We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
147
13
3
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
13
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade brown breadachill islandtea and biscuitsyogurtlocal smoked salmonfull irish breakfastamazing breakfastlovely sunroomstewed rhubarbthank you very muchlong cyclespent nightskeel beachwarm welcomescrambled eggsnice personnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 169 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I just attempted to book this B&B for the Achill Half Marathon. When queried the very high rate of 50EUR per person per night, was told to go elsewhere after being abused on the phone. The woman on the end of the phone then hung up on me. People with this kind of attitude have no place working in the service industry and I am sure give a bad name to what is otherwise a beautiful and friendly part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank KilkennyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Made a return trip to Joyce's Marian Villa with 2 friends. Try to visit at least twice each year.
Rooms are comfortable and spotless, with quality furniture and decor. The owner, Anne ,is friendly and welcoming. Tea and scones appear as soon as we are settled in and are offered whenever we wish during our stay. 3 minutes walk and we are on Keel beach.
Breakfast was, as always one of the highlights - freshly cooked to order, with the wonderful brown bread made daily by Anne's mother! Professional, while still being homely and relaxed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I have stayed here many times over the past 10 years, as Achill island has been one of our favourite places to go, but last year was the first time we stayed with our 1year old son, and we were overwhelmed by the welcome and how much Ann accommodated us and our son, apart from the usuals - the best cuppa on arrival accompanied with a tasty treat. lovely room and the best breakie in Mayo, including the most gorgeous home-made bread and Jam. It is located on the doorstep of one of the best beaches in Ireland and after a great afternoon on the beach, Ann offered to dry our sons clothes too!!! We look forward to going back again this Spring and Summer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakawayNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is a great place to stay for young family's.There is no charge for children under 12 and the hospitality is great and a breakfast to match.Other places in Achill are lets say not the cleanest but Joyce's is spotless( but the classical music with your breakfast is a bit much).The location in Achill is breathtaking and I'm already looking forward to 2010.I have been to Achill for the last 33 years and have only found this gem in the last few years and i will be sure to stay again in2010.

PS To all the cry babies about the price - You have to pay for quality

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmaghIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We have been in many B&B's and this one tops the list for us! Joyce's Marian Villa is a very classy, clean and well cared for Guesthouse in a great location close to the stunning ocean views in Achill. We found the hostess, Anne to be very friendly, helpful and very willing to spend the time to talk to us about the history of the Island and make us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were great with a large selection of delicious fresh foods, everything from the traditional Irish grill to cereals, fresh coffee, fruit and a wide selection of breads and jams. The room we had was large, very comfortable, tastefully decorated with en suite bathroom and a spectacular view of the ocean and mountains.
The villa had a wonderful old world charm feel to it, very quiet and relaxing.There are many sutle touches in the Villa including the classical music in the dinning room We were offered tea or coffee at any time during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days there and plan to return as soon as possible with friends and family. We very highly recommend Joyce's Marian Villa!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OttawaCanadairish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews