We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”
Review of Bagh Alluin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagh Alluin
Ranked #1 of 13 North Uist B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
355 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The previous review points to some features about this B&B that some visitors may not appreciate. Our recent experience here would suggest that anyone that leaves Jac without having had a wonderful time would be difficult to please indeed. One of the joys of this sort of accommodation is diversity and Jac has chosen to run his business with some differences to the standard B&B experience. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable and welcoming, the advice from Jac on the local area well researched and comprehensive, the food of a high standard and the location and access to local highlights and restaurants excellent. Jac has got great taste in red wine and will be sad to know that the boots left behind by my wife and returned by him after a brief but successful car chase were left again three B&B's later without such a happy ending and so remain in Scotland. This is a great base to explore North Uist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraftonRiverguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
109
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

In visiting Bagh Alluin visitors need to be aware of what is actually on offer here. As most reviewers say Jac is a hospitable and friendly host and much of what he does is fine. A particularly striking feature are his paintings which hang in the bedroom. But there are features of this B & B which are unusual and may not suit everybody. The large downstairs room is certainly spacious but not everybody will like the painted concrete floor which gives a rather clinical feel. Jac does not belong to the Visit Scotland accommodation classification scheme and so certain usual features are missing - e.g. no electric razor socket in the shower room, only one pillow per person and most surprisingly no room service during our three night stay - in other words you make your own bed and the waste bins remain unemptied for three days. Only one easy chair is provided (plus a small table and dining chairs) so if you want to relax in the evening you have to lie on the bed. As noted by many reviewers there is no cooked breakfast on offer so no porridge or bacon and egg. Other B&Bs we have stayed in offer most of the breakfast choices on offer here plus the usual cooked items. Bagh Alluin is located a few miles from the main north south Uist Road and therefore not that close to eating places for evening meals. Also the impression given of the house almost overlooking the beach is a little misleading. The immediate surroundings are fields with only a distant view of the sea (that's from the ground floor room): the beach is about a mile drive away. For this the room rate was the highest we paid on a recent trip to the Western Isles staying at 5 highly rated TA places.

Despite these misgivings we did enjoy our visit and agree with other reviewers about Jac. However I am convinced that his B & B will not be to everyone's taste although this would not be the impression given by reading all the glowing reviews.

Room Tip: The ground floor room has a semi private entrance; whereas the upstairs room is accessed through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boat of Garten, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I recently travelled through the Western Isles and stayed at several highly recommended hotels with lots of stars and good reviews. However, Bagh Alluin was far better than any of them and less than half the price of most. The comfort, hospitality and welcome were outstanding, the room and its setting were superb and the breakfast was better than most hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for a night while on a short tour of Uist and Barra. This was definitely the best place we stayed at. Beautiful location close to an awesome beach; clean, airy, light rooms; great breakfast; and Jac was a fantastic host. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoLondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This B&B is run by Jac. He is an amazing individual who truly makes your stay excellent. He truly makes you feel welcome and at home. He provides you with an uncompromising stay and puts out an amazing spread for your breakfast, which gives you the energy to truly appreciate how beautiful North Uist is. The rooms and facilities were excellent; they were clean, spacious and comfortable. We stayed for two unforgettable nights.

If you want Jac will make you reservations at any of the local restaurants, he also knows which are best, which is recommended as they can be quite full and there is no takeaway on the island, ask him about it his stories about people trying to get takeaway at 10pm are a good laugh.

In summary staying here really made the trip worthwhile and made the whole experience a lasting memory. I know where I will choose to stay for any trips to North Uist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fantastic place to stay.

The views out from the downstairs room are amazing. I didn't bother shutting the blinds just so that I could be woken to it each morning. The room was extremely well kitted out, light and spacious.

Jac is a fantastic host. A real feeling of being welcomed into his house but with more than enough space to not feel uncomfortable or claustrophobic.

I only stayed 2 nights. Would dearly loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Downstairs room has the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfifergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Bagh Alluin for 3 nights in August 2013 and would highly recommend it to others. The B&B is lovely, clean and spacious and in a great location. Most reviews praise Jac, the owner, and we couldn't fault him. He really is a mine of information and was incredibly hospitable, looking after all our culinary wishes.

North Uist is also a lovely part of the Outer Hebrides and I only wish that we'd had more time to stay and explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bagh Alluin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagh Alluin

Property: Bagh Alluin
Address: 21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagh Alluin North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing