We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
148
13
3
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
13
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade brown bread achill island tea and biscuits guest house local smoked salmon yogurt full irish breakfast lovely sunroom nice sitting room stewed rhubarb long cycle peat fire amazing breakfast spent nights keel beach warm welcome makes you feel
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 170 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is the 3rd time we've enjoyed the delights of Joyces Marian Villas and will return again, we hope. The owner, Ann, is most hospitable and welcoming. The room we stay in is always lovely and clean as you'd expect. But what makes it so special is that it has the most amazing view of the mountains and sea that we know. We sleep with curtains open so that in the night, if we're lucky, we might wake to see the rays from the full moon glisten and dance across the Atlantic Ocean. Absolutely priceless!! We sleep so well when we stay, we call it our 'retreat for the soul'. The breakfast in the morning is without fail the best breakfast we've had anywhere we've travelled (and we travel a lot!). Ann provides a range of fresh, local produce such as yoghurts, seasonal berries, cereals, freshly baked breads and prepares the cooked breakfast from scratch. Yes, it may take a little longer to be put in front of you but there are plenty of lovely alternatives to nibble on whilst you wait and who would want to rush in such a tranquil and restful place anyway???!! And then off course there is the most beautiful stretch of beach just a short distance away to walk off that yummy breakfast whilst the fresh, fresh air clears the cobwebs away.

Value for money? With all of the above thrown in, I'd definitely say so. If you're looking for something cheap and cheerful, this probably isn't for you. However, if you are wordly enough to appreciate more than just a bed and basic meal, this will definitely be one to return to time after time.

Achill itself is a small island on the West Coast of Ireland and a true gem when it comes to unspoilt scenery and beautiful coastal beaches. It has a small, local population that by its very nature is likely to be closely related and everyone does seem to know everyone. The fact that you can go into the local pub 12 months later and they remember you, we feel is an integral part of its charm and uniqueness. We love it and will return again if we are lucky enough too...

Room tip: Ask for the room with the sea view - slightly dearer but worth every penny!
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were made feel so welcome from the beginning, Ann showed us around the house,The conservatory for guests to relax read and drink tea,lots of lovely biscuits left out for all, in the next room a sitting room with a fire lighting and a tv,,,all for her guests. The bedrooms were most comfortable,clean and warm with the most beautifull view of the beach..It was like bringing home to Achill. So comfortable and a fab freshly made breakfast in the morning. Home made brown bread and homemade jam...yum.
Keep up the good work because I cant wait to return.

Room tip: The sea view is well worth it, glance out decide whether or not to go for a walk on the beach,,handy to keep an eye out for the tide in or t
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have stayed in Joyce's Marian Villa Guesthouse a number of times and always look forward to our stay, it is a little bit of paradise! A magnificient house with every attention paid to detail by Ann. You will receive such wonderful hospitality both on arrival and during your stay. Brilliant location, just beside the sea with great views. Such a tranquil place, wonderful for total relaxation. You will enjoy a fabulous breakfast all freshly cooked to order. Amazing! Beautiful spacious rooms. Great value for money - you get what you pay for - top class accommodation! A fabulous atmoshphere, once you visit you will want to keep going back! Check it out!! P. Whelan, Dublin.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaw000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I stayed at Joyces Marian Villa with a friend last week (04-06 August). We arrived on Achill at around 2pm. We were asked to wait prior to checking in at the B&B, and one of the staff recommended that we eat at local cafe, The Beehive. The fact that we paid 20euro for a panini and a cup of tea each, should have been fair warning about Achill Island and its rip-off business owners. Considering that we're both Irish and generally know what to expect, this was an affront to common sense and decency.

We got to the B&B and were again made to wait before we could check into our rooms. I estimate that we waited nearly an hour in total. The rooms however were clean and acceptable. We met the proprietor, who at first seemed personable, but soon came to be nothing but an annoyance. She was over-talkative, effusive and repetitive. Luckily, we managed to avoid her until breakfast the next morning.

On the first morning, we came down to breakfast and were faced with an unnecessarily long wait before being able to order a cooked breakfast. There was a young teenage boy on service, who while pleasant, seemed rather un-empowered in his role, which isn’t all that puzzling when you stop to think about it.

The breakfast room was mainly quiet with some background music playing. Unfortunately, the lady proprietor seemed to think it acceptable to start conversations with guests who would obviously rather be left alone to enjoy their breakfasts in peace. It’s good to know when to stop talking, as a general rule.

We were told several times in one sitting, that the breads were homemade, that the jams were organic, that the cooked breakfasts were made from scratch. Either this woman has a memory problem, or she thinks her proposition is in some way different to or more impressive than other (cheaper) B&Bs. On both counts, I'd say that it isn't. One concession I will grant is that the cooked breakfast was good on both mornings.

Still on the first morning, the proprietor recommended that we visit The Beehive cafe. When my friend mentioned that we had been disgusted by the prices the previous day, her demeanour changed and she became argumentative with us (her paying guests!!!) and insisted that such prices were completely acceptable to her, given that she'd travelled as far a-field as Castlebar and Dublin and therefore clearly knew what we should find an acceptable price to pay for a sandwich. After some back and forth on the issue, she retreated to the kitchen, returning some minutes later to admit that her brother owned said cafe!! This, I'm afraid, did her no favours with us as it made her look even more of a money grabber, and worse still, one who has no concept of the value of money to recession hit tourists. The fact that she would even entertain the idea of arguing with paying guests is hard to fathom. I dont think she's in the right job and probably needs to be in a role which takes her away from contact with the general public.

On the second night, my friend was woken up by a bus load of returning party goers at 4am who made an unacceptable amount of noise coming back into the building. This was never acknowledged by the proprietor.

The rooms: clean, acceptable, really nothing special. The room was serviced on only our first morning there, the towels changed, and our belongings tidied. I would view this as unnecessary, and a little bit intrusive. Neither of us appreciated it. The towels were poor quality and hard to dry oneself with. The replacement towels were just as bad. Regardless, it is wasteful, not to mention environmentally unsound, to change the towels after one use. A lesson can be learned there.

The rooms cost 45 euro per night, which in these tough economic times, would pay for a hotel room with breakfast. Naturally, the proprietors eyes lit up as we made our way to check out. €90 each for this experience! While paying, she mentioned that quite often, "the foreigners" didn't have chip and pin, and she preferred cash. Of course she did.

Regardless of the cost of living in Ireland, I’d say that this woman (specifically) needs to get with the programme and stop the blatant and bare-faced rip-off of her guests. The natural landscape of Achill is stunning; what has been developed for the purpose of tourism to this area is in no way stunning. It is under developed and somewhat bleak. It doesn’t help that you can leave the area after two days feeling several hundred euro lighter of pocket. Generally, I’d say Achill is fleecing tourists for all it is worth and needs to give itself a reality check. Tourists remember a bad experience and will never pay to repeat it.

Overall rating – poor.

Would I recommend Joyces Marian Villa? No.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lindagray01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have visited Achill on many occassions and always look forward to staying at Joyces.
You always receive a very warm welcome from Anne. The accomodation and location is superb. The rooms are very comfortable and there is a lovely cosy lounge with an open turf fire. The breakfasts are to die for!! Everything is freshly cooked to order and there is plenty of choice.
This is a superb B&B and if you are visiting Achill this is the place to stay!!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews