We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located a five minute walk from the centre of Villa de Leyva, but it is a pleasant stroll and perfectly safe to wander around the town, even at night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel beautiful, with well maintained rooms and bathrooms, lovely grounds and central areas (wifi in central areas only).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 57 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were brought to Villa de Leyva by our russian friend who lives permanently in Colombia. He wanted to show us some bright locations of this country to give us "the taste" of true Colombia. Rustic hotel was planned to be a part of the experience and it did impress both in pleasant and not nice ways.
La Mesopotamia was bult as I was told in XXVI century and still keeps that magnificient atmosphere of conquistadors' epoch in all the details of architecture and furnishing. Staying there for 2 nights were like placing ourselves into time mashine, magnificient! Breakfasts were pretty good, yet nothing special. They have a cosy bar and a clean pool as well.
The weak points of the place are unsmiling staff, difficulties with having hot water in the room (it must be switched on outside your room and for the first time you'll need to call staff for help), ancient internet - well, that can be a strong point if you want to take a dip into rural latin-american life, lol. In the morning I discovered that my legs are covered with some evidence of wild-life in my bed. Still don't know what exactly it was, but luckily nothing serious. These marks went off in several days. But better check your bedsheets before you go to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mariposa_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I found it beautiful, yeah kind of rough but still beautiful. Didn't find another so beautiful, charming and original. Amazing gardens and a lovely swimming pool that gives you peace and tranquility. If you like artistic and original stuff highly recommended. Well and if you go to Colombia go for the things you are not gonna find in your country and that are rarely colorful and folkloric.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
6  Thank Liliana076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed here for two nights a couple of days ago, and having heard very good things about the hotel was rather disappointed. We stayed in a cabin in a field uphill from the main hotel complex so had no problems with noise, but the rooms were very basic and dilapidated. If you stay here be sure to check your shoes/bed/shower for scorpions as we saw quite a few of them, which was slightly worrying. The main hotel complex is charming, with little streams running alongside the paths and a large freshwater pool. The staff were unsmiling and unfriendly. Overall this is a cheap hotel with a fair bit of charm in a good location, but which is in need of an overhaul.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nomoresorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We chose this hotel because of its nice emplacement (in the outskirts of the village, gardens, far from the busy square) but...It turned out to be very noisy. You can hear people in the corridors, in the gardens
...One night we heard drunken guests arrive, ring the bell several times to be let in and turn up the music in their rooms.The second night at 1 am the same happened...but it turned out to be the bar of the hotel that decided to turn up the music to the maximum to greet some guests...

Next morning I spoke to the owner in the nicest tone saying I did not think the bar should play loud music in the middle of the night. He didn´t even let me finish what I had to say and was just so rude that even the receptionist was apologizing afterwards....(He even told me to stop opening my eyes because there was nothing he could do (whatever that means!!!!!!!) and that I was a nobody to scold him!!!!). Incredible!!!!!

All of this happened after we had to change rooms because in the first one there was no hot water...In both beds are hard and everythings has this weird, not clen smell....

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CatColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

The hotel is set in an old mill on the edge of town. The location and the gardens are really beautiful but the buildings are very run down and in need of renovation.

There was interesting wildlife in the bedroom and bathroom (lots of strange insects and we also found a scorpion crawling across the ceiling). Our bedroom was fairly large (but very basic) but I noticed other bedrooms which were small and which only had windows overlooking the interior of the building so very dark. The beds were hard and the bed linen not great. The staff were scowling most of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank griffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casa de Adobe
Hotel Casa de Adobe
#8 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#5 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
#7 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia

Address: Carrera 8 No. 15A - 265, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Villa de Leyva
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia we have a centenarian wheat flour mill and a mystic and majestic water spring in a fourth hundred years old colonial house, embellished with fossils, art, beautiful gardens and landscapes. But above all we have the joy of being part of the happy memories of the customers and families who have chosen to stay with us over fifty years. Thank you for accompanying us in our journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Molino la Mesopotamia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Molino La Mesopotamia Hotel Villa De Leyva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing