We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Sailors Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sailors Apartments
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my friend got there on the 17th June 13 and when we got there the old man was very nice and welcoming and his son billy we didn't think it was nosy wen we asked to move to a room to out the back which they had no promblems at all in doing at frist out room was right at the front and was loud room was very clean and the pool was lovely and the hotel is right in the beach I would stay here again as I found the family who ran the hotel really friendly the only thing I don't like is the fat old bozze cruise man trying to sell u tickets and if u didnt buy one him giving u crap he walk around by the pool of the hotel and the beach I would say if u want a ticket buy one from the rep or the shop

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benny199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Sailors Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Me and my sister booked a flight and hotel deal for kavos and stayed at the sailors apartments for a week. Before we left, i got a bit worried after reading some bad reviews of sailors, but we were both really positively surprised when we arrived!
We got room nr. 3 which had an amazing view of the beach and pool area.
The rooms were really basic, but clean and spacious with a small kitchenette, bathroom and a large bedroom with two single beds.

I feel there are a couple of issues i must address to those of you considering staying here and reading the reviews:

- the "sleazy fat man" selling tickets IS really annoying (we quickly recognized him) but he walks up and down the ENTIRE beach all day, so he will try and sell you tickets and talk to you when you don´t want to regardless of where you are staying..!

- the"hotel" is home to approx. 5 cats (i counted..) four of which were kittens at the time of our stay, and they are treated kindly, with love, by the owners. I´m quite allergic to cats so this worried me before our trip, but they lounge about in the shadows and don´t bother anyone so it didn´t affect me in any way!

-The loud music...!! All i have to say on that matter is that this is Kavos, and the sailors apartments is located on the strip...i don´t think you can stay anywhere in Kavos if you are bothered by loud music- either at the beach, in the restaurants or be it your hotel! Sailors is located just off the beach so it could have been a lot worse, noice wise, compared to most of the hotels which are located on the main road next to the clubs!

I feel like we got our moneys worth staying at sailors (you do get what you pay for..and we did not expect a 5 star hotel, we knew it was a cheap, and therefore our expectations were not high)

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 all have a large shared balcony with the most amazing view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingchick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been staying at Sailors Apartments since it was called O'Naftis, over 20 years ago.
In my experience, the rooms are spotless and in the typical Greek style. The views from the front apartments (facing beach) are breathtaking, you can see the Greek mainland in the distance and look down on the restaurant, pool and beach, great people watching! From the rear the views are looking towards the strip and the other apartments and the lovely gardens below. The gardens are lush and lemon trees, oleander, bouganvillia scent the air in the evening. Its true that over the years more clubs have opened and you can hear music at night, but no-one is getting up for work in the morning and its all part of the holiday experience. The building is situated on the nicest part of the strip and easy for transport to Corfu Town & other resorts. You may well see some pretty Greek cats curled up in the sunshine, I find it charming and all part of the Kavos ambiance. Its a family run business and the owners - who have become my friends over the years - try their hardest to provide a friendly, attractive, comfortable accomodation with a typical Greek 'feel' for those who want a place to chill from the grey skies of the UK.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach have a lovely large balcony and the view is addictive!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went there last year and are still scarred from the awful experience. Plastic mattress and smal beds, a dirty broken shower. Cats were everywhere. Music til 5am blasting into the room. The worst was the sleazy fat man selling tickets to go see dolphins at a private beach, this turned out to be a crap hole grass beach no dolphin and was a booze cruise not suitable for a relaxing day. Total rip off, avoid if possible better to sleep on the beach instead!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is extremely basic. You are given towels and bed linen but the quality of the room is pretty bad. The sheets have holes in and stains on them and the shower is dreadful. There is a fridge in the room (though ours didn't really work properly - we put our water in the freezer to keep it cool) and you get basic cooking utensils. The room is cleaned most days, but by cleaned I mean they sweep the floor and change the bins so its not as thorough as you'd like! The room was boiling hot and they charge 35 euros a week for air con which we decided was too expensive. It has a good location right in the middle of the strip, though dont expect to get any sleep at any time of day or night, because as soon as they turn of the club music at around 7am the hotel next door starts playing really loud poolside music from around 9am. The staff arent too bad although the owner was very rude to us! The best part for us was the pool, it was quite empty most of the time and had sunbeds free to use. The pool was very clean and kept well, a good place to sunbathe and no booming music which means you can have a nap while you sunbathe! Overall the rooms arent great but to be honest for the price you are paying they arent horrific, and the reason I'm being generous with the 2 out of 5 if because of the pool!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpandis, Owner at Sailors Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Heather S,

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at Sailors Apartments but we were never informed by you that you were having such difficulties with the room that we offered you. The fact that we were not given the opportunity to rectify the situation is unusual and most guests will complain if they have problems with their stay and another room will be offered.In fact there is no problem with the fridge in that room; it was merely set too low and if you had told us it was not working properly we would have fixed it immediately. The apartments are indeed basic but this is a direct reflection of the fact that we actually only receive 12 EUR per night per room. It is not possible to offer the same level of quality as expected by a hotel in the United Kingdom with these prices.

We have been in Kavos since 1970, and the owner has a lot of experience with dealing with guests. We would like to know in what way was he rude to you? We are very surprised when it was mentioned that the owner is being rude to his guests, as the previous review mentions that he was very hospitable.

With regards to the air con; it is standard practice here in Kavos to charge extra for it; all hotels do it because the prices paid to us are so low that it is impossible to offer it for free.Please note that the cost of electricity and prices in general are incredibly high in Greece due to the well publicized economic crisis in the country.

Kind Regards
Sailors Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

i just came back from kavos, where i stayed at the sailors hotel. for me everything was perfect. room was basic, nice and tidy , with everything you need( cooker , big fridge, toaster etc..).the location even more better :in the middle of the strip!they have a nice swimming pool like 10 m away from the beach, great views. i booked this holiday for me and my husband an at first i wasn't sure about this place because we are not kind of party people, and i was afraid that the noise is gonna be a problem but you know what there are so many things to do( boat trips ,aqualand , shopping,etc..) that in the evening after dinner i was falling asleep straight away till next day!! if you are a pet lover you will love this place, the owners are verry friendly and always there at your request.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The actual room itself wasn't too bad. There is a maid that cleans everyday and she was friendly and polite. The owner was also polite and helpful. We had to pay an extra 7 euros per night per bedroom for air con so it's an added expense if your on a budget. Overall the room was fine and served its purpose.

The noise from the club opposite is almost unbearable, you might as well be sleeping in the club it's that loud. Unless your out every single night of your holiday there is no way u will sleep if your not totally smashed.It's stops around 5am.

The pool is really nice and the beach a few steps further again with gorgeous views! The bar is quite pricey but the food was reasonable and very tasty. Perfect place to nurse a hangover during the day (if you don't mind cats!)

This hotel is only for serious clubbers and is literally right in the middle of the strip so if partying is what u Want then go!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kavos
0.1 mi away
San Marina Hotel
San Marina Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kavos
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Kormos
Villa Kormos
#3 of 3 in Lefkimi
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Athina
Athina
#10 of 63 in Kavos
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Biscoutsis Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Evgenios Studios
Evgenios Studios
#22 of 63 in Kavos
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Konstantina Apartments & Studios
Konstantina Apartments & Studios
#20 of 33 in Agios Gordios
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailors Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailors Apartments

Address: Kavos beach, Kavos 490 80, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kavos
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kavos
Price Range: $14 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailors Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAILORS BEACH, is a family run business and was one of the first apt/hotel in Kavos. We are located right in the center of Kavos, walking distance to all main bars, clubs and restaurants. We offer a more relaxed atmosphere from mid May to mid June. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sailors Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailors Beach Hotel Kavos
Sailors Apartments Kavos, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing