We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for the independent traveller”
Review of Olympion Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olympion Village
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“not for the independent traveller”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was booked for 12-19th July in December and 50% deposit paid ,2 studios for my daughter and 5 friends . I emailed to ask to pay the balance 4 weeks before the 12th and no reply. 4 days before they were due to arrive, I emailed to check on airconditioning costs and was told they had overbooked and could get us another hotel. This was further out and of course not what we booked and contactually were entitled to. We found our own accomodation and cancelled - why would you trust them to do this efficiently and why have a hotel forced upon you which you hadn't chosen. It took a number of phone calls for the money to be repaid on our credit card.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde_comment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    78
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Apartments
The Olympion Village apartments were clean and tidy. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We booked a two bedroom apartment because we thought our son would like a room of his own. The bedrooms were large with three beds in one and two in the other. Had we known how big the rooms were, we probably wouldn't have booked two rooms as we ended up sleeping in the three bed room. There was lots of storage space in both rooms and an ironing board in one of the wardrobes.
As we had read other reviews, we were prepared for the "extra" charges and we took our own bath towels as they could be hired for 5 euro per towel. The kitchen area had a table and chairs and the usual cutlery and crockery. There was a kettle and a two ring electric cooker. There was a saucepan, frying pan and strainer and first time for us, a tea towel was supplied. The bathroom was compact and the shower cubicle could have done with being a bit bigger.

On site amenities.
The restaurant on the site is worth trying. They serve good food which is reasonably priced. They also have a selection of cold drinks and ice-creams. There is also a supermarket on site which is well stocked and competitively priced. The pool is large and well kept. There are plently of sun beds around the pool and these are free. Umbrellas and mattresses can be hired from reception. There is a PS3 and three PCs in the reception area which can be used for a small charge. There are three pools tables and an air-hockey table. There is also a bar which opens in the evenings and stays open most of the night (basically while there is someone drinking the bar is open).

Thomson's Rep
Our rep was called Seb. We read a report that said he was only interested if you were a teenager and female. Nothing could be further from the truth. We found him to be friendly and helpful. If we were around the resort when he were there he always made a point of talking to us and asking if we needed anything.

The resort
The resort is lively especially in the evenings and the music can be extremely loud. We had heard bad reports of the chaos left by the all night partying but we didn't find this to be the case. Although the Olympion Village was not far from the main street, once you were in the rooms with the doors closed the sound was very muted and didn't pose a problem.

Car hire
We had a Jeep for a week and toured around the island. The jeep we hired came from Peter's car in Kavos and was much cheaper than the main hire companies (was saved about 200 Euros). It wasn't a new vehicle but it was clean and perfectly adequate.

Places to visit
Some places worth a visit are Corfu Town, Kassiopi,Glifada and Agios Gordis.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

17th -24th August 2009.
Brilliant family holiday- mum 40 something,2 daughters 16 and 9.

Stayed at the Olympian village at Kavos.Very clean and tidy.Plenty of activites for all ages.Staff very friendly,helpful,welcoming.Greek night a must for all the family-value for money -buffet and entertainment -an insight into a piece of Greek culture.Swimming pool -adults and children.

Close to the high st and bars and restaurants and beach but not close enough to receive full impact of noise of music from the clubs and bars

A wide variety of choice of restaurants from most countries along Kavos high street-enjoyed TKD Austrailian restaurant.Supermarkets stock every thing you need.Bars with wide screen TV.


Boat trips to Corfu Town,Anti paxos and Paxos-Great fun.
Buses in frequent but good to travel to visit other beaches and Corfu town

Dont believe the hype of sick everywhere and 18-30 running the town-Not during the day very pleasant.you may get a whiff of the drains on the road on occassion but that is due to their drainage system it should not put you off. Yes clubbing at night but would you take your children to a night club?

I nearly never went to Kavos due to reviews and I am glad I ignored it and went.My girls thoroughly enjoyed it.Great weather.We will be going back.

Helpful?
3 Thank JollyRoger2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Having arrived in a very hot corfu we were met by a twentys rep, who was about as much use as a fart in a wind tunnel.
We finally got on our coach and made the hour and fifteen minute journey to Kavos.
Now the last time a came here was 6 years ago and its changed alot.... it smells worse than i can remember.
The reason for this trip was to meet up with relatives who actually live (have done so for 22 years) and work in Kavos all year round.
We were met off the coach by our twentys rep Seb, nice enough chap, and once booked in were shown to our room.
We booked a one bedroom apartment because my daughter were staying with us (she is 11)
The positive point is that the rooms were a good size.
The bad points are that if you need air con it costs 45Euro, you get issued with one hand towel, if you want a bath towel it costs 5Euro each. We went self catering so expected a toaster, again if you want one it costs. It says in the brouchure and on line that the room is supplied with an iron and ironing board. its right on one of the items but if you want a iron again it costs, so does the room safe.
I said earlier the rooms were a good size, they should have used some of this room to extend the shower room cos that is a tight squeeze.
And if you like sharing your room with ants, then this place is ideal cos they were all over.
The pool area is a positive, and is a most welcome dip after a day of sunbathing as is the pool cafe.
The greek night was a joke, it costs 12Euro and we were bored out of our minds.

Places to eat.... Golden fleece was nice as were sizzlers.... Nikos kebabs opposite buzz bar are the best in Kavos, however the best meal we had was at Terrys Taverna in the bottom end of Kavos,,, lovely meal and nice greek people.

Would i go back to Kavos hopefully not, if i went back to Corfu i would stay in the north of the island.
Kavos is an 18-30 or twentys resort. I knew this before i went and were prepared for it, however they classed their hotel as a 4 star and in reality its a 1-2 star.

If your young and dont give a stuff were you sleep this is ideal for you, me i'm 41 and i like my small luxurys plus im tight and i think you shouldnt pay for basic things.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sid407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

I first came to Kavos in 1979, it was just a beach and a few tavernas, that has all changed!!

Wow, the resort was clean and all staff were helpful and friendly, from baggage help, reception staff, the restuarant, the shop, the pool, the room and veiws of the sea.

Kavos was empty with big beaches and very clean. Yes there was sea weed on beach but you are by the sea!! (I recall someone complaining of that- but these are public beaches!!) Sea was calm and interesting sea life.

During my week I saw people arriving to clean up the bars and prepare them for the onslaught of the party goers this month!!

Take a chance to spend time with the real locals, try their kind hospitally, many were there before the party people arrived and they are great people. Its not all about the booze but trying also their fantastic greek food. They as people are struggling with the high cost of the Euro and people preferring a burger and a beer, not their excellent food.

Pop into the Beach Taverna at far end on the beach. You see a lovely old Greek lady tending to the sun beds, preparing for each new user, She wears a white towel round her head, such a great character!! Plus eat in that Taverna "Likourgos", you wont regret it and if you have children, the owner may if he is not busy entertain them with cards & rope tricks!!

I found two lovely Greek resturants, one just before "Big Max" set back on main road, with big pine tree in the middle of its dining area, I wish I kept the name as I loved there food and the other well, I went their again on my last night, just try the MEZE plate. I did!! Called Olympia, opposite "Future", slightly down the side road!!

Now the Greek Night on Wednesday at the Complex was excellent!

Take a trip to Aquaworld, such great fun for all and those water shoots are so fast!!!!!

Take a walk to the hidden beach on the far side of Kavos, go to end turn right and you will end up with huge beach and little people on it!!

Take a trip to the villages above Kavos and apart from the far reaching views of Greece Mainland and Albania, try the local tavernas!! They struggle to make ends meet because they off the tourist route but the food, wow, I would go back !!!

My only hates was the winding roads from Kavos to Corfu town and coach drivers who insist driving with mobiles in one hand!!! They tell you wear seat beats!!!

Go on and book for May next year!!

And the weather was hot, hot, hot!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColEv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kavos hotels
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.6 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kavos
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#3 of 13 in Kavos
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ionian Sea View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Island Beach Resort
Island Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Kavos
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seafront Apartments
Seafront Apartments
#1 of 12 in Kavos
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympion Village

Property: Olympion Village
Address: Kavos 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympion Village 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympion Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympion Village Studios & Apartments Hotel Kavos
Olympion Village Studios And Apartments
Olympion Village Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing