We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“So many birds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Isles Wildlife Tours

Western Isles Wildlife Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird and general wildlife tours in Uist and Benbecula.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So many birds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend a full day with Steve Duffield, touring North and South Uist. His knowledge and ability to spot birds where there appear to be none is amazing. He's also got a great sense of humour and is good company. I was the non-birder in our party of 3 but was blown-away by watching, through Steve's scope, a White-Tailed Eagle sitting on a fence post, and then take off and fly. An unforgettable sight. I highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've had a brilliant time on our wildlife tour on the Uists and Benbecula (Outer Hebrides) on 1 & 2 September, with Steve Duffield. Despite the grey misty weather we saw upwards of 60 varieties of birds including a corn bunting (which sang for us), a rare semi palmated sandpiper, birds of prey, also delightful otters, seals and deer, as well as had a wonderful tour of the area. Steve is very knowledgeable and has a keen eye for spotting distant wildlife, and we learned a lot. He is obviously the expert in these parts and we'd well recommend a trip with him. See his website:
http://www.western-isles-wildlife.co.uk/Latest%20Bird%20and%20general%20wildlife%20sightings%20in%20the%20western%20isles,%20outer%20hebrides.htm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sinettravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent birdwatching tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're interested in birds and wildlife generally, you'll love this experience. We went prepared for wet and windy weather but the sun shone every day even if the wind blew too. There were 6 in our group and for five days we were treated to corncrakes and phalaropes, golden eagles and hen harriers, waders, divers and ducks galore and many others. Steve managed to track down the elusive otter for us and knowledgeably indulged our interest in plant life too. We got to see a wide range of habitats on North and South Uist, Benbecula and Eriskay.

Each of the three couples in the group stayed at a different B&B but all were pronounced excellent. Steve usually provided perfect picnic lunches so we could be flexible with where we took them. Evening meals were at a local inn and restaurant and were a little more variable in quality but always with plenty of choice. I would recommend this tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Deiagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New verb: to Duffield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The weather was cool and damp but we were lead on a fabulous full-day nature tour of Benbecula and South Uist by a thoroughly expert, interesting and likable man by the name of Steve Duffield. His knowledge of the local flora and wildlife, especially the birds, resulted in a wonderful day for the three of us.
He had a great ability to spot the birds and animals that we would not have noticed without his keen eye. Strangely, for the rest of our holiday we seemed to have gained a sharper eye for ourselves as well which we attribute to his expertise passed on to us. We coined the verb to 'Duffield' to describe the ability to locate these distant objects.
Highlights included the seals, otter and his expert description of the machair.
Photos taken by Steve and forwarded to us. I hope you don't mind me using them here.
Thanks, Steve, for a great day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank mynameiseddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Isles Wildlife Tours also viewed

North Uist, Outer Hebrides
 
South Uist, Outer Hebrides
Flodabay, Isle of Harris
 

Been to Western Isles Wildlife Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing