We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont expect too much.Not too bad though”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympion Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olympion Village
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dont expect too much.Not too bad though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

just got back from a week in Kavos with my girlfriend.We stayed in the Olympion village apartments.When we arrived at around 2 in the morning after 13 hours travelling we were told they had cancelled all stays with our travel company.But to be fair the greasy alcoholic behind the reception put us in a decent room with a balcony and sea view like we payed for and said we could deal with it in the morning and they did phone our travel company and sort it.
The rooms were clean and spacious but the maids were useless overall.They cleaned our room twice all week.The old guy behind reception is miserable and useless and he isnt qualified to deal with customers.Alot of reviews complain about Penny and i think she is just mis understood.Shes a nice girl, she just doesnt like too much horseplay but dont worry, she has no power just tell her where to go. She is only a waitress/bar maid. The other bar maid was a legend and a hell of a laugh,so too was the boy behind the cocktail bar. The Chef is a nasty piece of work and spent the whole week giving me evils. Hope to see him in the UK one day.
The food at the hotel is decent and they do a greek night every thursday which is amazing!!! Wasps are a really big problem all over Corfu. Can potentially ruin your holiday. I would recommend trying to get room 214 as we stayed in this one and its positioned in a perfect position and we didnt get one mozzie in our room. Dont buy the 2 Euro beer anywhere on the island.i drank it for an entire day and didnt even flinch.on the fourth day out there i had a pint of carlsberg on tap in a bar and WOW what a difference.
In all fairness we had an amazing holiday and i think the people on the strip contributed to that.All the staff at JCs are amazing.i cnt name the dj cus his name contains swear words haha.legends. Go to TKDs and rodneys for a water melon! 21 shots of pure alcohol and fresh fruit mix and they do the best food. Overall i was shocked with the quality of food throughout the island. It was superb. U have to try Nikkos chicken kebab (gyros) and his massive pepperoni pizza slices at 3 euros. As i said before, the people that work the strip are amazing! the PR at jcs, 42nd street,roadblock,rodneys,tkds and tex mex desperados where class!! Jcs xmas party was a cracker (pun intended) We had the most useless rep ever.his name is Jason and he works for lord travel.Not gonna go into detail but hes my least favourite person in Corfu.

Room Tip: Choose room 214 and ask for the air con. You have to have air con to prevent mozzies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanbucke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    73
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
18
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just got back from the Olympion Village and i have to say i have mixed feelings about the place. When we first arrived at the hotel at mid afternoon after travelling all day we was told our room was not even ready by some misserable bloke at reception and told to go over to the restaurant and have a drink and wait an hour which we had to even pay for so was not a great start to the holiday. Things did improve during our time there but the rooms are basic and not really for people wanting to cook any of their own meals. We did have huge amounts of mozzies in the room for the first night or two but we had 2 of the plug in sprays and that seemed to get rid of them for the rest of the holiday. The staff all seemed very friendly and i did chat to all of them even the 'misserable' bloke from reception redeemed himself when we had problems with the toilet he literally sent someone over to the room to fix it within minutes. No issues with the restaurant or the bar.
Only reason i would never go back is because Kavos is a very dirty place only really suitable for 18yr old kids going on their first holiday without parents. Me and my friend are both 24 and we felt very old there we've done all the binge drinking before we wanted a bit peace and quiet but if you dont leave the hotel after about 7pm then you could have that but as theres no entertainment on in the hotel theres nothing else to do. We hired quad bikes whilst out there and had a nose around the island and honestly the rest of the island is lovely just avoid kavos!!
Also if you don't like eating chips with every meal including breakfast dont come to kavos!
If you have your heart set on staying in Kavos i would definitely recommend this hotel though it looked alot nicer than any of the others there and all the others seemed to let anyone come in and use the pool and showers whereas at the olympian its guests only.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view we had a ground floor room but i think a first floor room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomclark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in the Olympion on 17th September, awhile the bar staff couldn't do enough for you, reception staff dont do anything! I bought a hoody from local shops costing €25, the maids came to clean our room, the hoody was on the bed, when we got back it was gone. Apparently the maid didn't take it either by accident or on purpose. There was no offer of getting me another one and instead they asked if our room was locked - which of course it was. I then waited today in the room for the maids coming, to make sure nothing else got stolen, the maids cleaned next door and down stairs but not our room which i thought was petty and immature. There was also hundreds and i mean hundreds of wasps, crawling over you all day, and swarming you when you ate. Nice hotel and the older man on reception was lovely but the young girl was unhelpful and arsey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 5th-15th Sept 2012 with 3 friends, it is in a decent location and only a 5 minute walk away from the main strip, which absolutely stinks.
I often seen the cleaners in and around the hotel but im not sure what they actually did because the rooms were never any cleaner after they had been in.
Beware of 'Penny' who works in the hotel resturant and bar during the daytime.She likes to hunt people down and hand out fines for absolutely nothing. One day she decided to run over to my group and scream at us demanding we paid a 500€ fine for having a bottle of fanta and a can of coke by the pool which we bought from the hotel shop. She was informed of where she could stick her fine. Apart from Penny, we found the other bar and resturant staff friendly and less aggressive towards people staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a non-unformed gentleman behind the reception counter, he gave us our key and directions to our room, we were informed of a 70 Euro charge for air-conditioning and a safe.. You'll need some sort of air ventilation, I know there is air con to be bought, but HOLD on, do not pay it.. We rented a quad for the day (20 euros), and found an electrical store out of town, who sold us a huge, good fan for 20 euros. Try sneak it around the back though, and hide it when the cleaners come as apparently they go mad - one of many examples of poor customer service.

The rooms are fairly clean, and the maids come into the room whilst you are asleep, and start cleaning around you..(they should definitely asked if they should come back later).The cleaners do not even clean they should be called bin men, all they do is empty the bins and brush the floor. and do a poor job of it. The bathroom does not have ventilation so be prepared to shower with the window open, and the floor is always so wet and damp - quite disgusting! The towels were only changed once within our weeks stay... But to add salt in the wound, when I went into reception, I was flagged up and told we owed 20 euros AS THERE WAS A SMALL MARK ON THE TOWEL. We also found BLOOD on our pillows, mould on walls, and used socks on wardrobes etc. Also, do not leave any food lying around on the floor, such as crumbs, because the ants WILL find it, and they come in huge packs.

The general facilities of the room are adequate, however, please do buy some bug spray, as the mosquitoes and wasps are ENDLESS.

The poolside is quite clean and tidy, and there are always spare sunbeds. Be prepared to be charged a 2.40 euros for a umbrella and sun lounge mat - per day, per bed.

The restaurant sells good food, fairly priced, but the drinks are not.. 2.50 for can of coke.

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE, TERRIBLE EVEN.. see below

- If you want to bring your own food and drink down to the poolside, do not; because a lady from the restaurant called PENNY will literally CHARGE over and SHOUT (yes, shout) at you, in front of everyone, and DEMAND that you go to the reception and pay a 500 euro fine.. This one lad said no, and she kept coming back every 5 minutes and persisting... But hang on, here's the best bit... You are not allowed to bring drinks or food, EVEN FROM THEIR OWN MINI SHOP! - So, if you bought a can of coke for a euro from there on site shop, you'd be told to take it back to your room/pay a massive fine, and instead, BUY THE SAME THING FROM THE BAR FOR 2.50???? Its like, WHAT?!?!?! You can tell this country (Greece) is going bust, they will rob you at any point.

- One morning, we thought we'd go to the restaurant from breakfast, and we ignored when asking if they were still serving.. Eventually, after the second time of asking, we were told that they were only cooking bacon and sausages.. No thanks, I'll go down the hill...

- Nobody manning the reception, sometimes you'd have to wait a few minutes until someone turned up..

- RIDICULOUS CHARGES, see the picture I've added... It'll put you right off, and it is not just a threat, they WILL charge you.

Finally, please note that the hill walking down the strip is unlit and at some points dangerous, always walk in groups and try not to take hang bags out etc.. Also, stick to one side as cars come flying round the corners... Note that the mini market it also expensive, open till around 11ish at night.

Overall, an below par hotel, I would put it in the same league as the post office for customer service.. (awful). Hotel is good for what most people are there for.. But please mind the trip wires (fines etc)..

Places to go: JC's Bar, Pulse for food, Crash bar for some pumping music.

Avoid: Sizzlers

If you are thinking of coming to Kavos, scrap the idea, go to Magaluf for a party holiday.. Or for a relaxing holiday, go to the Algarve, on south of France or something.. Believe me.

Hope you benefit from the review.

Thanks :) Harry (Stayed between 7th and 15th September with my girlfriend)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

currently at the olympian village stopping in a maisonette and it is very nice and clean, be prepared to fork out 69euros as soon as you walk through the door for air con and safe, pool area is big and plenty of beds and theres no rush to get up, if you go b&b like us thares plenty of choice for breakfast but you dont get alot and to be honest you can walk down to the main road and get a large full english for 2.90 , they are very strict around the pool with bringing your own food and drink in and if you mess around Penny the girl who runs the bar will threaten you with a fine :) overall the place is a great base to party down the kavos strip

Room Tip: if you like greek food try pefkos restuarant and also the olympian restaurant , otherwise plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarlingtonPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just come back from here after being advised by our tour operator and the fact that we got a free child place that this was a top destination they couldn't of been further from the truth this destination is purely aimed at 18 30s or hardcore party goers who sleep all day and party all night which don't get me wrong I don't mind but when you have a two year old it is not good there is nothing that caters for young children at all and the music is blaring out at full blast from the hours of one in the morning till dawn the strip itself looks brilliant at night for party goers but when morning comes it resembles the local tip in looks as well as smells

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kavos hotels
0.6 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.3 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#4 of 14 in Kavos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ionian Sea View Hotel
0.8 mi away
Koulouris Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kavos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympion Village

Property: Olympion Village
Address: Kavos 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympion Village 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Olympion Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympion Village Studios & Apartments Hotel Kavos
Olympion Village Studios And Apartments
Olympion Village Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing