We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious... can't help not goin back every time”

La Galleta Pasteleria Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Villa de Leyva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Medellín, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Delicious... can't help not goin back every time”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

All the desserts they serve are delicious and haven't tried one I didn't like. I really recommend all of them not being able to mention a specific one.
They have two sites and I guess I preffer their original one, which is three blocks from the main park on the way to Duruelo (Hotel).
Sincerely, you have to try them out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    110
    16
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best Milojas in the world”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The coffee is very good, and pretty much all pastries we tasted were delicious... but there are few things in this world as delicious as the home-made miloja they offer. Similar to a Napoleon, it consists of layers of flaky pastry, cream, and caramel sauce. A true delicacy and perhaps the most delicious dessert I have had in a while. I would go back over and over to eat it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab cakes, good choice of teas”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Top class cakes available, comfy sofa at the back. Bit of traffic noise coming in from the street. There's another smaller branch couple of blocks up from Calle Calliente which has no sofa but is without the traffic noise.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Bad service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in La Galleta on January 3/13 with my relatives around 6 PM. We make the order and wait more tahn half hour and never was delivered. We were annoyyend for the situation and ask waiters but they say "wait in one minute". I can´t understand the delay when the process is only "cut and put in the dish" the deserts. This situation occurs also in other tables. Finally after 40 minutes waiting, we left the restaurant. Very very bad service. Despite that, desert looks fantastic but we can´t try them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero-Colombiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaimeMur, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Galleta Pasteleria Cafe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Sincerely we apoligize for delay in our service. We will take the necessary steps to not affect our customers. We invite you to our new headquarters in the street (Carrera) 10 number 11-23, and amending our error. Thank you for your communication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Sweets are awesome!! The service is outstanding. All the deserts are great; very fresh at very good price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike_008_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galleta Pasteleria Cafe also viewed

Villa de Leyva, Boyaca Department
Villa de Leyva, Boyaca Department
 
Villa de Leyva, Boyaca Department
 

Been to La Galleta Pasteleria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing