We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nunton House Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nunton House Hostel
Save
You added Nunton House Hostel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Loved our stay at Nunton House. Well taken care of, entertained with history and real life stories, wonderful accomadation Donald was over the top helpful and we loved the peat fire!!!Mad travellers from Nova Scotia. Michelle, Joan, and Yolanda

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It is rare that you find such comfortable mattresses, such a clean and well stocked kitchen, such a warm and inviting sitting room with a peat fire every night, gifts of fresh eggs and goose breasts, a welcome beyond the norm and a feeling that anything that one could possibly want will be provided. Centuries ago Bonnie Prince Charlie was reputed to have stayed at this house, he cannot have possibly had such a magical experience as we did. Catherine and Don are the best of hosts, the Uists, Eriskay and Benbencular the most welcoming of Islands with beaches beautiful beyond, excellent food everywhere and the hill-walking spectacular. We spent a very happy week here and will return again with friends and family. Recommended are the scallops from the Callin factory, the smoked salmon and gravalax from the North Uist Smoke House, the wonderful café and shop at the Claddach Kirkibost centre but the stars of our holiday were the Islanders themselves, always friendly, always helpful, always informative. The walks and the wildlife are not bad either!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the owners let us choose as they were not full that week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed for two nights at Nunton House Hostel. After researching hotels in the area decided to go with the hostel and wasn't disappointed. Much more than a hostel, lovely peat fire within a big common/dining room, on suite bedrooms with the dorms beds warm and welcoming. Many will visit to escape the modern world, but if you want to reconnect there is sky TV and broadband Wi-fi available free. Donald is a wonderful host and is the epitome of highland hospitality, you will be informed that Bonnie Prince Charlie dressed up as a woman to escape the redcoats after the battle of culloden within these walls. Additionally free tea and coffee and continental breakfast is provided. This hostel fully deserves 5 stars I would stay here again before booking into any of the local hotels, truly a one off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomich, Highlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just got home after a three night stay at the Nunton Bunkhouse and though I'm a rare tripadvisor reviewer, thought I should let you know how fab it is! We were a large party, 14 of us in total and I think I speak for all of us when I say that this bunkhouse is top quality and fully deserving of its 5 stars. A building with a fascinating history, which has been renovated to a high quality.The comfortable living space has an inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove (and never ending peat stack!), comfy chairs, window seats and large kitchen table, and is the perfect way to end a day out. Mattresses were very comfortable, showers were strong, kitchen was well equipped and even had some of Alaisdair's mum's homemade jam and marmalade in the fridge. Alaisdair couldn't have been more helpful. A perfect stay in every way. And five minutes walk from a fabulous white sandy bay, which you'll probably get to yourself. Highly recommended. Can't wait to return. Thanks Alaisdair!

Room Tip: Apparently the upstairs rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSPBLochGarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Just back. This is much more than a hostel. The place is finished to a high level, comfortable, plenty water and comfy beds. The greatest asset is the generosity of the owners, fresh Machair tatties and goose meat. Thanks so much it was a great stay and we'll all be back :) the rspb gang

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After 33 miles biking into the wind, this was just what I needed - such comfort home from home! Great chat with the hosts and fellow travelers too. You won't be disappointed if you make a stop here. A well deserved 5 Star Hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 710Turbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean, ensuite rooms, continental breakfast included, comfy kitchen / living area with peat stove. Free pasta / rice / breakfast items. Great host who is a local and can tell you so much about the area. Best hostel yet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nunton House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunton House Hostel

Property: Nunton House Hostel
Address: Nunton, HS7 5LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Benbecula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunton House Hostel has a capacity for 16 guests in 4 dorm rooms, which are all en-suite. There is a Common Room with a fantastic original inglenook fireplace, and fully equiped kitchen! Self-serve continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nunton House Hostel Benbecula Island, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing