We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”
Review of Bagh Alluin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bagh Alluin
Ranked #1 of 13 North Uist B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic house in a fantastic location presided over by the perfect host. The room we had was large, open and overlooked the machair with the sea in the distance. In our room there were lots of reference books about the local flora and fauna which was very helpful. Jac is a warm, generous host and made us feel very welcome starting with a lovely glass of cold beer when we arrived through to the delicious breakfasts which offered Scottish and continental options. He also gave us very helpful advice about where to go and what to see. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Jac provides a warm welcome, a wonderful location and comfort in a clean-lined modern house. This would be a great place to spend longer than we had. Local hotels offer high quality food. And the skies are huge!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This year, as other years, again the best possible holiday one can wish. Peacefull, quit, fresh air, great views, nice weather, good beds, room to move. Etc
The best place on the edge of Europe!!! Jac is a great host AND painter. See you again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertus-veldhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I fully agree with the previous comments ... this is a really great place to stay on Baleshare. The rooms are spacious with big windows and great views. The breakfasts were delicious and a welcome change from the traditional eggs, bacon etc that we had in hotels. Jac was a lovely host and I really liked his paintings dotted around the walls. I hope to go back ... thank you from the three of us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJO29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was just such a perfect place to be on Baleshare, North Uist. Jac was great as a host and his house is such an inspiration, we were free to come and go as we pleased. We enjoyed the chat over an impromptu glass of wine and the offer of freshly caught BBQ fish.
The room was spacious with plenty of space to relax. Tea and coffee and chocolates were available in the room. I enjoyed the upstairs far reaching views of the different vistas. Plenty of books to read or gain inspiration from, as well as Jac's artwork on the walls.
The bathroom was modern with a powerful over bath shower. Luxury soap, etc. was there for use...good choice Jac!
Breakfast gave plenty of variety with fruit, cereals, cheese, yogurts and meat available. Oh and his home baked bread! When he learnt I was vegetarian he prepared grilled tomatoes with cheese as an extra.
If you want some where quiet to stay, close to the beach with beautiful walks, this is the place!
Thankyou Jac and Caj for making us welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuthbertsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

An excellent B&B run by a welcoming, helpful and informed host. I won't repeat the comments of reviewers below about the rooms, what's on offer, etc; suffice it to say I endorse them. Would I like to return here - yes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I have been staying with Jac (and son Caj, and daughter Senna when around: + dog, cat and chickens) at the start of summer for a number of years now, and it's definately home from home. Jac is a wonderful man who is the perfect host. The house itself is of fabulous design, with windows ceiling to floor in the downstair guest room, with wonderful vast views of a sky dominated landscape. Sitting on the bench outside and at the rear of the building all that can be heard are birds singing; no road/traffic noise or anything else. It's so restful and theraputic. Views from the upstairs large beautiful bedroom are also stunning (see my photo). Breakfast is also something to look forward to. We usually settle for a contental breakfast with cereals, fruit juices, hams, cheeses, jams, chopped fresh fruit, excellent filter coffee, hot freshly baked bread etc etc. Its an absolutely fabulous place to stay and so stress relieving. We're already waiting for our next trip there. Thank you Jac and Caj for another wonderful time with you. Roy & Jean M

Room Tip: Both the downstairs and upstairs rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyoftheRovers676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bagh Alluin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagh Alluin

Address: 21 Baleshare, HS6 5HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > North Uist
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in North Uist
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bagh Alluin North Uist, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing