We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical, simple, authentic eco-hotel on the beach run by warm hosts and frequented by interesting guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Playa La Roca Ecohotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Riohacha B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A magical, simple, authentic eco-hotel on the beach run by warm hosts and frequented by interesting guests.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent a wonderful 10 days on my own at Playa la Roca where I felt immediately both welcomed and integrated. The group seating at mealtimes and the warm hospitality create an environment enabling open, ready friendships.

Run by a Colombian family which has lived for 40 years among the indigenous people's of the area, the place has an authentic and laid back feel and informs the beautifully realized rustic architecture. They are also very knowledgeable and can organize everything from day trips to more far ranging transport.

Tasty food with local ingredients (let them know in advance of food restrictions as it is a no choice menu) which sometimes leaves you unfortunately wanting seconds.

Simplicity is the word, so do not expect luxe, but everything is impeccably clean and tastefully done. Ask for a cabaña as the rooms in the main building can be less than private and somewhat noisy as they open to the main eating, common area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodyb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    24
    13
    6
    11
See reviews for
35
49
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really liked this family-run hotel. Mario, the hotel owner, speaks excellent English (and Spanish) and goes out of his way to help you. The food was the best we have had. Home-cooked, varied, and fresh.

The hotel is right on the beach and you can hear it. The water was too rough for us to go in but other times of the year it is perfectly safe.

Guests mingled with each other and there was a very friendly atmosphere. We had good chats with many different Colombians.

The only minus was that our spacious room (in the main building) was warm. It didn't really cool despite us having the windows open all night. My friend didn't seem bothered with the heat but I was. The cabins are better ventilated.

Mario took us to see a local water fall and to Tayrona National Park. He knows the fauna and flora intimately, as well as the local history. He had all the time in the world for our many questions and was happy to share his knowledge.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindarosenstroemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a unique and very special place, particularly if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing getaway that's well away from the standard beach-tourist scene. The rooms and cabanas are built by hand using local materials. The food is fresh and good and local. It's a real example of a beautiful, low-key way to experience this fantastic natural stretch of coastline. Most important, the family that runs Playa la Roca and all the staff are very kind and helpful and care very much about what they're doing. We stayed for three nights and would have happily stayed longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We needed a clean and quiet place for three nights so we could enjoy a beautiful beach without vendors and a clean blue sea. We got that and were not - yes: not - disappointed. Certainly after we had seen the dark and gloomy Arricifes bungalows in the Tayrona National Park that we were initially booked, but which appeared to be full.

We got a very nice room, see photo, in the bottom half of the hut. Ample, clean, and about 10 meters from the beach. (In Arrecifes in Tayrona one has to walk about 30 minutes to be able to swim safely) About that bathing at La Roca; Yes, the sea can be rough, but we discovered that the tides have much to do with that. And the wind. On our second day we could swim at our leasure. (the write of this review is 65). Good beach, parasols. Chairs could see some more care.

As to the general upkeep of Playa la Roca, yes, not everything has been painted yesterday, but overall everything is in very good condition. Do not forget this is the toughest climate one can get. Waves and rollers with spray from the sea at your doorstep, sun, heat, rain - mostly end afternoon and night. Very tough!

The food at the three daily meals - this is not a B&B, but there is full board - was totally to our liking. Very fresh, wholesome and absolutely enough for us 50+ people. Some young Italians needed more, and they got it, no problem. We like wine: it was available, good and cheap for Colombian standards.

We love the idea of the communal table. Great fun in the evening - with the mixed Italian/Colombian people at were there, and also with a Colombian couple that joined in the Dinner's wine. The breakfast was delicious, and so the lunch and dinner. A extra plate of cheese and olives was no problem, after coming back from a hard (hot!) morning and afternoon walk in the Park.

The staff were sweet. The owners made us totally feel at home, and were very informed and talkative about Colombia and its past and present. Our trip to the Park with owner Mario was a highlight of our Colombian Experience. For photo's: Google to Sander van Hulsenbeek Photography.

Did we have some peeves. A few, but to unimportant to mention here. OK, one: we would a have like a good wifi. Maybe for our next visit?

Is it a hotel for backpackers? They wish! But yes, the atmosphere is like at home, or in an informal backpackers hotel. This is not a resort with a pool, airconned dining, and snotty waiters! It is a beach experience of the best kind!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the outside bungalows: some new should be ready the moment this was written, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Four retired ladies decided to visit Palomino. We needed a clean and quiet place for two nights so we could enjoy a beautiful beach without vendors and a clean blue sea. We just came back from this B&B.

PROS:
The owners are very nice as well as the staff. It is located on a huge secluded beach and the landscape is charming. The hotel has rustic and basic facilities.
The food is quite good but scarce, especially fruit and salad.
It is a hotel for backpackers.

CONS:
The hotel is built on a slope and on a road with heavy traffic.
The sea is extremely dangerous with high waves, perfect for young surfers and for very good swimmers but totally prohibited for children or elderly persons. No lifeguards on the beach. Uncomfortable double beds and although we requested a bed, one of us had to sleep on two mattresses placed on the floor. Lots of noise at night from the dining/living room next to our rooms.
We will not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trinitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaLaRoca, Owner at Playa La Roca Ecohotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear guests, we regret very much that these are your comments about the hotel and its services, because our intention was always to serve you the best. Des fortunately do not agree with his views but all comments are taken into account. But for backpackers, this place was made for people sensitive to nature and human relationships frank and spontaneous. Unfortunately not all visitors comply with this profile, and some are released especially after party. Success in their next trips we wish the owners and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

La Playa Roca is truly a found paradise. The setting is picture postcard perfect. It's quiet and tranquil. The cabanas are unique, colorful and comfortable (I could pick a banana off the tree while showering).
All meals are included and are healthy as well as yummy.
The owners treat you like long lost friends and make you feel at home.
I've travelled extensively and this place is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhdenver50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Valle del Cauca, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I found this lovely B&B from tripadvisor and called to go there on my last trip to Santa Marta. The hotel is located at the very north end of Magdalena, about 10 min (driving distance) from Rio Palomino. Next day I was there and was amazed: never imagined such a beatiful place was done entirely by the owners: The linens, soap, the "Kioskos", they even have a small shop in which they sell their own 100% cotton produce (clothing) at very reasonable prices. This is a place where taste and tranquility meet nature and endless beaches meet the moon. Outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riohacha
2.7 mi away
Aite Hotel Resort
Aite Hotel Resort
#1 of 4 in Palomino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Mandala
Hotel Playa Mandala
#2 of 4 in Palomino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
50.4 mi away
Hotel Taroa
Hotel Taroa
#1 of 5 in Riohacha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
13.0 mi away
Merecumbe Hotel
Merecumbe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Buritaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Tiki Hut Hostel Palomino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa La Roca Ecohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa La Roca Ecohotel

Property: Playa La Roca Ecohotel
Address: km 69 Via Santa Marta - Rioacha, Riohacha, Colombia
Location: Colombia > La Guajira Department > Riohacha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Riohacha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa La Roca Ecohotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Playa La Roca Ecohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing