We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in beautiful Villa de Leyva”
Review of Hotel Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, great blend of old and new. The architect used traditional materials and some key features of Spanish Colonial architecture in restoring a old Spanish home. The service is very friendly, the breakfast is excellent, the location is perfect (the only hotel directly on the Plaza Mayor, the center of it all), and the terrace offers the best view in town, BY FAR. On top of it all, the hotel has wifi and free, secure parking included, all for a very reasonable price. You can not beat it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the top floor, close to the terrace. It's the only terrace that ove...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickArias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel has a great location, right on the Plaza Mayor, in front of the cathedral. For a stay of one night only it is acceptable, although in February it was cold and the hotel had no heating or individual heater they could provide for guests comfort.
Staff were nice and tried to make our stay as best they could.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alisiosAlbufeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is very new, clean and the rooms are very comfortable. It is conveniently located. However, the service is terrible and sometimes even nasty. Do not stay here unless you don't care about hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SantiagoGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I was visiting this hotel for business with a group of people - the hotel was both our accomodation and location of our workshop. I was there for one week and thought it was a fantastic place to stay - the decor gives the place so much character and you simply could not ask for a better view from the roof terrace which overlooks the plaza and the mountains. Each room felt very homely and spacious and they provided nice extras like crisps, chocolate and nuts as well as water in the refrigerator.It gets cold at night in this part of Colombia but we were all provided with extra blankets to ensure we were warm enough.

The staff were wonderful and polite - nobody seemed to speak any english but as I don't speak any Spanish I cannot really complain about that! They really went out of their way to accomodate our every request and as a large group of people we had a lot of requests! The thing that impressed me the most was the chef who accomodated the vegan dietary requirements we had. I have not had much luck in getting a decent vegetarian meal in Colombia in general, however at this hotel they some how managed to feed us a different vegetarian/vegan meals every day and it wasn't just a plate of leaves it was imaginiative, tasty and satisfying food and we really appreciated that extra effort.

The bar area is also lovely and cosy and we spent every evening here.

The hotel is also ideally situated right in the centre of the town, just a stone's throw away from all the lovely little shops and some really nice restuarants. Also the free wi-fi was a nice bonus.

The only thing that I experienced that was slightly negative was a temperemental shower, it would switch from boiling hot to freezing cold for no reason at all and it was really hard to maintain it at a comfortable temperature, i think other people in my party had similar issues. However everywhere else I stayed in Colombia didn't have hot water at all so perhaps a good shower is just difficult to achieve in this country!

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the central breakfast area might be a bit noisy at night due to how close t...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoannaTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Dog in tow, three kids, & fog rolling in our face, we lucked on that the hotel right in the center of town had a room! Beautiful interior with a loft for the children, exquisite bathroom for the price we paid, beautiful interior courtyards with real lemon & fruit trees ripe for our picking. It was a little chilly as night fell & an extra blanket would have been nice. Also, it was sooo quiet that next time we'll bring a fan for a little "white noise", but who can complain about a place being too quiet?! Secure parking lot, area for our dog to run in, quiet neighbors, hot water, & cable television. Also included was an "American-style" breakfast that was fresh papaya, scrambled eggs, whole wheat buns, marmalade, fresh strawberry shake (with or without milk) and Colombian hot chocolate. The reception was outstanding as the guy gave us a tour of the facility; if we wanted a fire in one of the outdoor living areas, all we had to do was ask. I'm guessing there was wi-fi since I saw someone using their laptop by the fire, but we decided to skip surfing the net to hop over to the "La Cocina de La Gata" for some amazing fondue dishes! Next time we visit, we are definitely staying at Hotel Plaza Mayor! Even our dog was welcomed as long as she had a crate to stay in while we were out. The hotel was the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Bring an extra blanket or dress in pajamas. Run the hot water first before adding cold. If you want...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micasaloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This was supposedly the nicest place to stay in Villa De Leya. Our room smelled of mold and we had no hot water after complaining about it twice to the front desk. Save your money and stay some where cheaper. Its definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rms9004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank Jotica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines de la Villa
Hotel Jardines de la Villa
#19 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Campanario de la Villa
Hotel Campanario de la Villa
#6 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Olivo Boutique & Spa
Hotel Bahia Olivo Boutique & Spa
#15 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Mayor

Address: Carrera 10 No. 12 - 31 | Plaza Principal de Villa de Leyva, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Price Range: $101 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing