. It was extremely plentiful and delicious. A great place indeed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

On my fourth visit to stay at Bagh Alluin, Baile Sear, and as always I was welcomed by Jac to his beautifully-designed house filled with his inspiring works of art (Jac is an artist).

Wherever you come from, and whatever your background, you will be given a warm welcome by Jac. Bagh Alluin is a great place to relax and a good base from which to explore North Uist, Benbecula and South Uist.

The Uists have some fantastic beaches, but one of the nicest beaches is on Baile Sear itself and within walking distance of Bagh Alluin.

Room Tip: Jac has two guest rooms and both are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northernlight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The previous review points to some features about this B&B that some visitors may not appreciate. Our recent experience here would suggest that anyone that leaves Jac without having had a wonderful time would be difficult to please indeed. One of the joys of this sort of accommodation is diversity and Jac has chosen to run his business with some differences to the standard B&B experience. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable and welcoming, the advice from Jac on the local area well researched and comprehensive, the food of a high standard and the location and access to local highlights and restaurants excellent. Jac has got great taste in red wine and will be sad to know that the boots left behind by my wife and returned by him after a brief but successful car chase were left again three B&B's later without such a happy ending and so remain in Scotland. This is a great base to explore North Uist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
0.0 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bagh Alluin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagh Alluin

Property: Bagh Alluin
Address: 21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagh Alluin North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing