We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kavos - relaxing family holiday.”
Review of Sunrise Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Apartments
Ranked #3 of 12 Kavos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sunrise provides a family friendly environment on the outskirts of Kavos. We have been many times and although Kavos main strip caters for the young with loud music, fast food and alcohol by the bucket full, Sunrise counteracts this with helpful staff, a stunning pool, clean beach with clear waters just a stones throw from the apartments.....there are fish swimming in the shallows to.

We hired a car and went into Lefkimmi village, here you can get a feel for real Greece and is so far removed for Kavos main strip you would think you were in a different country!!

Corfu Town is well worth a visit providing a more cosmopolitan feel. Purchase your touristy gifts then sit at the Liston and watch the world go by!!

The pool at Sunrise is well maintained, the snackbar provides welcome shade as well as delicious food and drinks.... our daughter just wanted sausages for breakfast and this was no problem for the staff, nor was cooking late at night (thanks Lynn, Ann and Andreas).

There were a mix of age groups and recoomendations as to where to eat, drink , park was never too much trouble.

Fantastic holiday.

Channel 4 edit there footage to show Kavos in a poor light, it can be raucous and loud, but equally it can also be a laid back relaxing place for a vacation.

We will be back.

Thanks Ann, Procopis Katie, Lynn, Andreas Spiros and Eleni.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Sunrise Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my friend booked a last minute holiday to come here and was expecting this just to be somewhere to sleep. After we had a night flight and the transfer driver spent over half an hour driving up and down the main road in the pitch black, we didn't have high hopes for Sunrise but gave it til the morning to see what it is actually like.
As we were set back from the main complex in the apartments down the mini road it was a little walk to the pool and beach but that was no problem as it felt more private.
Once you do get to pool it is amazing! Surprisingly we spent most our time by the beach just steps away or bathing on the sunbeds which were always available.
Anna, Andreas and the rest are a really nice friendly family and they know what they are doing and how to make you feel comfortable during your stay. We went to Kavos at least once everyday, whether it be in the morning or at night, one of the team were happy to book you a taxi or pre-order one for when they close the bar.
If you are looking to go out clubbing in Kavos it only starts to get busy around 1am as we made that mistake! We made it routine to start off at Rocky's (who also owns sunrise so you get a privilege card) then to Rolling Stone which was brilliant if you wanted a little sit down and chat or a boogy. Saying that, Channel 4 cameras were following you around the whole strip to give Kavos a bad image. One of the locals we met knew a restaurant owner where the camera crew ate and left their itinerary behind, apparently they paid people to pee in the street!
Or on the other hand if you wanted a local bar to relax and enjoy the surroundings Life Bar is a 20 minute walk from Sunrise and Taz is so welcoming its unreal! He does the best cocktails and makes his own recipes for shots so its worth going to.
One day we decided to visit Corfu which is only a 4.40 euro bus journey but took forever! The bus was so cramped and humid it was almost unbearable and altogether took about an hour and a half so we were glad to get off! Overall in Corfu; we unfortunately didn't find anything interesting to do, maybe we were in the wrong part or just looking at the wrong places, we were quite fed up by this point so I don't know.. We sat down for a rest at a public bench and these two men came over and offered to take us to the old historic town but we thought it was dodgy so headed back to the bus station and missed the bus by mear seconds! It wouldn't have been so bad if they didn't have a siesta, but we were waiting around from 3.30 til 5.45 for the next bus so be careful!
This hotel and resort suits everyone from families to couples so don't be put off by the sceptical reviews its defo worth going to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

just returned from week at sunrise , Ann and crew made us very welcome ,nothing was too much trouble , rooms clean and comfy , pool was fantastic , and your yards from beach and loverly warm and clean sea , You are a cab ride from Kavos bars , about 7 euro , dont believe all you hear about Kavos there are bars for the young that are loud , but there are plenty places to go for older couples ,some loverly restaurants too , A supermarket is 10 min walk from apartments , and 100 yards from there is loverly little bar called the life bar , run by great guy called TAZ serves great beer and cocktails at good price and will play any music you wish thro his music sytem with video (you tube) we had great week and met some loverly folks eddy vodden

Room Tip: all rooms seem like thay have there own nice things
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just returned from Sunrise following a 12 day stay (24.8.13). Nothing was too much trouble for Anne, her family and the team. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by all, almost treated like visiting friends rather than paying guests. We booked on a last minute deal and had been concerned about some of the reviews here, however you must ignore those. Sunrise is in the small resort of St Peters, a short cab ride (7 euros) or a 35 minute walk into Kavos. This is ideal as you can have the calm and quiet to relax mixed with the Kavos noise and chaos.
The pool area is spotless and very well maintained with plenty of free sunbeds. There are also sun umbrellas so you can choose how much sun or shade you want. The beach is accessed directly off the property and is very quiet, there are no sunbeds here as it is not a commercial part of the beach, however if you require this you can find it at one of the beach bars a short walk away.
Our room was clean and although basic had everything required, but that was all we needed as we only used it to sleep and shower. We paid for AC which is a must in high season and the only other cost was for a safe which was nominal. We did not watch tv or cook anything in the room beyond toast and eggs for breakfast, however I feel a wider variety of utensils may be needed if you are a family who want to cook (although there is such a wide choice available nearby why would you want to?) Anne and her team will provide anything you require to make your stay better (for example we needed an extra coffee mug). If you are looking for a relaxing break then this is a wonderful place to stay. Some reviewers have complained about petty things such as the radio being on - true - it is on all day, but you can ask for it to be turned down and it is! There are only small shower towels provided, but again these are adequate for purpose. This was a last minute bargain break for us and we really enjoyed our time here, we met couples and families that have been going back for many years.
What made it so nice is the mix of age groups - from people in their twenties, families and mature couples.
Please ignore the negative reviews, Kavos can be loud and crazy and Sunrise is a little tranquil haven.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GizmoChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

my 4th time to Sunrise,and would'nt stay anywhere else, even though holiday makers are informed it is only for the 18'[s too 30, load of rubbish, i am 69 and my better half is 68, we took my stepson who is 35, and we have always had a great time,the owners could not have done anymore regards to their kindness, and the cleanliness of the whole place is spotless,being outside Kavos we had the best of both of worlds, relax at the poolside or taxi to Kavos, i have been to Corfu a good many times but never stayed in places as good as Sunrise, and will be holidaying there for many years to come i hope.

Room Tip: all rooms are great with balconies
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

best hotel in kavos, it maybe a taxi to the strip but for four euros for a good night sleep, you cant go wrong. And the bar staff and hotel workers make the holiday, the rooms are clean and the maid comes every day, and the view from the pool is amazing

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toniBritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in summer 2012 for a week with three of my friends. When we arrived the hotel is set back from the road so you had to walk down like a mini road where there are boards outside telling you where your hotel room is. (be warned there is stray cats)The pool itself is really clean and isnt too cold when you get in it like other pools. The staff were nice and friendly and were also english. The food from the cafe was really nice. At the bottom of the pool there was access to the beach but there was alot of grassland on the beach so you couldnt walk far. Inside the hotel room it was clean but very basic. Everyday the cleaners would only make the beds and sweep up, they never changed the towels or the bed sheets once. The bathroom only had a shower, sink toilet an mirror cabinet in it and you couldnt even lock the door even though there was a key. There was an ironing board and iron in the wardrobes and a mirror and dressing table in each room. The fridge never kept our food cold enough so most of our water was in the freezer which was only small. The kitchen was equipped with pans, kettle, cups & cutelry. There is no air con in the rooms but there was vent doors which were sometimes useful. As we were on a clubbing holiday we were a 5 minute taxi ride away which was about an hours walking time. There were a few families in the same hotel aswell as young adults.Taxis were 7 euro each way which wasnt bad but mounted up over the holiday. There is a chinese along the mini strip (just off the main stcalled the golden courser which is really nice and the food is amazing. it is located near the marina beach hotel. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Browntown_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
0.2 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yianetta
Yianetta
#90 of 404 in Corfu
130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kavos
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
2.3 mi away
Koulouris Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#3 of 13 in Kavos
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Apartments

Address: Kavos 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kavos
Price Range: $18 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise is a complex of studios and apartments situated in the northern part of St. Peters (2km from Kavos) and right in front of a beautiful sandy beach with crystal, warm waters.The apartments are the ideal choice for those looking for comfortable, flexible and well-appointed self-catering accommodation, within easy reach of the beach, resort centre and local attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Sunrise Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Apartments Hotel Corfu
Sunrise Apartments Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing