We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to visit”
Review of Renacer Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Renacer Hostal
Ranked #2 of 89 Villa de Leyva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived in Bogota and after one day we moved to Villa de Leyva. I have been to few other hostels before, but Renacer Hostel so far and by far is the best. So clean, managers and employees were so friendly and responsible and at the same time so laid back which made the environment so friendly.
They offer few tours. The one we tried was rappelling in cave and, boy it was something!!
Great food, internet access, adventurous plans .... all and all left us with great memory in Renacer Hostel. We will go back there again....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djamasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Renacer Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hostel located 20 mins walk outside of town (your taxi from the bus station should be paid for by the hotel)
Very accommodating and helpful staff
Lovely food!
Great views and hammocks to relax in!
Dorms and bathrooms are kept very clean (and great hot water!!)
Great place for relaxing and enjoying the serenity of Villa de Leyva!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroDoyleAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our ideal home away from home in Colombia. Just a 15 minute stroll from the main square in a natural setting.

We had one of the new cabin suites and it was somehow immaculate AND natural feeling.

The social areas inside the lodge and out on the patio contribute to the comfortable ambiance.

The staff members were quite helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We liked our inexpensive cabin suite. I think it was #5.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A wonderful place, relaxed, quiet, safe, super friendly staff and owners. I am travelling overland with my own vehicle (www.thebluetruck-e.blogspot.com) which also makes my home on wheels. The hostal offers all types of overnight posibilities: Camping, vehicle camping, dorms and private rooms. There is wide variaty of tours and trips offered but you will also receive all information from the super friendly staff, Ela and Julian or the owners if you want to do things on your own. Get to chat with owner Oscar for hours about trips in South America and about 4x4 travelling cars. The facility includes a breakfast and dinner restaurant (excellent and super careing brother & sister run it at night and will cook fantastic lebanese food for you) but there is also a fully equipped kitchen free to use to do your own food. It really is the staff that make this place special. Hammocks, a common room with satelite TV and a fire place and free WiFi are perfect add-ons. Has yet to be topped by another place to camp in Colombia!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebluetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Renacer with our camper van. For us it was even more than a perfect place, we stayed 3 weeks, and felt even a bit sad, when we had to leave, but we will come back next year.
There is a fireplace, a barbecue grill, a pizza-oven and a kitchen. So you can make delicious food for less money and easily get in touch with other travelers. If you don´t want to cook, there is also a small restaurant that serves delicious food. All day you can get fresh juice and bottled drinks. There is free wi-fi, that really works fast, even on the parking inside our truck. If you don´t have your own laptop, there are a computer for your free use. There is also television and plenty of movies. The showers are really hot and clean. There is also a laundry-service for less money. You can reach the center of town within a 15 minutes walk.
As you can see, there is everything you can expect and much more. We met a lot of people that stayed more days, than they expected, including us:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abseitsreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are with our camper on a trip from Patagonia to Alaksa for many years. We want to stop in Villa de Leyva, at the Hostal Renacer only for 1 or 2 nights. But we liked it so much, we stayed for 4 weeks. It's a nice place with great view, quiet, pervect wifi, good food, clean, hot wathershower and lovely owners. And the price for that is more then ok.

Carolina and Oskar and Ela, thank you very much for all

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hidalgoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Renacer is fantastic. It is clean, has real hot water (not an electric shower head), restaurant with limited menu but has the essentials and the food is tasty and well priced. you can rents bikes, horses and arranges tours from reception. the staff are friendly and show you around upon arrival to ensure you get the most out of the place, they speak clearly (for those with basic spanish!) this all goes to make your arrival so welcoming!

there is a shared kitchen, tea and coffee available all day and a common room with a TV. Wifi is available in the common room and with varying strength in bedrooms.

the bed was firm but comfortable and there were plenty of warm bedclothes. pillows were a little hard but its not a deal breaker. we had a hammock on the porch of our room to wile away an afternoon while a storm passed over. a few others have hammocks but not all.

The rooms are spaced out around a property with trees and lawn, a lovely place to relax in between trips around the town and local area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa de Leyva hotels
0.6 mi away
Anaka Cabanas
Anaka Cabanas
#5 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
Hotel La Posada de San Antonio
#3 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Antonio Narino
Hotel Antonio Narino
#4 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
Casa Hotel Villa Cristina
#7 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
72 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Adobe
Hotel Casa de Adobe
#8 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hospederia Duruelo
Hospederia Duruelo
#2 of 29 in Villa de Leyva
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renacer Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renacer Hostal

Address: Avenida Carrera 10 # 21 | Via La Bañadera. Free taxi on arrival, Villa de Leyva, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Villa de Leyva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Villa de Leyva
Price Range: $19 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family home of 9 rooms is considered by backpackers as one of the most beautiful guest houses in South-America, it's located close to the Flora and Fauna Sanctuary Iguaque, just 1,200 meters from the Main Square (20 minutes walking, 5 minutes by car). Free taxi on arrival (Villa de Leyva's Bus terminal to the Hostel. With a 5.000m2 area, beautiful and extensive gardens, social areas full of hammocks and total tranquility. Fire places and bonfire area, peaceful places and ecological trails. Kitchen (free coffee & tea) pizza oven, BBQ, bio-pool, TV room and board games, restaurant (breakfast & dinner), caravan park and more!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Renacer Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renacer Hostal Hotel Villa De Leyva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing