We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The grumpy chef” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dark Island Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dark Island Hotel
Save
You added Dark Island Hotel to your Saves list
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The grumpy chef”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

These people simply dont care whether your stay is comfortable or not and they obviously do not read the reviews or surely they would do some improvements?? Arrived on a coach trip and was dished up the most awful food I have ever experienced for 2 nights. To be fair ( HUH ) the food to other visitors looked very good: too good for us oldies !!!!
Beds not good,some showers too low to duck under, some rooms with hot water coming out both taps.. It goes on and on.
A very unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room near wooden benches outside as smokers congregate from bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank babaluba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    55
    37
    32
See reviews for
18
81
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good point: All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, and they went out of their way to help and solve problems. I can't thank them enough.

However, the hotel itself was not so good. An unkempt garden area at the front gave a bad impression as we arrived, and one of the front windows (hopefully not a guest room!) was covered in bird poo.

Our room looked quite nice, but the bed had seen better days - the mattress was hard and uncomfortable. When I did get to sleep, I was woken frequently throughout the night by the headboard in the next room knocking the wall every time the occupant moved, and an uncurtained window above the door meant that there was light pouring in from the corridor all night. This all led to a very bad night’s sleep. The second night, we persuaded our neighbours to pull their bed away from the wall, and I asked for some more bedding to put on top of the mattress, and had a much better night.

The food wasn’t brilliant.

I am sorry to say that I wouldn’t recommend this hotel, and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel as part of a coach tour to the Outer Hebrides. We were late arriving but the staff were welcoming and served up a very good dinner as soon as we got in. The tables were very atractively set out and the food was hot and plentiful with a good choice. The room was on the small side but perfectly adequate for the length of stay. The view from the window was wonderful and the hotel is located quite close to a beautiful beach. We would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarTer735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I didn't fancy the full cooked breakfast this morning so I ventured to ask them for a couple of boiled eggs and toast. The waitresss said it would take quite a while - I told her it would only take 3 minutes. She returned from the kitchen to relay the "chefs" message that I couldn't have it. Okay maybe it serves me right to dare ask for something as exotic as a boiled egg.
The previous evening the pint of 80 was a bit whiffy - I took it to the barman who had a smell it and said it was fine. Honestly the script writers for faulty towers could get a few gems from this crowd.
While im at it, I'll tell you the story of the last time I had to stay there a few years back. The bed was damp - I couldn't be bothered fussing because, as you will have noted, customer service is not there strong point so I used a sleeping bag I happened to have in the car and slept on top of the bed. I thought the shower tiles were 70s brown but on closer inspection it was fungal spores that gave the cream tiles their darker hue. I didn't have that problem/room today though to be fair.
I think a bit of training and someone to point out what it means to provide a service to customers would be in order.
If this does not happen you would be much calmer and enjoy the serene beauty of Benbecula if you stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hambudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel is in a nice setting with a beach within walking distance. Room was pleasant enough, we were there for 2 nights on a coach trip. Staff were very friendly, food was just average, nothing special, the bar/lounge was comfortable. The shower didn't work properly. The old-fashioned TV on the wall wasn't in a comfortable position for watching it, only about 3 channels on the TV! But the hotel is quite nice for a short stay, the staff were very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After looking at the notes and scores on here i was concernede about the hotel . But how wrong were the comments . Rooms were very clean and tidy . Food was very good and reasonably priced . The bar staff were exceptional and made the stay so good . Thanks to Yaiza and Daniel for looking after us . Cheers from kevin & phil

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annpolley142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, we liked it. Nice lounge bar, where we ate. The menu's the same if you're in the bar or restaurant. Fairly extensive menu, predominantly pub grub with some local specials there too. We loved the venison chilli. Bar staff were good. Very reasonably priced whiskey's.
As it was a Sunday and the community school next door was closed we assumed the pool was off limits, so strolled to the beach behind the hotel instead - passing beside the huge wind turbine, which is remarkably quiet. Seals were seen swimming just off shore :-)
The room was a good size, with an en suite bathroom. No decor issues but definitely not a modern hotel...chunky wooden furniture was present but that fits the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephy12WestLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
22.2 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
84.1 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
24.0 mi away
Six Willows Bed and Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Brae View B&B
Brae View B&B
#2 of 8 in Glendale
5.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dark Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dark Island Hotel

Property: Dark Island Hotel
Address: Liniclate, HS7 5PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benbecula Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Dark Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Hotel Dark Island
Dark Island Hotel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing