We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!!”
Review of Borve Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benbecula Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borve Guest House
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We arrived late due to the ferry and were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was very clean and functional and although room 3 doesn't have en-suite it has its own private bathroom just a few steps up the hall which was also spotlessly clean!! The beds were very comfortable with all items such as a Kettle etc available.

The breakfast was excellent and lots of choices which suited my Fiancee as she doesn't always want a full-scottish breafast but likes something more than cereal.

On checking out we were pleasantly surprised how reasonably priced our stay had been as I would recommend to anyone visiting this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BoaandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was a lovely B&B, very clean and had a guest area with sofas TV and computer etc. Excellent breakfast and friendly helpful owners. Lovely peaceful location. I had a perfect stay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Indeed a strange title for a review, but rating this guest house is really not an easy task.

On the one hand, Borve is conveniently located to explore this part of the Outer Hebrides. You get a nice bed, the room and ensuite bathroom give an old impression but are immaculate. What could one ask more for?

On the other hand, of the 15 years we holiday in Great Britain we experienced our fastest check-in / check-out ever. And this record will be near impossible to beat ;-) A 2011 / 2012 copy of Explore, the free tourist brochure of the Outer Hebrides, was not available. Other leaflets were out of date as well. Also, our host did not seem very knowledgeable about what to see and do.

So it all depends on what your personal priorities are ...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Accacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at Borve Guest house for just one night. The welcome from Greta was great and the quality of accommodation superb. The beds were lovely and comfy and we got a really good sleep. The room we had was nicely furnished and a TV in the room was great for the family. The cooked breakfast was also excellent. We had dinner at the hotel down the road (Dark Island). The food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2beenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Although Benbecula itself is not the prettiest of the Western Isles, the B&B itself is very nice. Our room was very clean with pleasant decor. The breakfast was good and the service friendly. Having free Internet access via the computer in the lounge is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

we stayed for one night on our quick tour of the islands, we would return again and stay in this lovely house. we ate in the resturant recommended by our host and it to was well worth the money. keep up the good work you are a credit to the islands

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akela89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This area of the Western Isles is pretty remote, but along the B road are a string of guest houses as well as the Dark Island Hotel (superb for food) and a supermarket. The Borve is clean and modern - we got a friendly welcome, a nice big room and a hearty breakfast. Our bikes were locked securely in the garage for us.
Extra Brownie points for the PC with free internet access in the lounge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_B_3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benbecula Island
0.0 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dark Island Hotel
Dark Island Hotel
#2 of 2 in Benbecula Island
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Isle of Benbecula House Hotel
The Isle of Benbecula House Hote...
#1 of 2 in Benbecula Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borve Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borve Guest House

Property: Borve Guest House
Address: 5 Torlum, HS7 5PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Benbecula Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Benbecula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Borve Guest House Benbecula Island, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing