We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing cottage and superb location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Culla Cottage

Culla Cottage - beautifully resorted to a high standard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Culla Cottage - beautifully resorted to a high standard.
Cook & Lewis kitchen with integrated appliances. Dining room with view across to dunes.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Culla Cottage - beautifully resorted to a high standard.
Cook & Lewis kitchen with integrated appliances.
Dining room with view across to dunes.
Original stone surround, peat and wood available to burn.
Good size bath/shower room.
Large bedroom with oak matching furniture.
Highland cattle grazing near by.
Cottage lies on a working croft, this view shows the near by beach and hills of South Uist.
Another aerial view of Culla Bay.
Clear skies looking across to South Uist.
Corn Rigs just yards from Culla Cottage.
Sky on Fire!
Sun setting over the Monach Islands taken yards from the cottage.
Early morning looking across to Eaval, North Uist.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Benbecula Island, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Troldmads
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage and superb location”
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an amazing week in Culla Cottage, a traditional cottage that has been beautifully done up and is perfect for 'hygge'! The location is superb (it's right next to a really nice beach) and ideal for exploring the different islands. The Balivanich town has a small but well-stocked supermarket and is only a few minutes drive away. The beaches on the islands are truly spectacular; we especially liked the west beach on Berneray. Other highlights included climbing Beinn Mhor (the highest point on South Uist) and a day trip to Barra (bring your bikes!).
Donald was such a nice and welcoming host. On our arrival, there was some smoked salmon in the fridge and a small hamper with local goodies. Donald also bought us an OS map, when we told him we wanted to climb Beinn Mhor. Overall we can't recommend this place highly enough and we hope to be back soon!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2017
Great to know that you enjoyed your week exploring the islands. Look forward to meeting you both again in the future. Thanks for the feedback! Donald and Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ccdax
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely long break at Culla cottage. The cottage was beautiful and had everything you needed. Very handy shops just 5 minutes away and a beautiful beach just yards from the door. The dog especially loved it and I think she was a bit disappointed to be home.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2016
So happy that you enjoed your long stay and that the weather played it's part too!! Hope to see you both again soon. Have a great Xmas and a good new year when it comes. Donald & Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saraaar
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miss”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow! Can't recommend Culla Cottage enough. We had a fantastic stay (although too short) and enjoyed exploring the beautiful surroundings nearby in the day and then cosy in front of the peat burner at night. Absolutely stunning! Can't wait to come back.
Thank you Donald and Sheena.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Hi Sarah, we are glad you all enjoyed your short stay! Until the next time!!
Cheers Donald and Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexy1985u...
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The ultimate quiet getaway”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed at Culla Cottage for a week during our honeymoon trip to Scotland. We are convinced we chose the perfect place! Donald's place is recently renovated and is beautifully done to a really high standard.
The cottage is minutes from the beach which we had to ourselves the entire week. We took our dog who adored the sandy beaches and the peet burner.
We couldn't recommend highly enough. It was remote enough to be peaceful but there is a brilliant shop just up the road that had everything we could have wanted.
Donald made us feel really welcome and was on hand if we needed any help or advice.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury seclusion
Liked least: The wind woke the dog up!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you very much for leaving us feedback and choosing Culla Cottage for your special stay! All the best Donald & Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Culla Cottage, Benbecula”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just back from a refreshing and relaxing week at Culla Cottage. The owners, Donald and Sheena, were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Donald has done a marvellous job of renovating his father's childhood home into a traditional cottage but now with all the mod cons. It is tastefully decorated and extremely cosy. It is close to many amenities, including a well stocked supermarket, yet in a very quiet location.
A highlight is Cula beach a stone's throw away. We were the only ones on it each day and it felt like our own personal beach. Our dog was in heaven!
The central location made it a perfect base to explore. Eriskay and Berneray both have breathtaking beaches. Another beach worthy of mention is Clachan Sands.
We also packed in a great day trip to Harris.
We ate out at Langass Lodge and Westford Inn, which were both very good, but it was hard to tear ourselves away from the cottage in the evening.
Wishing Donald and Sheena every success. Their hard work in making the cottage an ideal holiday destination is clear to see.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your time here, thanks for the feedback! Donald & Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate condition of the property
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you very much for the review, glad you had a pleasant stay and that the weather made it that bit better while exploring the neighbouring islands!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Corralejo, Spain
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage...and the neighbours too! We would warmly welcome you both back to stay at Culla Cottage next year, until then all the best!! Donald & Sheena.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing