We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not expect any customer service.. But do expect BIG fines!”
Review of Olympion Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olympion Village
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a non-unformed gentleman behind the reception counter, he gave us our key and directions to our room, we were informed of a 70 Euro charge for air-conditioning and a safe.. You'll need some sort of air ventilation, I know there is air con to be bought, but HOLD on, do not pay it.. We rented a quad for the day (20 euros), and found an electrical store out of town, who sold us a huge, good fan for 20 euros. Try sneak it around the back though, and hide it when the cleaners come as apparently they go mad - one of many examples of poor customer service.

The rooms are fairly clean, and the maids come into the room whilst you are asleep, and start cleaning around you..(they should definitely asked if they should come back later).The cleaners do not even clean they should be called bin men, all they do is empty the bins and brush the floor. and do a poor job of it. The bathroom does not have ventilation so be prepared to shower with the window open, and the floor is always so wet and damp - quite disgusting! The towels were only changed once within our weeks stay... But to add salt in the wound, when I went into reception, I was flagged up and told we owed 20 euros AS THERE WAS A SMALL MARK ON THE TOWEL. We also found BLOOD on our pillows, mould on walls, and used socks on wardrobes etc. Also, do not leave any food lying around on the floor, such as crumbs, because the ants WILL find it, and they come in huge packs.

The general facilities of the room are adequate, however, please do buy some bug spray, as the mosquitoes and wasps are ENDLESS.

The poolside is quite clean and tidy, and there are always spare sunbeds. Be prepared to be charged a 2.40 euros for a umbrella and sun lounge mat - per day, per bed.

The restaurant sells good food, fairly priced, but the drinks are not.. 2.50 for can of coke.

BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE, TERRIBLE EVEN.. see below

- If you want to bring your own food and drink down to the poolside, do not; because a lady from the restaurant called PENNY will literally CHARGE over and SHOUT (yes, shout) at you, in front of everyone, and DEMAND that you go to the reception and pay a 500 euro fine.. This one lad said no, and she kept coming back every 5 minutes and persisting... But hang on, here's the best bit... You are not allowed to bring drinks or food, EVEN FROM THEIR OWN MINI SHOP! - So, if you bought a can of coke for a euro from there on site shop, you'd be told to take it back to your room/pay a massive fine, and instead, BUY THE SAME THING FROM THE BAR FOR 2.50???? Its like, WHAT?!?!?! You can tell this country (Greece) is going bust, they will rob you at any point.

- One morning, we thought we'd go to the restaurant from breakfast, and we ignored when asking if they were still serving.. Eventually, after the second time of asking, we were told that they were only cooking bacon and sausages.. No thanks, I'll go down the hill...

- Nobody manning the reception, sometimes you'd have to wait a few minutes until someone turned up..

- RIDICULOUS CHARGES, see the picture I've added... It'll put you right off, and it is not just a threat, they WILL charge you.

Finally, please note that the hill walking down the strip is unlit and at some points dangerous, always walk in groups and try not to take hang bags out etc.. Also, stick to one side as cars come flying round the corners... Note that the mini market it also expensive, open till around 11ish at night.

Overall, an below par hotel, I would put it in the same league as the post office for customer service.. (awful). Hotel is good for what most people are there for.. But please mind the trip wires (fines etc)..

Places to go: JC's Bar, Pulse for food, Crash bar for some pumping music.

Avoid: Sizzlers

If you are thinking of coming to Kavos, scrap the idea, go to Magaluf for a party holiday.. Or for a relaxing holiday, go to the Algarve, on south of France or something.. Believe me.

Hope you benefit from the review.

Thanks :) Harry (Stayed between 7th and 15th September with my girlfriend)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

currently at the olympian village stopping in a maisonette and it is very nice and clean, be prepared to fork out 69euros as soon as you walk through the door for air con and safe, pool area is big and plenty of beds and theres no rush to get up, if you go b&b like us thares plenty of choice for breakfast but you dont get alot and to be honest you can walk down to the main road and get a large full english for 2.90 , they are very strict around the pool with bringing your own food and drink in and if you mess around Penny the girl who runs the bar will threaten you with a fine :) overall the place is a great base to party down the kavos strip

Room Tip: if you like greek food try pefkos restuarant and also the olympian restaurant , otherwise plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarlingtonPhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just come back from here after being advised by our tour operator and the fact that we got a free child place that this was a top destination they couldn't of been further from the truth this destination is purely aimed at 18 30s or hardcore party goers who sleep all day and party all night which don't get me wrong I don't mind but when you have a two year old it is not good there is nothing that caters for young children at all and the music is blaring out at full blast from the hours of one in the morning till dawn the strip itself looks brilliant at night for party goers but when morning comes it resembles the local tip in looks as well as smells

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazzab79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just got back from these apartments after a weeks stay with 7 girls. The location is pretty good although the walk down to the strip is down a poorly lit road, bit dodgy if your on your own!
The rooms are basic, but we only paid £400 for the week so we weren't expecting the ritz! It is however the nicest hotel we seen in kavos.

The rooms were clean on arrival although towels were a bit of an issue as the maids only replaced them once during the week. Our bed sheets were also only changed once too. Air con was £50 euros per unit for the week which is pretty expensive if your in a 2 bed apartment as you will need it, it was 37 degrees every day! On arrival our bathroom didn't have a shower curtain so the bathroom ended up like a wet room however a couple of days in one appeared!

The food in the pool bar was always nice and good value for money, drinks were pretty cheap too! Staff were very helpful and friendly and always had a smile on their face. Music was always played around the pool all day and we never had to compete for sunbeds.

One gripe however is that there was a massive problem with wasps round the pool during the day. Obviously its expected in warm countries but when there is 6/7 swarming around your lunch it kind of puts you off. We all got munched by mozzies at night too so make sure to take your bug spray!

As the hotel was mostly filled with 18-24s, it was pretty noisy at night hence why this is not suited for families.

If you haven't been to kavos before, the strip during the day is disgusting but at night you don't really realise it and the nightlife is brilliant. Head to JCs (just down the road from olympian village) and get the original 'haribo headf*****', guaranteed to get you well on your way to a good night! We found that people didn't really go out til 1/2 am so dont be rushing to get ready. We headed to the supermarket and got some alcohol to pre drink with which most people seemed to do!

Most PRs on the strip will compete to get you in the bar and offer you deals such as '2 pints of cocktail, 2 shots and a fishbowl' for 5 euros. Its a good deal but your more likely to get drunker going to proper bars such as fresh and rodneys where its actual proper alcohol! By the end of the week i was sick of the sight of sex on the beach!

Rodneys do the watermelons full of cocktail for 10 euros each, you have to try these! AMAZING! TKDs is the sister restaurant to Rodneys and we had a beautiful meal here on the last night. The drunken squid is also lovely and the portions are HUGE!

I would recommend Kavos to all you young people looking for a good time however i would most definitely not recommend the resort to older people or families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLC1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just got back from staying at this hotel. It was actually very nice and perfect if you want to stay somewhere that is just off of the strip. Most reviews have said about the hill up to the hotel and gypsy's riding up and down it trying to mug people but we didn't find it a problem but don't walk up it alone just to be safe as we were probably very lucky. You do get made to pay for a safe and air con. The safe was very useful but we only used the air con once and found it better when we had the doors and windows open, although you do get bit more! I came back with 41 bites in total! Make sure you take bite relief! Oh and make sure you clean up any food you drop straight away cause you will have an infestation of ants! The wasps are very annoying and you can't do anything about them but swat them away unfortunately.The pool was very nice and warm most days, didn't really need to get up early to reserve sun beds as there were always some available. We had the Sun sex and suspicious parent's film crew and boys stay here which was quite awkward at times trying to stay out of the view of the camera. The room was good and spacious, maids weren't a problem at all! They tended to clean around you if you were still in the room but tried to clean when they knew you were out. The kitchen was very basic, 2 saucepans, a 2 ring hob thing and a toastie machine. There are charges if you break something but as long as you're careful you should be fine. They are very strict on bringing people back to the hotel but the security guard is very lovely and is only looking out for the safety of you and other guests in the hotel! The food was okay, breakfast was good but only ate lunch there once and there are better places to eat on the strip.

Kavos is quite smelly! No idea why but it is. If you want to go when it is busier go earlier in the season but I quite liked that it wasn't heaving! The foam party was fun! 20 euros for a ticket and free bar all night. Full moon party was okay but make sure you pre drink loads cause drinks are really expensive in Atlantis. Make sure you get a Watermelon at Rodney's! It's 10 euros per person but it's amazing and gets you really drunk! They have a live singer there who is very very good! Sings a lot of Ed Sheeran but that wasn't a problem for me as I really like him. Rodney's is at the opposite end of the strip but if you tell the PR's that's where you're going, you won't be bothered as they all know you're going for a Watermelon!
As the week goes on you usually get to know some of the PR's and if you actually stop and talk to them a couple of times they usually leave you alone and just say hello and ask where you're going. Okay they can get annoying but this is their job and if you actually listen to the offers they're telling you, it is actually worthwhile for you and they usually work around how much money you have and try to get you the best deal! Mostly they all offer 2 drinks, 2 shots and a fishbowl to share for 5euros which is actually really good anyway.

Places to eat: Many restaurants give you leaflets for offers such as 3 courses for 8 euros etc. We found that you definitely get what you pay for. The places that are slightly more expensive definitely serve the better food!
TKD's was amazing! Very nice PR's outside as well! Big portions and very good value for money!! It's ran by the same guy who owns Rodney's so you can get a watermelon there too if you can't be bothered to walk to Rodney's. Desperados was also very very nice! Ate there twice and it was very very nice each time. Sizzlers was okay if you want cheap tasting food. Eve's Garden was disgusting!! Arjee Bahgee next door to it was very nice. A mix of chinese and indian food and was very good value for money. The PR Piers was very nice too! Penny's Kitchen for breakfast! They do a 'Brits breakfast' for 2.90 and was very good! We went to eat at the Drunken Squid but the soft drinks they served us were disgusting and so watered down! We just paid for the drinks and left, Spencer the PR is very nice though. He's been working there around 4 years I think and has the drunken squid logo tattooed on his leg!

Make sure you go to Aqualand! It was amazing! It's 35 euros and was the best day ever!

Overall Kavos is nice if you want to have a good holiday with your friends. Definitely not a place for families and small children!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Staff are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious and the maids regularly clean (but unfortunately do not give new bedsheets). There are sufficient utensils in the kitchen to make your own dinner (hob, frying pans, pots, toastie machine) and food can be purchaed at the cheap supermarket in the hotel. The hotel is about three minutes' walk from the strip down a straight road. The restaurant in the hotel has lovely food and is very cheap - our entire meals were always under 10 euros. Music is played around the pool all day. The cocktail bar is lovely and also sells laughing gas cheaper than on the strip. Most of the guests in the hotel are groups of friends aged 18-30 with only a few older couples or families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We went to this hotel in July 2012 as a group of couples.

We has a good time but the rooms are basic and the bathrooms are tiny with very old shower curtains which stick to you when your in the shower!urgh! And the water is always cold.The rooms are spacious the air con isnt the best but it will do when its 40 degrees!There are loads of mosquitos. The best bars are at the far end of the strip a good 15 minute walk from this hotel. The barn bar we enjoyed the best. The Island Beach Hotel is good and always has good events on like

If your looking for somewhere good to eat Russos's on the front near the pier is gorgeous and the druken squid is good with massive portions which will put you in a food coma!

Dont book transfers through lowcost holidays as they wait for planes to land before they allow your transfer to set off. We waited for 2 hours before we even left the airport and then its a long transfer for 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
0.3 mi away
Quayside Village
Quayside Village
#3 of 14 in Kavos
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kavos
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
533 reviews
14.3 mi away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#11 of 17 in Benitses
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Erofili Hotel
Erofili Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kavos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympion Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympion Village

Address: Kavos 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Price Range: $24 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympion Village 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olympion Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympion Village Studios & Apartments Hotel Kavos
Olympion Village Studios And Apartments
Olympion Village Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing