We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Undercooked chips”
Review of Dark Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dark Island Hotel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Undercooked chips”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure what's happened here but since my last review the food standards seem to have gone down hill.

Perhaps a new chef or maybe they don't have one..

Some of the staff seem to be learning the ropes still also.

Need to review again in a few months.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Buchally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    67
    43
    36
See reviews for
20
95
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When rear lights on our coach got damaged en route, the Hotel staff were quick to provide contact details to find a replacement. They were quick to respond and generous in their support.

Passengers were welcomed at the end of an eventful journey and received immediately with hot drinks and every consideration. Great care was shown to all our party.
This was first class service. Many thanks to Chrisella, Claire and all the team on duty on 25 June.
You helped redress what could have been a distressing situation into a manageable one with a quick resolution. Well done and many thanks.

Joan Morrison

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

‘Sinking into the Depths’

Dark Island Hotel, Liniclate, Benbecula


What a sad message as you arrive – The Hotel sign is suffering from missing letters – and it looks like they’ve been missing for ages. A shame really – because this hotel is a low, long building, surrounded by fields of grazing sheep and looks the other way onto views of lovely coves of pale cream sand.

The internal décor is very 1960’s, although they have tried to smarten up the wallpaper and touch up the paintwork. Most rooms are a good size, with en suite’s which are roomy.

There is a good sized restaurant – which offers a range of meats, but on our two nights, we were offered ‘Pork or Ham’ or ‘Mince or Stew’ . Cheapest bottle of wine was £15.
It was clear that the management were keen to maximise profits in what was sure to be a very short season. Evening meal was served to you and portion controlled.
Packed lunches were available for £7.50 per person. They were not inspiring.
Sometimes local children from a dancing school entertained for half an hour – Donations were readily accepted.

The sad impression for this hotel and for tourism on these islands is that the Ferry Company has a key role in the equation.

The Ferry Company ‘Caledonian MacBride’ has a monopoly of all the Ferries to the Western Isles of Scotland. They recently increased their fares massively. This is affecting tourism, and there has been a big drop in visitors.
Hotels like ‘Dark Island’ are stuck in the middle of a downward spiral that is not entirely of their own making.
The Scottish Tourist board need to step in promptly, to deal with this pending disaster before ‘Dark Island Hotel’ and others like it sink into the abyss.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JoanDWarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stopped overnight with our coach party at the Dark Island Hotel. Pleased with our room as quite spacious. Bathroom could do with a bit of updating but everything else was good. Decent meal in evening and good breakfast. Hotel provided local children Scottish dancing which was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackie566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stopped with our coach party at the Dar Island Hotel. Our driver had called ahead to let them know our arrival time, everything was in place for our group.

Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked the small inner courtyard, it was clean and tidy. Our bathroom had a towel rail over the radiator, room was roomy, had everything we needed for our overnight stay.
Our evening meal was very nice, choice of 3 x starters, 3 x main course and 3 desserts, also tea and coffee served at table.

That evening the hotel had arranged for a group of local children to give a short presentation of Scottish and Irish Dancing, they were very good, even if some of our group were initially rude in not giving them a chance to dance.

Breakfast was a hot buffet, cannot fault choices given.

Would stay again.
Our waitress was very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family have memories of the Dark Island Hotel as being a great place to have Sunday lunch with a choice of lovely, fresh, local seafood! Visiting last week for a bar lunch just confirmed what recent reviewers have found, that it has gone downhill in a big way. No need to repeat the list of shortcomings - others have said it all. I'll just add that we had a very mediocre lunch. Food adequate, but not what we ordered. I don't know why it was not possible to order a smoked salmon sandwich without cream cheese (which I do not like). We were told that the smoked salmon comes with the cheese already combined with it! It would be good to know that there are plans to address these problems and restore the reputation the D I Hotel once had for good quality and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A one night stay as part of our cycle tour of the Outer Hebrides and despite being advised it would be one of the older rooms when booking we expected better than what greeted us on arrival. Lettering missing from the hotel sign (not the best first impression), reception staff that didn't appear to know what they were doing and a very dark entrance (maybe that's why they name it Dark Island Hotel). We were given our key and made our way to our room along the corridor where ironing boards for guest use are stored, up the staircase with stained walls and shredded carpet to our room. What a sight when we walked through the door - leaking window with damp wall, towels but nowhere to hang them (towel rail would be good) and the bathroom contained a shower cubicle which resembled a portaloo/radiation shower cubicle and the tap was simply dangerous (one minute freezing cold water and the next scalding hot) - wonder if these are safety approved???? Another oddity were the transom windows on the doors and yet blackout blinds are installed on the windows???? We asked if another room was available but were advised the hotel was fully booked (large coach party being catered for in the dining room - all staff on hand to cater for their every need but everyone else had to eat in the bar where again the staff appeared clueless). Bar meals were ok (but nothing to shout home about). Breakfast the next morning was interesting - we were told it was available from 7.00am but no-one on duty in time to greet guest and no lights on. We entered the breakfast room and helped ourselves to cereals when an unshaven man still wearing his leather jacket came to take our order for cooked breakfast (we had to ask if he was actually the waiter!!!) It appeared he was cold and someone else later plugged in a dimplex fire behind us to warm the room. On checking out (reluctantly paying our bill) we were advised that our bikes could have been stored away out of the rain overnight but on arrival there was apparently nowhere to do this!!!!! Very disappointing stay and given that if you are walking or cycling there is little choice elsewhere for an evening meal we feel they could do much better. We will not be paying another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room or if you have the option of a car go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoMash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
22.1 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
39.8 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
24.4 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 5 in Glendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel
The Isle of Benbecula House Hote...
#1 of 2 in Benbecula Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dark Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dark Island Hotel

Property: Dark Island Hotel
Address: Liniclate, HS7 5PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benbecula Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Dark Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dark Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dark Island
Dark Island Hotel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing