We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice faciliies/ mixed service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice faciliies/ mixed service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently placed and has a pleasant atmosphere.The service and attention to client lhowever eaves a lot to be desired:

1. I was about to take a shower at 7pm, there was no hot water. When I complained at reception, they said "why did you not call, we have to switch it on.", as if it was the normal thing to do in a hotel that charges USD100+ per night. No apologies.

2. Building works(hammerring) about 10 meters where I had my breakfast, I paid the full price, there was no advice about building works and they made no effort to make it less inconvenient

3. When they gave me the final bill, I noticed that they charged VAT, that other hotels I stayed in Colombia did not charge for foreigners. When I quiered it, they retorted, by saying that they should have taken copy of my passport. I told them they had my passport on arrival, and it is not for me to tell them what they should be doing to save their foreign guests additional costs. It was only when I refused to pay the higher amount that they gave me a proper invoice excl. VAT. Very bad practice, that not even benefits the hotel. This and the manner and the off-the-cuff style they dealt with it left a very bad taste on departure

Room Tip: make sure you do not pay VAT
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padelgo, Owner at Hotel La Posada de San Antonio, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
The hotel La Posada de San Antonio is an Ecology conscious institution.

The hot water for the rooms is obtained from a large central boiler that is ignited by diesel fuel.
In order to cut down on contamination to the village and the global warming effect, the Hotel established the policy of turning the boiler on at 4 AM and shutting it off at 3 PM.

After that time , we kindly request our guests, to call Front Desk fifteen (15) minutes before they shower so we can give a boost to our auxiliary tank. We inform every guest about this policy at the time of Check-In.

Related to the taxes, we are obligated to collect it from every customer. Since each foreigner has a different legal status, as soon as a guest identified his legal status, the hotel will not charge the tax, if its condition is tax-free.

Even though, we are sorry about all of your inconvenience, and thank you to give us the opportunity to explain it to you.

We will be glad to have you back at the Hotel and we will make sure you have a pleasant stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    122
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
147
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You feel welcome and well attended throughout the stay. The reception staff is particularly nice. They help you with all your needs. The bedrooms are cozy and although the bathrooms might be a bit cold, there is good hot water and there are nice amenities. The beds and bed linen are first rate. The living rooms and dining room are nicely decorated with some antiques from the region and the nice chairs provide nice places to be and to rest during the day. The food is diverse and good. I am particularly found of the soups and the very fresh vegetables. The trout and the meat are always good choices. For breakfast the eggs with onion and tomato are just wonderful.
The hotel is close to the main square, and also to the large market plaza where products from the region are displayed and sold on Saturdays.
I have tried other hotels in Villa de Leyva but no other hotel offers the charm, the good food, the cozy bedrooms and the friendly reception one finds in The Posada de San Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padelgo, Owner at Hotel La Posada de San Antonio, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias a huéspedes interesados en manifestar sus opiniones sobre los diferentes aspectos de nuestro hotel, hemos podido trabajar en equipo para mantener los estándares que necesitamos para brindar bienestar a nuestros huéspedes. Agradecemos sus opiniones, con ellas podemos continuar mejorando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in room 15 for two nights and it had a skylight but no curtain so I was woken up at around 5:30AM by bright sunlight. I also had two tinted windows without curtains that looked out into the hallway so the light from the hallway would shine into my room whenever anyone would turn on the light. At breakfast I overheard other people saying that they were also woken up early because the tinted windows didn't block out the sunlight.

The shower was much too strong and the drain was either clogged or because the water pressure was so strong, I ended up standing in water when I was taking a shower. There were also a few insects in the room.

The night before leaving I asked about the bus to Arcobuco and was told it would leave at 9AM so I planned for that but the next morning when I got to the bus station, I found out that there was no bus at 9AM only at 10AM and 7AM and 8AM. I would recommend checking directly with the bus station about bus schedules because the hotel may not be the most up to date on them.

Also when I was checking out a rude couple wanted to be checked out. I didn't know that the person at reception was going to check them out before me although I had arrived first until I saw that she gave them the printed out bill instead of me. I don't feel that situation was handled very well.

I probably would stay elsewhere next time because of the tinted windows which a lot of rooms have don't allow a good nights sleep. The staff were nice but not too well informed about things. I would recommend asking the tourist office for help with any questions. The tourist office was able to suggest a place in Tunja where I could buy hiking boots unlike the hotel that suggested Bogota was the closest place.

The good parts are I enjoyed the breakfast and thought it was very filling with many options including regional specialties. I had the regional specialties one morning and the pancakes another morning and they were very good. The hotel was also an interesting historical place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicicletadecarretera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padelgo, Propietario at Hotel La Posada de San Antonio, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Google Translation
Lamento las incomodidades que tuvo durante su estadía, las que se hubieran podido solucionar si se las hubiera comunicado a cualquiera del equipo del hotel y la invito a que la próxima vez que visite este hotel lo manifieste de inmediato para hacer de su estadía un grato recuerdo
Durante el tiempo que lleva el hotel en funcionamiento nunca antes recibimos una queja de la habitación #15 pero tendremos en cuenta su reclamo. Hemos recibido elogios por la presión del agua y el diseño de la madera de las ventanas coloniales, que como tal es uno de las pocas riquezas arquitectónicas que perduran en este bello pueblo colonial. Esta casa fue construida en 1800 y por este motivo fue declarada de conservación tipológica. (Patrimonio Nacional)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for one night in this gorgeous little town, and enjoyed our stay in this small hotel. It is very close to the main square. Our only problem was the breakfast which was rather poor. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very well located, this little cute place is full of charm. The rooms with fireplace add so much to the ambiance of the hotel. The breakfast very nice too. Great stay to enjoy Villa de Leyva even more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiPiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is just lovely. We stayed at one of the suites with a fire place(couldn't use it) so probably not worth the extra cost, however the room was very spacious , the decor really beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. Is located at the corner of a small plaza (check the antique store close by) and only a block form the main plaza. If you prefer a rustic elegant little place this posada is perfect.

Room Tip: A room upstairs with a balcony is a great place to relax in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altaca16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

rooms a bit small. Excellent location and very nice breakfast. Just 1 block from the main plaza in Villa de Leyva. About 6 rooms on the bottom and 2 on the 2nd floor. Very clean and quiet. Staff was always helpful and polite.

Room Tip: 2nd floor recommended, but there are only 2 rooms up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mltb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Adobe
Hotel Casa de Adobe
#6 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#7 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suites Arco Iris
Suites Arco Iris
#1 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel y Centro de Convenciones Casa de los Fundadores
Hotel y Centro de Convenciones C...
#11 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada de San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada de San Antonio

Property: Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Address: Carrera 8 No. 11 - 80 | Casco Historico, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Villa de Leyva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada de San Antonio 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel boutique, restaurado con el confort de la hoteleria moderna, bellamente decorado, excelente localizacion. Servicio a la habitacion, cuenta con restaurante con excelente gastronomia, WI-FI, (Spa) piscina romana, bano turco, masajes corporales, masajes faciales (centro de estetica) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Posada de San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing