We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Simply the best. Truly unforgettable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagh Alluin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagh Alluin
Save
You added Bagh Alluin to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 16 North Uist B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Simply the best. Truly unforgettable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This B&B is run by Jac. He is an amazing individual who truly makes your stay excellent. He truly makes you feel welcome and at home. He provides you with an uncompromising stay and puts out an amazing spread for your breakfast, which gives you the energy to truly appreciate how beautiful North Uist is. The rooms and facilities were excellent; they were clean, spacious and comfortable. We stayed for two unforgettable nights.

If you want Jac will make you reservations at any of the local restaurants, he also knows which are best, which is recommended as they can be quite full and there is no takeaway on the island, ask him about it his stories about people trying to get takeaway at 10pm are a good laugh.

In summary staying here really made the trip worthwhile and made the whole experience a lasting memory. I know where I will choose to stay for any trips to North Uist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
100
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fantastic place to stay.

The views out from the downstairs room are amazing. I didn't bother shutting the blinds just so that I could be woken to it each morning. The room was extremely well kitted out, light and spacious.

Jac is a fantastic host. A real feeling of being welcomed into his house but with more than enough space to not feel uncomfortable or claustrophobic.

I only stayed 2 nights. Would dearly loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Downstairs room has the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfifergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Bagh Alluin for 3 nights in August 2013 and would highly recommend it to others. The B&B is lovely, clean and spacious and in a great location. Most reviews praise Jac, the owner, and we couldn't fault him. He really is a mine of information and was incredibly hospitable, looking after all our culinary wishes.

North Uist is also a lovely part of the Outer Hebrides and I only wish that we'd had more time to stay and explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Uist, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is run by Jac - a Dutch artist who has lived in North Uist for the past 10 years or so. He is a mine of information, particularly regarding the wildlife in the area. The place doesn't look much from the outside but once inside it is wonderfully light, spacious and clean. Our room was huge with the most incredible views. Breakfast was a sumptuous feast. This is definitely where I shall stay when I am next in North Uist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic house in a fantastic location presided over by the perfect host. The room we had was large, open and overlooked the machair with the sea in the distance. In our room there were lots of reference books about the local flora and fauna which was very helpful. Jac is a warm, generous host and made us feel very welcome starting with a lovely glass of cold beer when we arrived through to the delicious breakfasts which offered Scottish and continental options. He also gave us very helpful advice about where to go and what to see. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Jac provides a warm welcome, a wonderful location and comfort in a clean-lined modern house. This would be a great place to spend longer than we had. Local hotels offer high quality food. And the skies are huge!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This year, as other years, again the best possible holiday one can wish. Peacefull, quit, fresh air, great views, nice weather, good beds, room to move. Etc
The best place on the edge of Europe!!! Jac is a great host AND painter. See you again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bertus-veldhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Uist
89.4 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
63.8 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagh Alluin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagh Alluin

Property: Bagh Alluin
Address: 21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagh Alluin North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing