We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in the mist” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dark Island Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dark Island Hotel
Save
You added Dark Island Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liniclate, HS7 5PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Haven in the mist”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Dark Isle on our cycle trip through the Hebrides. We arrived on the only day that we'd had constant rain and mist so we were very glad when we saw the hotel looming out of the mist! The room was comfortable and the bath most welcome after our soggy cycle ride from Lochmaddy.

We ate in the bar and had good hearty meals, I had fish pie with loads of scallops, very tasty. Mr Woodcock had steak pie. All good stuff to refuel us for our cycle ride the next day. The portions were so big we couldn't manage a pudding.

The hotel is near the airport so the clientele is mixed, tourists, business men and tradesmen but seemed to cater for all needs.

The hotel is right next to the sea and a very large windmill.

The staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The noise of the windmill may disturb some people so go for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HattyDebbyDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    52
    37
    32
See reviews for
18
78
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Just arrived back from a weeks stay in Benbecula. We stay at this hotel and found it to be a very pleasant place. All staff where very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was spacious and very clean, housemaids maintained the room keeping it fresh on a daily basis. The food was of a good quality, portions where generous and there was a good choice of local food. we sat in the lounge bar which was more than comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Set a short walk away from a beautiful beach of silvery sand the Dark Island Hotel is perfectly placed for visits to all parts of the surrounding islands. On our arrival we climbed the stairs to our room which overlooked the football field and the giant windmill.The room itself, though small, was perfectly adequate for our two night stay, with good facilities. The food we were served during our stay was of a reasonable quality but served in very small portions with little choice. Certainly after our visit to the Caladh Inn in Stornaway, this hotel came out second best in every category

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure what's happened here but since my last review the food standards seem to have gone down hill.

Perhaps a new chef or maybe they don't have one..

Some of the staff seem to be learning the ropes still also.

Need to review again in a few months.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Buchally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When rear lights on our coach got damaged en route, the Hotel staff were quick to provide contact details to find a replacement. They were quick to respond and generous in their support.

Passengers were welcomed at the end of an eventful journey and received immediately with hot drinks and every consideration. Great care was shown to all our party.
This was first class service. Many thanks to Chrisella, Claire and all the team on duty on 25 June.
You helped redress what could have been a distressing situation into a manageable one with a quick resolution. Well done and many thanks.

Joan Morrison

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

‘Sinking into the Depths’

Dark Island Hotel, Liniclate, Benbecula


What a sad message as you arrive – The Hotel sign is suffering from missing letters – and it looks like they’ve been missing for ages. A shame really – because this hotel is a low, long building, surrounded by fields of grazing sheep and looks the other way onto views of lovely coves of pale cream sand.

The internal décor is very 1960’s, although they have tried to smarten up the wallpaper and touch up the paintwork. Most rooms are a good size, with en suite’s which are roomy.

There is a good sized restaurant – which offers a range of meats, but on our two nights, we were offered ‘Pork or Ham’ or ‘Mince or Stew’ . Cheapest bottle of wine was £15.
It was clear that the management were keen to maximise profits in what was sure to be a very short season. Evening meal was served to you and portion controlled.
Packed lunches were available for £7.50 per person. They were not inspiring.
Sometimes local children from a dancing school entertained for half an hour – Donations were readily accepted.

The sad impression for this hotel and for tourism on these islands is that the Ferry Company has a key role in the equation.

The Ferry Company ‘Caledonian MacBride’ has a monopoly of all the Ferries to the Western Isles of Scotland. They recently increased their fares massively. This is affecting tourism, and there has been a big drop in visitors.
Hotels like ‘Dark Island’ are stuck in the middle of a downward spiral that is not entirely of their own making.
The Scottish Tourist board need to step in promptly, to deal with this pending disaster before ‘Dark Island Hotel’ and others like it sink into the abyss.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoanDWarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stopped overnight with our coach party at the Dark Island Hotel. Pleased with our room as quite spacious. Bathroom could do with a bit of updating but everything else was good. Decent meal in evening and good breakfast. Hotel provided local children Scottish dancing which was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
22.0 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
24.5 mi away
Six Willows Bed and Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 8 in Glendale
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dark Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dark Island Hotel

Property: Dark Island Hotel
Address: Liniclate, HS7 5PJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benbecula Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Dark Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Hotel Dark Island
Dark Island Hotel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing