We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Villa Roma
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed off two nights in Villa Roma. The staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. We had a suite at the rear and found it to be large, well appointed and clean. The breakfast was very good as were meals in the restaurant. The hotel was close to all the sights, shops and local restaurants. Although it was not cold the staff convinced us to have the fire, in our room, lit one evening and it was lovely! Beautifully designed and well laid out this is a hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear are a little noisy but this should change when the road works are completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself looks very sweet, but the noise from the traffic was so loud I hardly slept a wink. It's right on a main road so cars pass all the time and there is no soundproofing.

It can look lovely, but if one can't sleep, what's the point? For the price I was very disappointed indeed.

I have stayed in cheaper yet much nicer places and won't be coming back here again.

Very sad.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Robogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here in September 2013 and really enjoyed the setting. It's just outside town, a little difficult to find in the dark but worth the hunt. Breakfast options were good and the staff were willing to deviate a bit and make us anything they had. Our level of Spanish isn't great and the staff were very friendly to help us along. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeamusODochartaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very Nice colonial style building with patio garden, pool, hot jacuzzi (reception rang us in the room to tell us the jacuzzi was ready for use, new towels awaiting us next to it), a Nice (hot en good working) sauna incl. Herbal essence - very attentive and utterly friendly staff. Finally after 5 weeks of travelling through Colombia a place with 5 Nice breakfast options of which "only" one with huevos - the Friese pancakes were divine. Great italian restaurant Santa Lucia two blocks away (opposite Eden hotel) on your way to the plaza. Rooms were perfect: gjood beds, Nice douvets, hot water, enough shelves to put stuff, Nice big bathroom. 160.000 peso's for a triple room incl breakfast. We completely and totally recommend to this place to any traveller !

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Inge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is very nice, recently built, and very comfortable. Rooms are excellent; lots of space, nice bathrooms, very good bed and minibar. Service is outstanding. Nevertheless, the hotel is twice as expensive as any other very good hotel in the area; so although it is very good, I will prefer a different good one for half the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel in part thanks to all the positive reviews here in TripAdvisor... and it did not disappoint. This is a quaint little hotel full of lovely colonial architectural details. The beautiful woodwork, ironwork, tiling, furniture, and pool area make the hotel very picturesque and inviting. Our room was very nice--perhaps a bit on the dim side, but there was a large skylight in the bathroom and the truth is that we did not spend that much time inside the room. I must say that the beds were extremely comfortable! Breakfast was also delicious both days and there were several items to choose from. The pool, sauna, and Jacuzzi tub worked well and we enjoyed using them very much. Service was friendly and attentive, and even WiFi was fast!
As far as location goes, it's only a 3-block walk from the main plaza. Truth is, we only have good things to say about this hotel. We were very pleased with everything about it and will surely return!

Room Tip: If you really want a view and plenty of light, make sure to ask for a room with a window or balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseLust_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When you book a boutique hotel in the upper price range locally, you expect much. Villa Roma has it all. New hotel that is beautifully built ​​in the traditional style down to the smallest detail. We had a double room with terrace where there were two lovely hanging chairs. Spacious and delicate rooms and similar spacious and delicate bathroom. Comprehensive mini bar with everything you need, even if the mini bar was not a refrigerator but a shelf in the room. We had breakfast included the three days we were there and could choose between three-four traditional varieties. Very good - and free - wireless internet.
What then pulls down from the top rating? Although we gave notice a couple of times, the handle on the bathroom door was not fixed. The mattresses were too hard for our liking, and it was annoying that the sliding door in the shower was not sealed so that water was flowing across the floor. The spa was not running while we were there. At night we had to choose between mosquitoes or air, neither the window or patio door had mosquito netting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsloRonnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#5 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Adobe
Hotel Casa de Adobe
#10 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
#9 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Villa Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Villa Roma

Address: Calle 8 No 10-166, Villa de Leyva 057, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Price Range: $66 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Villa Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Roma Boutique Hotel, with beautiful colonial architecture of the villages of Colombia. Enjoy our guest rooms and suites.It is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty and vibrant culture of Villa de Leyva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Boutique Villa Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing