We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Renacer Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renacer Hostal
Ranked #2 of 76 Villa de Leyva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
1 review
“Great place, great birds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi i stayed for 4 nights in february 2013 in a private room, room was very clean, they cleaned it every day. Hot shower nice bed and hammock outside. I really recommend it. The place is surrounded by trees and shrubs just perfect for bird watching, just in the garden i observed 20 diferent species including Blue-tailed emerald,Black-capped tanger, Beryl-spangled tanager,scrub tanager, and some migratory birds like blackburian warbler and Tennessee warbler. Its just 15 min from town and the walk is nice and good for excercise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitoDowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    42
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
88
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had a private room here which was gorgeous. Spacious, clean and well furnished with lovely views of the mountain behind. There are good indoor and outdoor communal areas with pretty gardens, and a good sized kitchen area and bbq. The staff were friendly and the owner really helpful. The location is good as it's not right in town so quiet, but close enough to walk into lovely villa de Leyva at any time. I would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cb72caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We camped in our campervan at Renacer, and our friend had a private room. This is one of those places that gets everything right, probably because the owner is so well travelled he knows what works and what people want.
The location is amazing with a lovely view. It's out of town, therefore quiet, but walkable to town, so the best of both worlds. We loved the camping space, and our friend's room was gorgeous.
The toilets and showers were very clean and spacious. It was our first hot shower for several months, and it was heaven. There is a really well equipped kitchen plus BBQ area, loads of indoor and outdoor, communal spaces for sitting and eating, a good-value laundry service, an honour system for drinks, a book swap, good free wifi, helpful staff and loads of information about the area. The owner, Oscar, is also involved in producing a booklet about other places to visit and other hostels in Colombia, and just really knows his stuff. Go there.

Room Tip: I didn't see other rooms, but my friend's room - no 5 - was gorgeous. it was up a little sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Renacer Hostal. First of all, when we arrived the amazing view didn't let us go anywhere! The warm and friendly staff members welcomed us to our clean room! My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time there. We did the rappelling in the cave! words can not describe how exiting it was!One of the things we need to do in our lifetime! their tours are very exciting with great fair price! . Oh! Food! try them! their food was DELICIOUS! fresh juice and tasty food! This hostel has a great patio! great view while we were relaxing. I hope we can go back there again soon! Absolutely a lovely place. I loved everything about my trip to Villa de Leyva.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite! I loved the kitchen that you can make your own food! especially the Pizza O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ysangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived in Bogota and after one day we moved to Villa de Leyva. I have been to few other hostels before, but Renacer Hostel so far and by far is the best. So clean, managers and employees were so friendly and responsible and at the same time so laid back which made the environment so friendly.
They offer few tours. The one we tried was rappelling in cave and, boy it was something!!
Great food, internet access, adventurous plans .... all and all left us with great memory in Renacer Hostel. We will go back there again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djamasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel located 20 mins walk outside of town (your taxi from the bus station should be paid for by the hotel)
Very accommodating and helpful staff
Lovely food!
Great views and hammocks to relax in!
Dorms and bathrooms are kept very clean (and great hot water!!)
Great place for relaxing and enjoying the serenity of Villa de Leyva!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroDoyleAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our ideal home away from home in Colombia. Just a 15 minute stroll from the main square in a natural setting.

We had one of the new cabin suites and it was somehow immaculate AND natural feeling.

The social areas inside the lodge and out on the patio contribute to the comfortable ambiance.

The staff members were quite helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We liked our inexpensive cabin suite. I think it was #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#4 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa De Adobe
Hotel Casa De Adobe
#8 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
#6 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#3 of 28 in Villa de Leyva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel El Solar
Hotel El Solar
#33 of 87 in Villa de Leyva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renacer Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renacer Hostal

Property: Renacer Hostal
Address: Avenida Carrera 10 # 21 | Via La Bañadera. Free taxi on arrival, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Villa de Leyva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family home of 9 rooms is considered by backpackers as one of the most beautiful guest houses in South-America, it's located close to the Flora and Fauna Sanctuary Iguaque, just 1,200 meters from the Main Square (20 minutes walking, 5 minutes by car). Free taxi on arrival (Villa de Leyva's Bus terminal to the Hostel. With a 5.000m2 area, beautiful and extensive gardens, social areas full of hammocks and total tranquility. Fire places and bonfire area, peaceful places and ecological trails. Kitchen (free coffee & tea) pizza oven, BBQ, bio-pool, TV room and board games, restaurant (breakfast & dinner), caravan park and more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Renacer Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renacer Hostal Hotel Villa De Leyva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing